Regular price: $38.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An instant New York Times best seller!

"Made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir" (Bustle), Ash Princess is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.  

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. On that day, the Kaiser took Theodosia's family, her land, and her name. Theo was crowned Ash Princess - a title of shame to bear in her new life as a prisoner.

For 10 years Theo has been a captive in her own palace. She's endured the relentless abuse and ridicule of the Kaiser and his court. She is powerless, surviving in her new world only by burying the girl she was deep inside. 

Then, one night, the Kaiser forces her to do the unthinkable. With blood on her hands and all hope of reclaiming her throne lost, she realizes that surviving is no longer enough. But she does have a weapon: her mind is sharper than any sword. And power isn't always won on the battlefield. 

For 10 years, the Ash Princess has seen her land pillaged and her people enslaved. That all ends here.

"Sure to be one of the summer's most talked about YAs.... A darkly enchanting page-turner you won't be able to put down." (Bustle)

©2018 Laura Sebastian (P)2018 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Tense and imaginative, this story of a diminished yet vengeful princess inciting a rebellion to recapture her rightful place of power strikes a timely chord. Ash Princess is a smart, feminist twist on a traditional tale of a fallen heroine, with plenty of court intrigue, love, and lies to sweeten the deal. Good luck putting this one down." (Virginia Boecker, author of The Witch Hunter series)

"The story leaps and twists like a swordswoman, and its blade carves the characters anew and divides them against themselves. This searing page-turner is a compelling examination of the complexities of both evil and resistance." (Sarah Porter, author of Vassa in the Night)

"An emotionally complex, breathtakingly suspenseful series starter." (Booklist)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    184
  • 4 Stars
    92
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    207
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    159
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not what I expected, but still very good.

I have to start by saying that the idea behind the plot of this book is nothing new... I've read a lot of fantasy/dystopian books similar to this one. There are some fun things that made this one stand out though, and I liked the overall story and it ended in the ways that I predicted all along. The ash crown plays a very interesting part in this book, and the stones/gems that brought magic to the table. Those were some super interesting elements to this story.

When I started this book, it was slow moving, the world building was good, but the plot and character development was slow. There was a lot of back story, some necessary and some I could of done without. Our main character is being raised in a semi-prison, watched 100% of the time by these guardians called shadows - even when she sleeps, which I found super odd. I have a mental picture of what her room looked like, and it was a lot like a solitary confinement space in a prison. I immediately was drawn to her mental state and how that was holding up to what she had been through thus far. The book didn't really pick up until about 75% in when our heroine could finally see how her plans might work out - but they were still flimsy ones at that point. By the end, I was hooked, even though I felt that the last few chapters were rushed, they were still full of action. I just wanted more of that earlier on in the book, even in small doses. I feel like it would of developed a lot smoother overall.

I found it interesting that we didn't get any definite answers on some questions from the start of the book - but they let you assume the answers. I would of rather of known for sure, mostly about her father. I was also slightly annoyed by the love square we were put through - a second chance romance and a fake romance... I didn't see it necessary to get to the end, but I guess to each their own. The secondary characters stole the show - her shadows and some of the staff were my favorites.

I give this book a solid three stars. I liked it enough, I finished it, but I don't think I could get through it again. I'm not sure if I will pick up a sequel. This is also what happened to me after Red Queen. Predictable storyline, and it fell short.

I really enjoyed the narrator over all - she did a great job bringing these characters to life.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing

loved the book, awesome story line, a bit slow at first but it is to be expected of a new series. I can't wait to see where book 2 goes.
loved Saskia Maarleveld you couldn't have picked a better narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

.

The signing edited over the narration in a few places was weird and annoying. The story was good though and I liked it otherwise.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

the first 60% was very slow

the first 60% was pretty slow but then it picked up which made the book quite enjoyable because there's no half star ratings I'm giving it a 4 but in reality it's really a three and a half. the narrator was fantastic I love some of her other work as well and I will be continuing the series because I'm hoping Book 2 picks up where they left off and it's not as drawn out

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Eric
  • Everett, WA, United States
  • 09-21-18

Games of thrones would be proud

I think this book has a great suspenseful feel to it that will keep the listener involved in story. I also enjoyed how the character found her strength even when others may have doubted her. Also, the narrator really makes that game of thrones feel come to life. All in all, please give this book a chance it will be worth the credit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a pleasant surprise

I was skeptical before starting this book, but the narrator in the story quickly drew me in. A princess held in her castle with torn loyalties. she must choose between her people or the friends she has made, those seen as the enemy of her people. Fantastic narrator. I'm excited to get the next installment!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a surprising seriously good book

at first I didn't know if I was going to like this book because of how it started out but the more I read it the more I loved it and I actually got emotionally attached to the prince as well as the main character because it was like I was her friend and I wanted her to become Queen and I can't wait for the next book I am so excited

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

solid 3.5 stars

this book was entertaining. it had a solid story flow. The characters were likable and the author did a great job describing feelings and transferring emotions, my least favorite character was the main character.. she felt immature and slightly irrational which aggravated me. there were couple of chapter where the story slowed down and there were some ideas in the story that I thought could of been better of more thought was put into it, but still was mostly enjoyable. The Romance wasn't my thing but unlike some stories I read it was bearable. I would compare this book to a freeway, it wasn't a race track with twist and turns, full of action and mystery but it did get you through a smooth road at a decent pace. interesting enough to see what happens next in the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love this book

This book is good you can feel all the feelings and image everything that is happened

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

Great book, made me stay up till 3 in the morning to finish on a school night. can't wait for the next