Regular price: $14.18

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool’s Dr Barnado’s Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan’s War is a gripping saga about love and loss on the home front.

Liverpool, 1940.

When her childhood sweetheart, Johnny, is killed in action, Maxine Grey loses more than her husband - she loses her best friend. Desperate to make a difference in this awful war, Maxine takes a nursing job at London’s St Thomas’ hospital.

A broken heart.

She takes comfort in the attentions of a handsome surgeon, but Edwin Blake isn’t all he seems. And as the Blitz descends on the capital, Maxine faces more heartache. When she returns to Liverpool, she harbours a secret.

A brave spirit.

When Maxine is offered a job at a Dr Barnardo’s orphanage, she hopes this is the second chance she has been looking for. Do the orphans know that she needs them as much as they need her?

A gripping story of love, friendship and hope in the darkest of places. Molly Green is an exciting new voice in saga fiction, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.

©2018 Molly Green (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for Molly Green: "A moving, gripping story set during WW2, of a woman's dedication to the orphans in her care and her heart wrenching love for a RAF pilot." (Kitty Neale)

"Redolent of wartime Britain and brimming with heartfelt stories from several characters, Molly Green's sure-footed novel shows just how challenging it was to find love and a place to call home in the dark days of the war." (Terri Fleming)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

easy listening

nor exactly startling brilliant writing but very easy to listen to with endearing characters. very well narrated.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story, ending left me wanting

The ending felt incomplete. It should have been extended until the war’s end so the listener could have known if Maxine did get married and what happened to Peter. Otherwise it was a good listen with tragedy and horror of WWII in England.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sakazoke
  • 07-13-18

An Orphans War

Absolutely brilliant! Loved listening to this story while I was knitting. The narrator Julie Masey is one of the very best out there. She brings each and every character to life. Looking forward to a follow up of this book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • simplyswing
  • 05-11-18

Rxcellent

I have listened to so many good books of late and this certainly rates among the best. Excellent, more please.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-02-18

Brilliant , couldnt stop listening.

a lovely story. really enjoyed it, very emotional in parts, would reccomend it so heartwarming ,