Your audiobook is waiting…

Stolen Things

A Novel
Narrated by: Xe Sands
Length: 10 hrs and 38 mins

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

When a 911 dispatcher picks up an emergency call to hear her daughter on the line, her worst nightmare becomes reality.

Laurie Ahmadi has worked as a 911 police dispatcher in her quiet Northern California town for nearly two decades. She considers the department her family; her husband, Omid, is its first Arab American chief, and their teenage daughter, Jojo, has grown up with the force. So when Laurie catches a 911 call and, to her horror, it’s Jojo, the whole department springs into action.

Jojo, drugged, disoriented, and in pain, doesn’t remember how she ended up at the home of Kevin Leeds, a pro football player famous for his on-the-field activism and his work with the CapB - “Citizens Against Police Brutality” - movement. She doesn’t know what happened to Kevin’s friend and trainer, whose beaten corpse is also discovered in the house. And she has no idea where her best friend Harper, who was with her earlier in the evening, could be.

But when Jojo begins to dive into Harper’s social media to look for clues to her whereabouts, Jojo uncovers a shocking secret that turns everything she knew about Harper - and the police department - on its head. With everything they thought they could rely on in question, Laurie and Jojo begin to realize that they can't trust anyone to find Harper except themselves...and time is running out.

©2019 R. H. Herron (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

“Herron treats us to a thriller that slowly peels back the layers of dirty secrets kept by all the people involved...an intense read. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter or Lisa Scottoline.” (Library Journal)

“Herron, a former emergency dispatcher, offers a twisty revenge tale buoyed by successful red herrings, relatable characters, and headline-grabbing themes.” (Booklist)

"Herron writes this story as only a seasoned 911 dispatcher can - gripping us with a cry for help that hits home and steering us, come what may, to the breathless finish. Stolen Things is an urgent, timely tale that transports readers into the minds on both ends of that worst-nightmare call: A daughter desperate for help, and a mother who will have to pass the ultimate test to give it." (Jessica Strawser, author of Not That I Could Tell)

What members say