We Set the Dark on Fire

Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Series: We Set the Dark on Fire, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
4.4 out of 5 stars (117 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers." (NPR)

"Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality." (Buzzfeed)

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s striven for in pursuit of a free Medio - and a chance at a forbidden love?

©2019 Tehlor Kay Mejia (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

Featured Article: Finished Throne of Glass? Try These Audiobooks Next


After finishing Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series, it’s understandable if you have a bit of a listening hangover. This seven-book fantasy series features a fan favorite strong female lead in 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien, and Maas’s writing has been described as "scary good." After all of the build up to the conclusion, hearing the last word of the final audiobook probably felt bittersweet. These epic fantasy series will be your next best listen.

What listeners say about We Set the Dark on Fire

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

“What!?” -Me at the end of this story

The narration was wonderfully expressive. The story itself is...wow! Highly recommend. Will be recommending to every reader/audiobook listener I know. I am SO excited to start the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I hope there is a sequel!

Awesome social commentary and a great coming of age queer love story full of wonder and innocence.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great YA Novel

This was a great book. It's a young adult novel set in a quasi 19th century fictional society that actually builds Donald Trump's border wall and explores the class struggle surrounding it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

delightfully engrossing

perfect for the current political moment, this queer latinx revolutionary spy novel tells a story that weaves together the conflicts of tradition, exploitation, and gendered violence into a story of political intrigue, the struggle to honor the sacrifices of immigrant parents, and love in the most dangerous of places.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

narration was good, story was ok

The story was just ok. Slightly eyerolling from time to time. The main character didn't feel believable, she was top of her class yet terrible at her job? The story over all felt very contrived and forced. On the plus side, the narrator was great. I would listen to another book narrated by her 💯. She may be the only reason I finished the book in the first place.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Really wanted to like this

I enjoy young adult and had high expectations. In the end, however, it felt like the author was a beginner and tried to squeeze in a lot of hot topics. The LGBTQ angle seemed manufactured and wasn't remotely necessary to the rebellion plot. I also found the world building confusing. This is apparently an isolated island nation that is very Latin American where people shop in market places, etc. There is no TV, telephone, internet but they have weapons and automobiles? And I couldn't figure out why the people who live along the shore where they can fish and grow produce were the ones starving. So in general, this book felt awkward. I imagined it being written by a high school student.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-28-20

A complex story with many layers

A story that forces you to think about the many rights and wrongs in a complex situation. LGBT+ friendly.