An Orphan’s War

Narrated by: Julie Masey
Length: 11 hrs and 39 mins
4 out of 5 stars (47 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool’s Dr Barnado’s Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan’s War is a gripping saga about love and loss on the home front.

Liverpool, 1940.

When her childhood sweetheart, Johnny, is killed in action, Maxine Grey loses more than her husband - she loses her best friend. Desperate to make a difference in this awful war, Maxine takes a nursing job at London’s St Thomas’ hospital.

A broken heart.

She takes comfort in the attentions of a handsome surgeon, but Edwin Blake isn’t all he seems. And as the Blitz descends on the capital, Maxine faces more heartache. When she returns to Liverpool, she harbours a secret.

A brave spirit.

When Maxine is offered a job at a Dr Barnardo’s orphanage, she hopes this is the second chance she has been looking for. Do the orphans know that she needs them as much as they need her?

A gripping story of love, friendship and hope in the darkest of places. Molly Green is an exciting new voice in saga fiction, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.

©2018 Molly Green (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for Molly Green: "A moving, gripping story set during WW2, of a woman's dedication to the orphans in her care and her heart wrenching love for a RAF pilot." (Kitty Neale)

"Redolent of wartime Britain and brimming with heartfelt stories from several characters, Molly Green's sure-footed novel shows just how challenging it was to find love and a place to call home in the dark days of the war." (Terri Fleming)

What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

An Orphan's War by Molly Green

Excellent! Love a story that keeps you so wanting to listen to the end. This was one of those stories. Thank-you.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Leaves you hanging

The story was very good but so many parts of the story were left hanging. I find that very frustrating when you don’t know what happens or how it all comes together. Let’s hope there is a sequel. There are several characters I want to know about.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

easy listening

nor exactly startling brilliant writing but very easy to listen to with endearing characters. very well narrated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story, ending left me wanting

The ending felt incomplete. It should have been extended until the war’s end so the listener could have known if Maxine did get married and what happened to Peter. Otherwise it was a good listen with tragedy and horror of WWII in England.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It passed the time

There wasn't a whole lot of substance, and I couldn't really get into it too much. But it passed the time

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sakazoke
  • Sakazoke
  • 07-13-18

An Orphans War

Absolutely brilliant! Loved listening to this story while I was knitting. The narrator Julie Masey is one of the very best out there. She brings each and every character to life. Looking forward to a follow up of this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for simplyswing
  • simplyswing
  • 05-11-18

Rxcellent

I have listened to so many good books of late and this certainly rates among the best. Excellent, more please.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pamela.a.jonesZA
  • pamela.a.jonesZA
  • 08-12-19

Verygood read

I
Very good read gripping story could not put it down very well wrighting pamie

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Philippa Stokes
  • Philippa Stokes
  • 02-01-19

a very gentle and romantic story

Rambled a bit and went off course a touch from time to time but overall very enjoyable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-02-18

Brilliant , couldnt stop listening.

a lovely story. really enjoyed it, very emotional in parts, would reccomend it so heartwarming ,

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Psalteryschool
  • Psalteryschool
  • 07-08-20

A wonderful story

This book was the perfect book to read during this time of pandemic. It really lifted my spirits. I am definitely going to get another of Molly Greens books. I absolutely loved Julie Massy too, she read with such a sensitivity and made the story seem very very real indeed. Well done Molly Green you are a terrific writer.Love 💕 from Australia 🇦🇺