Buried Deep

Narrated by: Therese Plummer
Length: 2 hrs and 38 mins
4 out of 5 stars (21,661 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In this pulse-pounding short thriller for fans of Big Little Lies and The Last Mrs. Parrish, Maggie Cabot refuses to sit by idly as police re-open an investigation into the mysterious death of a woman her husband used to know.

After two decades in a near-perfect marriage, Maggie and James Cabot are enjoying their first year as empty-nesters in their charming Florida suburb, until two detectives arrive at their front door and change their lives forever.

The remains of a young woman have been found at a campsite in the Florida Keys. Hannah Nilsson, only 21 at the time of her disappearance, was last seen on a camping trip with a group of friends—including James, who dated Hannah long before he and Maggie ever met. Shocked and heartbroken, everyone on the trip said they assumed Hannah had wandered off toward shore, intoxicated from a long night of partying, and drowned. But the discovery of her body 25 years later, half a mile away from the campsite and buried six feet deep, makes it clear that her death was not accidental.

As the police dig back into the case, Maggie begins her own investigation, desperate to piece together the truth and clear her husband’s name once and for all.

©2019 Margot Hunt (P)2019 Audible Originals, LLC.

Our favorite moments from Buried Deep

A detective looks for Maggie’s husband, James.
Maggie discusses Hannah’s disappearance.
Hannah’s remains are discovered.

  • Buried Deep
  • A detective looks for Maggie’s husband, James.
  • Buried Deep
  • Maggie discusses Hannah’s disappearance.
  • Buried Deep
  • Hannah’s remains are discovered.

"The performance was absolutely amazing and I felt the narrator was just perfect for this story. The emotion and flow she gave brought all these characters to life."

–Winona, Audible Listener
.
Margot Hunt

About the Creator

Margot Hunt is a USA Today and Amazon best-selling author. Her debut psychological thriller, Best Friends Forever, which examines the complexity of female friendships against a backdrop of duplicity, was heralded as a "cleverly constructed thriller [that] kept me guessing until the very end" by Peter Swanson, and her second novel, For Better and Worse, was called the "best thriller of the year" by Book of the Month. The Last Affair, Hunt’s latest novel, explores an extramarital affair that ends with the murder of one of the cheated upon spouses.

Therese Plummer

About the Performer

Thérèse Plummer is an actor and award-winning audiobook narrator working in New York City. She has recorded over 350 audiobooks for various publishers. She was nominated for the 2019 Audie Awards for her work on the multicast, Sadie by Courtney Summers for Macmillan Audio, Multicast Any Man by Amber Tamblyn for Harper Audio and her solo narration for The Rogue Planets Shaken by Lee W. Brainard for Podium Publishing. The American Library Association (ALA) awarded her work on Sourdough by Robin Sloan as part of the 2018 Listen List: Outstanding Audiobook Narration for Adult Listeners.

Thérèse has been nominated for five Audie Awards in 2018 in the categories: Fiction: She Liked Her Life by Abbie Fabiaschi and co-narrated with Susan Bennett and Dan Bittner, Romance: Any Day Now by Robyn Carr, and Faith-Based Fiction: Sandpiper Cove by Irene Hannon as well as well as the multicast narrations for Original Work: The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood and middle grade: See You in the Cosmos by Jack Cheng (winner). She is the recipient of the 2016 SOVAS Award for Irene Hannon’s, Hope Harbor. She was nominated for two Audie Awards in 2014 for her work on Robyn Carr’s The Wanderer and Carson McCuller’s The Ballad of the Sad Café, and received multiple Earphones Awards for her work. Most notably on Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult, Faith by Jennifer Haigh and We Are Water by Wally Lamb. She was named AudioFile’s Best Voices of the Year for 2015 for her work on Robyn Carr’s A New Hope. Thérèse is the voice of Maya Hansen in the Marvel Graphic Motion Comic Ironman Extremis, Dr. Fennel in Pokemon, and for various Yu-Gi-Oh characters. Television Guest Star Roles on The Good Wife, Law & Order: SVU and Virgin River for Netflix. Regional Theater: Sister James in Doubt.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9,148
  • 4 Stars
    6,324
  • 3 Stars
    4,081
  • 2 Stars
    1,360
  • 1 Stars
    748

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11,296
  • 4 Stars
    5,307
  • 3 Stars
    2,251
  • 2 Stars
    617
  • 1 Stars
    273

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7,781
  • 4 Stars
    5,347
  • 3 Stars
    3,854
  • 2 Stars
    1,613
  • 1 Stars
    1,113

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

At least it was free

The characters were unlikeable while also managing to be uninteresting and the story itself was an unthrilling “thriller” where yet another woman is disposed of like garbage. Even the “surprise” ending didn’t shock me, I was just glad it was done. It felt like a chore to listen to.

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enthralling

I started this intending to listen a little on my morning commute but got so wrapped up in the story that I finished it in one listen. The author tells her story succinctly, which allowed me to get wrapped up in the story but left me wanting more. Some may say it was a little predictable but I enjoyed it. Now I know who to turn to for my next listen!

The performer's interpretation was also wonderful. Her voice was clear and crisp, letting the author's words truly shine. Instead of detracting from the work she complemented it.

44 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Drivel

Couldn't even make it halfway through this awful story. "I understand why my husband is feeling/acting the way he is, but I'm gonna be upset about it anyway" and loads of "Was I his 2nd choice since she died?" YES, obviously. Either hubby did it so is acting odd, or really loved her so is acting odd. Just, ugh. The main character is so shallow and stupid, I just can't.

76 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Probably my favorite audible original so far!

A good murder mystery & short listen. I started & finished it in a day, & definitely enjoyed it.

40 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

meh.

Worth it if its free. The story is ok. I got tired of the "Shes so much more pretty than me, I'm so jealous of my husband's dead ex." It really takes away from THE MURDER that happened. Its a good book to show you how ugly amd whiney jealousy/ selfishness sounds over and over again.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don’t bother

Went back over the same point over and over and over... that she was jealous of a dead woman.

Not a very good story, twist wasn’t exciting, main character was annoying.

52 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Even Free, It's Too Much

What a mess, and an utter waste of time spent listening to the same repetitive drivel. SPOILER ALERT - So, the whiny wife decides to continue on being married to someone who would commit such a violent crime against another woman, simply because she's so pathetic and jealous? And she didn't report the crime? Yeah, sure. I kept thinking he would also strangle the wife in the end. But nope. They supposedly live happily ever after. While I wish I could get my wasted time back.

35 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing at best

Sick and perverse ending. The main character is not likeable at all and I ended up HATING her at the end. This story validates and seems to make ok the quote "Men are afraid women will laugh at them, women are afraid men will kill them". I really hated this story.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible Caricature of Women

This story is nauseating and worse yet, continues to fill our culture with tired portraits of women which perpetuate misogyny and sexism. The longer I listened to this the more disgusted I was with the lead female character who was insecure and threatened by the dead lover of her husband. Her insecurity and jealousy over a woman long dead becomes an emotional driver that cannot be quelled by the reality of the 25 years of a good marriage for fear she is the “second choice”. It is a tired and old cliche of a woman making this story unbearable to listen to with its endless simple and one dimensional characters. The womanizing best friend, the calm perfect husband, the steely detective are boring and predictable male roles and women are portrayed as either insecure or bimbos. The only redeeming factor was that it was free. Terrible

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Horrible

This is just a horrible book, The main character is unlike able and over all very selfish. Throughout I found it difficult to stand the way she acted and overall the story is very straight cut and it is very simple to learn who the killer is.

19 people found this helpful