Your audiobook is waiting…

The Wife Between Us

Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 11 hrs and 13 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (27,339 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen comes the next hit audiobook thriller, an instant New York Times bestseller!

When you listen to this audiobook, you will make many assumptions. 

You will assume you are listening to a story about a jealous ex-wife. You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement - a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love. You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle. Assume nothing. 

Twisted and deliciously chilling, The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. 

Listen for the truth between the lies. 

This audiobook contains a bonus interview with the authors. 

©2017 Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen (P)2017 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard's infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of the 21st century's more cynical version of the O. Henry ending." ( The Washington Post)

"A clever thriller with masterful twists." (Karin Slaughter, New York Times best-selling author of The Kept Woman)
"Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris's Behind Closed Doors and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives in this domestic thriller." ( Library Journal)
"A fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." (Anita Shreve, New York Times best-selling author of The Stars Are Fire)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14,865
  • 4 Stars
    7,681
  • 3 Stars
    3,224
  • 2 Stars
    1,033
  • 1 Stars
    536

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15,477
  • 4 Stars
    6,539
  • 3 Stars
    2,144
  • 2 Stars
    554
  • 1 Stars
    315

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13,391
  • 4 Stars
    6,597
  • 3 Stars
    3,127
  • 2 Stars
    1,179
  • 1 Stars
    700
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

NOT that confusing! Gone Girl + Last Mrs. Parrish

Wow. Great book. If you liked Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine you will surely be a fan of this book. First of all, any reviews about this book being confusing are somewhat misleading. I admit, there is confusion between parts 1 and 2 where I had to re-listen – but this is one of the many great twists of the book. This transition from part 1 to part 2, is a crucial turning point so just understand what is happening before you move on, it is worth the re-listen or re-read. There are some details that might take a bit to become clear, but it does so at the right time, so keep going, everything is timed just right. The editor’s summary is very accurate, it’s not for appeal, it’s just true. Initially, it does seem like one of those “jealous ex-wives gone stalker” stories, but it is sooooo much more. The story unravels at a superb pace, making all the details count – everything doesn’t just wrap up at the very end like so many mystery thrillers. Even when you think you know where it’s going and even become complacent, another level is revealed - or added! Whenever I wanted more to happen, it ultimately always did. I very much appreciate when books resolve or acknowledge all the nuances and minutiae that were included or just mentioned – even if minor, and this book does just that, leaves no stone unturned. It ends excellently and perfectly satisfying. I highly recommend this book.

534 of 568 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow, wow & Just WOW!

Any additional comments?

This book I must admit, about 30% into it I was VERY confused. I was going to start it over cause I knew I'd just missed something. I chose to wait it out and see if it would come together. I am glad I did because once I figured out what confused me I WAS BLOWN AWAY! I would like to elaborate on it but if I did I know it would be a spoiler. It was sooooooo many secrets and twists that you'd never ever see coming lol. This book is definitely going down as a favorite! They should make this into a movie.

189 of 202 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ignore the reviews that claim it's confusing...

I don't want to write about the content, because I don't want to give anything away, but I think the book was great. I think what some people found confusing was the names, but I think that's intentional, and I think if we were reading the book, rather than listening, that would have cleared things up easily. You have to really pay attention to each characters and their names. I think it's great, and the twists are awesome. Like the summary says, assume nothing.

268 of 287 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too much!

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

I think the authors tried to do too much with the plot twists. The last one jumped the shark for me. I would have rathered they focus on the demented relationship between Richard and Maureen.

Could you see The Wife Between Us being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

I think this would make a great Lifetime movie, but unlike some of the other reviewers, I don't think the story is a good as Gone Girl.

34 of 36 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A Dud!

Would you try another book from Sarah Pekkanen and Greer Hendricks and/or Julia Whelan?

No.

Has The Wife Between Us turned you off from other books in this genre?

No. It's been done way better.

What three words best describe Julia Whelan’s performance?

Fine for the most part, but when she lowered her voice to do the men, it was laughable. She sounded like the ogre in a kid's book

Could you see The Wife Between Us being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

Hollywood could likely pare it down and spice it up.

Any additional comments?

The only reason I listened to the end was in the hope that something interesting would eventually happen. The feeling I had from this book was that these two writers got together and said, "Hey, those psychological thrillers about dysfunctional marriages are really popular. We should do one. How hard can it be?" The twists were ludicrous. The characters were unlikable. It was greatly padded - how many times do we need to hear about Richard's citrus cologne? I'm at a loss to see how this has been so highly rated.

21 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Alyx Picard
  • Oklahoma City, Oklahoma United States
  • 02-26-18

Twists for the Sake of Twists

Is there anything you would change about this book?

It could have been about 4 hours shorter.

Any additional comments?

This book is trying too hard to keep the reader on their toes and ends up twisting itself into knots. At several points, the authors undermine themselves by introducing a new turn that is completely inconsistent with the character's development and it feels like they're just pulling ideas out of a hat. Read THE SECRETS SHE KEEPS instead.

64 of 69 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Can't believe the reviews made me get this book

This was simply not good. People comparing it to Gone Girl are completely off. This story is pointlessly complicated with no real wrap up. I kept waiting for that "ah ha!" moment when all the pieces fell together but it never happens. You connect this to that, and then this to that, and another few things but connect but it's all superficial crap.

Part 1 was interesting. I enjoyed the format and it set the story up well. After that, it all fell to pieces. Another reason I got this book was because of Julia Whelan, who I typically love. This was a sub par performance on her part.

Overall I am beyond disappointed with this book and can't believe I just wasted 11 hours of my life listening to it.

83 of 90 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Gail
  • Kirkland WA
  • 02-28-18

Sophomoric & silly ...

I kept waiting for this to become the story as reviewed but it ended with me feeling mild satisfaction for a mediocre story ... THEN the epilogue happened and it was just ridiculous. It was silly (dumb) and a huge stretch to end on this note. Surprisingly written by two female authors - one of whom was an editor. Not a great story at all.

66 of 72 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

slow boring plot.

as I was listening I kept wanting and waiting for it to pickup, I almost refunded it but I was curious to hear the plot unfold, it was weak and disappointing. enjoyed the narrator have heard hey before an be maybe that's why I didn't give up. wouldn't recommend

18 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So long...

Poor mans Gone Girl meets poor mans Girl on the Train. Writing is repetitive and annoyingly long winded. Dont bother but if you absolutely must, get the abridged version.

32 of 35 people found this review helpful