Your audiobook is waiting…

Contagion

Narrated by: Amy McFadden
Length: 9 hrs and 37 mins
4 out of 5 stars (57 ratings)
Regular price: $30.79
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Madeleine Roux, Jonathan Maberry, and horror films like 28 Days Later and Resident Evil, this pulse-pounding, hair-raising, utterly terrifying novel is the first in a duology from the critically acclaimed author of the Taken trilogy.

After receiving a distress call from a drill team on a distant planet, a skeleton crew is sent into deep space to perform a standard search-and-rescue mission.

When they arrive, they find the planet littered with the remains of the project - including its members’ dead bodies. As they try to piece together what could have possibly decimated an entire project, they discover that some things are best left buried - and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.

©2018 Erin Bowman (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

“Gripping, thrilling and terrifying in equal measures, Contagion is the perfect intersection of science fiction and horror - I couldn’t look away.” (Amie Kaufman, New York Times best-selling author of Illuminae and Unearthed)

“Few understand the true horror that lies in the empty unknown of space, but Erin Bowman nails it in Contagion. Read this one with the lights on!” (Beth Revis, New York Times best-selling author of the Across the Universe series and Star Wars: Rebel Rising)

“Erin Bowman’s Contagion is everything I want in my science fiction: a cast of smart characters on a desperate rescue mission forced to confront an elusive and unstoppable enemy. I absolutely loved this layered and thrilling adventure and can’t wait to dive back into this world again.” (Veronica Rossi, New York Times best-selling author of the Under the Never Sky series)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yes!

I wasn’t sure if I’d like this, sci-fi can be hit or miss for me. Plus contagions have been done before, but also hold the potential for lots of tension. Happily, Contagion was well written, engaging and performed well. The tension was good, the reveals were interesting (although I guessed a few) and the storyline had enough uniqueness to not feel like a retread of well worn ground. I listened to it in two days and now I’m sad it’s over. I’ll definitely be getting the next and I recommend this one!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not What I Was Hoping For

Basically, I was expecting a more adult horror novel. Even though it wasn't labeled as YA, that was the vibe I got. Or, possibly it just wasn't as suspenseful as it should've been...

Also, the narration, while not the worst I've ever heard, by any means, was underwhelming, to say the least. Possibly, the book would've seemed more suspenseful with better narration. As it was, I found it a distraction the whole time I was listening.

I am conflicted. On the one hand, I want a refund for not being satisfied with the book... On the other hand, I also want to hear the rest of the story...

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More please.

I'm not gonna lie, I went through a quite a range of different emotions while listening. Mostly annoyance at a lot of their decisions. Still considering the different personalities and their given situation, it never felt implausible. I really enjoyed the experience and look forward to the next book.

As usual I have nothing much to say about the performance. Amy never disappoints. I'd say she's one of the best narrators on here which is saying a lot because there are quite a lot of talented individuals.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good YA Focused - Big Cliffhanger

Better than average YA semi-Zombie tale. However, for the adult reader there is just too many plot holes. The main characters are as stupid as a box of rocks. They just don’t think things through. Too bad, because the book has a few interesting premises. Narration was good. Overall a C rating.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good story line

this is a good story line, I wonder if this will turn into a series?