Regular price: $30.79

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency - extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one's own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules Ember. A decade ago she and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings' palatial estate, until a fateful accident forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger - and temptation - than Jules could have ever imagined. Soon she's caught in a tangle of violent secrets and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she'd never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate - and the fate of time itself.

Fans of Victoria Aveyard, Kendare Blake, and Stephanie Garber will devour this lush novel's breathtaking action, incredible romance, and dangerous secrets.

©2018 Glasstown Entertainment, LLC (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time." (Stephanie Garber, New York Times best-selling author of Caraval)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Really solid YA

I thought this book was great once it got going! There was overmuch exposition and info dumping in the beginning, but once it picked up speed I really enjoyed. The central mystery was interesting and unpredictable, the foreshadowing throughout the book was excellent and the writing was quite good! I also liked that some of the stereotypical YA tropes were subverted, and not everything was as it seemed on the surface. I’m always more thankful than I should have to be for YA without cardboard characters. Overall, quite enjoyable, I will be on the lookout for the next in the series!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great New Book!

Would you listen to Everless again? Why?

Yes, because there are so many twist and turns, I might want to make sure I have the story straight.

What did you like best about this story?

The characters and intrigue.

Which character – as performed by Eileen Stevens – was your favorite?

Jules, of course.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, definitely. I could not stop listening!

Any additional comments?

READ IT!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Absolutely the best YA fantasy book of the year!!!!!

I have literally looked for a book to red or listen to and I've started so many and couldn't continue. Books like Hunger Games, Diligent,Twilight and some of the other wonderful books that draw you in on the first page have almost ruined reading for me intel this book!!!! It had me right away and I couldn't put it down. I read this as an audiobook and generally I reserve them for long car trips but I seriously had headphones in my ears until I was done.

This book is beautifully written with wonderful characters you can relate to. You feel as if your in the story. The narrator speaks in such a voice that also draws you in. I can't say enough about it!!!

I can't wait for the 2nd book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great mystery, cheesy plot

I loved how time is literally money and the magic in this book! The mystery aspect was very well done and interesting. Despite this, I could not stand Jules! She was so foolish and winey! I felt bad for her, but she was annoying! Everything was Rowan that, Rowan this!! Ugh!! The loving triangle was annoying and see through. In the end, I will be picking up the next book. Yet, this was not a book I loved.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excitement for beginning to end

I best book I have read in years. I did not want it to end.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful