Sample

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Onyx & Ivory  By  cover art

Onyx & Ivory

By: Mindee Arnett
Narrated by: Khristine Hvam
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $26.99

Buy for $26.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

Acclaimed author Mindee Arnett thrusts listeners into a beautiful, dangerous, and magical world in this stunningly epic and romantic fantasy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah Raasch.

They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king of Rime.

Cast out of the nobility, Kate now works for the royal courier service. Only the most skilled ride for the Relay and only the fastest survive, for when night falls, the drakes - deadly flightless dragons - come out to hunt. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: She is a wilder, born with forbidden magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals.

And it’s this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by drakes in broad daylight - the only survivor Corwin Tormaine, the son of the king. Her first love, the boy she swore to forget after he condemned her father to death.

With their paths once more entangled, Kate and Corwin must put the past behind them to face this new threat and an even darker menace stirring in the kingdom.

©2018 Mindee Arnett (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"At once fresh, at once classic, Onyx and Ivory is a page-turning blend of monsters, magic, and romance." (Susan Dennard, New York Times best-selling author of Truthwitch)

Featured Article: Finished Throne of Glass? Try These Audiobooks Next


After finishing Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series, it’s understandable if you have a bit of a listening hangover. This seven-book fantasy series features a fan favorite strong female lead in 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien, and Maas’s writing has been described as "scary good." After all of the build up to the conclusion, hearing the last word of the final audiobook probably felt bittersweet. These epic fantasy series will be your next best listen.