Your audiobook is waiting…

Watch Me Disappear

A Novel
Length: 13 hrs and 15 mins
4 out of 5 stars (428 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A beautiful Berkeley mom with a radical past vanishes while hiking, leaving her family to piece together her secrets, in this keenly observed novel for fans of Emma Straub and Maria Semple - from the best-selling author of All We Ever Wanted Was Everything.

©2017 Janelle Brown (P)2017 Random House Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    199
  • 4 Stars
    125
  • 3 Stars
    81
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    214
  • 4 Stars
    106
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    183
  • 4 Stars
    107
  • 3 Stars
    73
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    11
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book!

Any additional comments?

I read the mixed reviews on this book and thought i would take a chance, I have to say I am really glad I did! I ended up really liking these characters, and i found myself wanting to listen more. Some parts although unrealistic weaved a story of how a you can never really know someone and how some people will only show you parts of themselves. There is no good or bad, just Human imperfection. No spoilers here, but i loved that there was no questions left unanswered in the end ... the author really ties everything up nicely so that there is no guessing. Two thumbs up from me!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really sucked me in...

I like this author, she is honest and writes from a personal place which brings authenticity to her characters and settings.
First of all this is a unique perspective, like a twist of Rebecca. We care so much about a person whose presence is so powerful and magnetic yet we learn about her fascinating identity in a secondary way. I loved this.

There is something about the people in this book that make you want to keep reading, you fall in love with them Before the story gets really interesting.

So I do tend to try and guess the twist or ending when I'm watching movies or reading and this one was well written. There were several detective moments where I had to piece together the facts and determine red herrings- it was fun.

This was a double dipper for me, I missed the setting and the people. They're well written. Janelle brown is not a fluff writer, she's sophisticated and interesting as are the women she writes about. I wanted more.

The narrator is nice, she does Olive well and has that weird guttural "male" voice but it's ok.

The ending...you're feelings about it will depend on how well rounded the experience of this book will be. I needed some time to think it over, all of it. No spoilers here!

Some people will relate to this story better than others, honestly probably upper mid class women in there 30s/40s and that's okay. Enjoy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very Disappointing .

Didn't like any of the characters. Overly precise diction of the narrator was annoying. The main character was hateful. Yuk.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Wonderful Story!

A wonderful debut novel. Can't wait to hear from this author again!--Thanks Janelle!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent book

The twists and turns in this book are great, keeps you guessing till literally the very end!!!!! A must read!!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Excellent Story!! Once caught, I couldn't put it down!! Its been a long time since a book has so hijacked my life!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Book club Mom

Could not put this book down. Great Read!! There were a lot of twist and turns in this book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pretty good

I enjoyed the story, but it wasn't life-changing or anything. I wasn't a fan of the narrator, especially when she was doing Billie's voice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

I loved the storyline of this book. The author did a great job of leaving the reader questioning every chapter.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Watch me Throw you Away!

Really? The idea of leaving everything behind is not a romantic notion of escapism but instead a story of abandonment. Life is too short -- skip the book.