Regular price: $31.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

"It won't be so bad when you're there," says my new husband before kissing me on the mouth.

"I know," I say before he peels off.

Two lies. Small white ones. Designed to make the other feel better.

But that's how some lies start. Small. Well meaning. Until they get too big to handle.

For fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door comes an addictive psychological thriller that's already an international sensation.

When young lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind. But then she takes on her first murder case and meets Joe. A convicted murderer whom Lily is strangely drawn to. For whom she will soon be willing to risk almost anything.

But Lily is not the only one with secrets. Her next-door neighbor Carla may be only nine, but she has already learned that secrets are powerful things. That they can get her whatever she wants.

When Lily finds Carla on her doorstep 16 years later, a chain of events is set in motion that can end only one way.

©2017 Jane Corry (P)2017 Penguin Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1,551
  • 4 Stars
    1,517
  • 3 Stars
    883
  • 2 Stars
    303
  • 1 Stars
    183

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1,990
  • 4 Stars
    1,228
  • 3 Stars
    561
  • 2 Stars
    160
  • 1 Stars
    117

Story

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1,379
  • 4 Stars
    1,241
  • 3 Stars
    860
  • 2 Stars
    366
  • 1 Stars
    212
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

An unexpectedly thoughtful and complex saga

Don't let the title fool you; this book is about more than a husband and a wife. There is a lot going on in this story and it requires attention to follow the different characters and plot lines. When the reader soon begins to untangle the yarns, however, the story will captivate.
Ultimately, I found that no detail of the story was placed without a reason, and there are a lot of details. The full experience of this story is worth the attention!
This is a great book, and I say "unexpected" because the description barely scratches the surface. This sweeping tale chronicles the lives of Lily, her husband Ed, and Carla, who grows from the precocious child next door to a beautiful, calculating and complicated young woman during the course of the story, which takes place over a period of more than fifteen years. There are other important people, of course, including a man whom Lily defends in court, who speaks in riddles, and to whom Lily is inexplicably drawn; The man in the shiny car who helps to shape Carla's perception of relationships; the brother who will never truly die.
The first several chapters of this book made me unsure if I would like it, but soon I was totally absorbed in the characters' lives. The author doesn't skimp on paradoxes within people and their relationships, the internal struggle of good versus evil, and the fact that people and situations are rarely black and white.
Ultimately, this rewarding book will absorb you, shock you, make you think about things in ways you maybe haven't before. The narration by Rosalyn Landon is nearly perfect for this book.
Lose yourself in the narrative and decide what your own truth is by the time you reach the end- you'll be surprised. This is a worthy book and I really do recommend it.

95 of 101 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Totally unbelievable!

Would you try another book from Jane Corry and/or Rosalyn Landor?

Rosalyn Landon was perfect and I would listen to another book narrated by her but I wouldn't read another book by the author!

What was most disappointing about Jane Corry’s story?

The women were so smart but made to be so dumb! How can a 22 year old that has made it through law school still not understand the concept of wrong and right ! She was 22 with a grudge from when she was 10! Ughh just horrible !

Which character – as performed by Rosalyn Landor – was your favorite?

None !

Do you think My Husband's Wife needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

Not really! I am an hour out from the ending and am having a hard time finishing it !

Any additional comments?

The story could have been so much better , it almost seemed like she got tired of writing half way through the book and threw in some cliches wrapped up in "suspense " and published it ! Nothing made sense at all even the inner thought of the little girl and the pencil case! She was 10 not 4! Just seemed as though there was no research done for these characters! The secret the protagonist was holding was so futile that the build up around it made you frustrated because it wasn't that bad of a secret to mull over! The little Italian girl was extremely smart but why would a 10 year old think that someone was going to murder them because they saw the word murder on a piece of paper? The mother kicked Larry out so why all the fuss about Lilly telling him to quit it ! They never really answered the question as to why she had the overaion to intimacy with jack ! Just to many unanswered questions! Why go to law school for all that time and try to be just like the women you blame for your mothers inevitable break up with a married man and subsequent lifestyle change? Nothing makes sense!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

"Lies...They start small and then they multiple"

My Husband’s Wife alternates between the perspectives of Lily and Carla. Lily is a lawyer starting her first murder case, freshly home from her honeymoon in Italy with Ed. Carla and her beautiful, single mother live nearby. The stories overlap, and weave in and out of one another. Throughout, there are hints of something sinister about both Lily and Carla—you wonder what has happened in Lily’s past, and what may happen in Carla’s future. Expect themes of obsession, guilt, and jealousy.

I was a little surprised, when I double checked, that there is only one narrator. Rosalyn Landor does a superb job, and changes her voice well for each character and situation.

What I enjoyed about this book was that it manages to be a thriller without just centering on the murder case as you might expect. Instead, it is just another piece in the larger puzzle of their lives. Is this book as good as Gone Girl?—no. However, I do think it will turn out to be a popular book in its own right.

62 of 69 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Can't stop won't stop!

Would you consider the audio edition of My Husband's Wife to be better than the print version?

Yes, the voices really help to build all of the different characters and make a movie in my mind.

Which character – as performed by Rosalyn Landor – was your favorite?

Karla, as a little girl.

Any additional comments?

This has been my favorite book of the last year. The layers are so good and keep me interested and wanting more and more!

20 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Some of the most dislikable characters ever

I have rarely felt so little empathy for every character in a book. Absolutely all of them were just completely unlikable, whiny and plain annoying.
The ending feels a bit "all this for that" but doesn't really make any sense. I don't know if the point of the book is to tell you that karma will get you in the end but if it is it didn't need to be so long.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

weak

I struggled to finish this one. I had high hopes because of the excellent reviews, however I felt it lacked a lot of development between the characters and dragged through the middle. wouldn't waste time on this one.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Monotonous

What disappointed you about My Husband's Wife?

Everything. Throughout the entirety I remained hopeful that this book would turn a corner and pick up the pace but it never did and I ended up sorry that I'd wasted my time. Repetitive and dull.

Would you ever listen to anything by Jane Corry again?

No.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not what I expected...

It may be my fault for expecting something different but overall, I would not recommend this book to most people. When the book started, I was excited for a twist and turns murder mystery and it seemed like the book was going in that direction, but then it turned into a sort of soap opera where characters went back and forth between good and bad. Plot elements that seemed important faded into obscurity regularly. I stopped caring about all of the characters towards the end and was mostly annoyed with the stupid choices they were making.

That being said, the narrator was excellent, she did an amazing job voicing all of the different characters. And even though I didn't care what happened to the characters, I still wanted to know what happened in the end, which I can't say is true for all of the audio books I've listened to.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

took a while to get going but when it did holy cow

this book had alot of dry moments in the beginning but the ending was amazzing

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Evelyn
  • Carlsbad, CA, United States
  • 06-18-17

Not For Me

I prefer stories where there is at least one likable character. Only a couple of very minor characters in this book could be considered ones you'd like to root for. A few reviews compared this book to "Big Little Lies" and called it a psychological thriller. Not true. I couldn't wait for the story to end and didn't care how it ended. I think it's lazy when an author uses one character to 'explain' what happens at the end instead of allowing the reader to discover twists and surprises. Just can't recommend this one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful