Regular price: $30.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

New York Times bestseller!

"Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time." —Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules Ember. A decade ago, she and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings’ palatial estate, until a fateful accident forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger—and temptation—than Jules could have ever imagined. Soon she’s caught in a tangle of violent secrets and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she’d never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.

Fans of Victoria Aveyard, Kendare Blake, and Stephanie Garber will devour this lush novel's breathtaking action, incredible romance, and dangerous secrets.

©2018 Glasstown Entertainment, LLC (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time." (Stephanie Garber, New York Times best-selling author of Caraval)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    135
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    124
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great mystery, cheesy plot

I loved how time is literally money and the magic in this book! The mystery aspect was very well done and interesting. Despite this, I could not stand Jules! She was so foolish and winey! I felt bad for her, but she was annoying! Everything was Rowan that, Rowan this!! Ugh!! The loving triangle was annoying and see through. In the end, I will be picking up the next book. Yet, this was not a book I loved.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really solid YA

I thought this book was great once it got going! There was overmuch exposition and info dumping in the beginning, but once it picked up speed I really enjoyed. The central mystery was interesting and unpredictable, the foreshadowing throughout the book was excellent and the writing was quite good! I also liked that some of the stereotypical YA tropes were subverted, and not everything was as it seemed on the surface. I’m always more thankful than I should have to be for YA without cardboard characters. Overall, quite enjoyable, I will be on the lookout for the next in the series!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cool Concept, Predictable Story

The magic system in this story was so cool, and it was expertly executed. The writing was lovely with some truly gorgeous scenes. That's why I gave it 3 stars and not 1. From about halfway through chapter 2, I could predict everything that was going to happen. If you read any YA at all, you know these characters. I wish the author had put a twist on the usual tropes, but no. She did not. So if you want to read about a really interesting world with a creative and clever magic system, go for it, but don't expect the plot or characters to excite you.
That said, I'll probably read book 2 just to see what she does with the magic system...I feel like I already know what's coming for most of the characters.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely the best YA fantasy book of the year!!!!!

I have literally looked for a book to red or listen to and I've started so many and couldn't continue. Books like Hunger Games, Diligent,Twilight and some of the other wonderful books that draw you in on the first page have almost ruined reading for me intel this book!!!! It had me right away and I couldn't put it down. I read this as an audiobook and generally I reserve them for long car trips but I seriously had headphones in my ears until I was done.

This book is beautifully written with wonderful characters you can relate to. You feel as if your in the story. The narrator speaks in such a voice that also draws you in. I can't say enough about it!!!

I can't wait for the 2nd book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Was alright.

Not my favorite book, but I'd recommend it. I'll be keeping an eye out for book two.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Decent story idea

I really like the potential of the plot more than I actually liked the execution. it was an interesting concept and could have made a great book. I struggled with it though, and several parts literally made me say "oh gag". she tries to force a romance between two characters that have hated each other for years, then all of a sudden one day she realizes she was mistaken and she's swooning. give me a break! I also thought that the author took a few interesting turns in the plot, but only gave these Revelations a small paragraphs or so while spending pages talking about how much she loved someone she hardly knew. don't get me wrong, I have nothing against romance, but this was very artificial and forced.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

precious !

A highly anticipated book stood up to it's marvelous cover. A genuine story full of mystery and magic , well not so much magic, but enough to keep your interest and the agony to read what happenes next. The pilot twists were so unexpected. I keep reading negative comments labour this book, I guess the lack of sex and romance doesn't appeal much to most YA readers, but the true fans of the genre will appreciate it like I do. Can't wait to read what will happen to that Sorcerers eventually. So looking forward for a sequel.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Such a Promising Premise

I had high hopes for this book! Unfortunately, for me, it fell flat. The beginning and the premise are SO GOOD! But after the first few chapters the writing and the main characters become flighty and underdeveloped. The heroine becomes weaker instead of stronger and the book kind of plods along into a hastily thrown together ending. The end does make you want to get the next book - but doesn’t leave you satisfied enough with the first one to make it a valuable investment of your time. I really wanted to like this one it started out with a strong almost Katniss like protagonist with a fresh fantasy twist; I just wish it had the follow through to deliver on its premise.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

awesome, great story,very well read I could imagine myself there watching it unfold. It was creative, charming and left you wanting more

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Decent, needs a better heroine

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Not really. The concept behind the story is excellent but the protagonist ignores opportunities to grow and has very weak character development. She starts uninformed and is driven only by her emotions leading to terrible decision making. This failure on Jules' part to advance the story leaves the plot relying on luck and happenstance to advance while she is unknowingly along for the ride. The result is a story that jerks the reader from event to event following a character they can only pity.

If you’ve listened to books by Sara Holland before, how does this one compare?

I have not though I am interested in reading more. The story is very creative and shows a lot of concept development so I think she is a promising writer. However, Everless itself aims only to entertain an immature pre-teen, not to be good literature. Just because the reader can relate to the character doesn't make them like, respect, or learn from them. The best hero's are always a half-step braver/smarter/stronger than real life, that is why they are hero's.

Have you listened to any of Eileen Stevens’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

She has a beautiful voice and conveys emotion very well. Even if I did not particularly like the main character, Ms. Stevens' voice brought her to life and made a mediocre girl worth listening too.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes and no; I really wanted to know what happened next but the main characters failure to advance the plot was extremely frustrating.