Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Blood Heir  By  cover art

Blood Heir

By: Amélie Wen Zhao
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.75

Buy for $24.75

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

The first book in an epic new series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the con man she must trust to clear her name for her father's murder.

In the Cyrilian Empire, Affinites are reviled. Their varied gifts to control the world around them are unnatural - dangerous. And Anastacya Mikhailov, the crown princess, has a terrifying secret. Her deadly Affinity to blood is her curse and the reason she has lived her life hidden behind palace walls.

When Ana's father, the emperor, is murdered, her world is shattered. Framed as his killer, Ana must flee the palace to save her life. And to clear her name, she must find her father's murderer on her own. But the Cyrilia beyond the palace walls is far different from the one she thought she knew. Corruption rules the land, and a greater conspiracy is at work - one that threatens the very balance of her world. And there is only one person corrupt enough to help Ana get to its core: Ramson Quicktongue.

A cunning crime lord of the Cyrilian underworld, Ramson has sinister plans - though he might have met his match in Ana. Because in this story, the princess might be the most dangerous player of all.

"Cinematic storytelling at its best." (Adrienne Young, New York Times best-selling author of Sky in the Deep and The Girl the Sea Gave Back)

"Zhao shines in the fast-paced and vivid combat scenes, which lend a cinematic quality that pulls readers in." (The New York Times Book Review)

©2019 Amélie Wen Zhao (P)2019 Listening Library

Critic reviews

"Blood Heir is cinematic storytelling at its best. A stunning new voice in YA, Amélie Wen Zhao has drawn characters who are as complex and captivating as the fantastical world she’s built. Get ready for a retelling like you’ve never seen before." (Adrienne Young, New York Times best-selling author of Sky in the Deep and The Girl the Sea Gave Back)

"Sure to keep readers turning pages.... Perfect for fans of Amy Tintera or Sarah J. Maas, but readers should prepare for plenty of heartbreak." (Booklist)

"[A] pointed exploration into the consequences of exploitation and the defining nature of choices." (Publishers Weekly)