Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The first in a new fantasy duology, The Glass Spare is a gorgeously told tale of love, loss, and deadly power, from Lauren DeStefano, the best-selling author of the Chemical Garden series. Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Renee Ahdieh.

Wilhelmina Heidle, the fourth child and only daughter of the king of the world's wealthiest nation, has grown up in the shadows. Kept hidden from the world in order to serve as a spy for her father - whose obsession with building his empire is causing a war - Wil wants nothing more than to explore the world beyond her kingdom, if only her father would give her the chance.

Until one night Wil is attacked, and she discovers a dangerous secret. Her touch turns people into gemstone. At first Wil is horrified - but as she tests its limits, she's drawn more and more to the strange and volatile ability. When it leads to tragedy, though, Wil is forced to face the destructive power within her and finally leave her home to seek the truth and a cure.

But finding the key to her redemption puts her in the path of a cursed prince who has his own ideas for what to do with Wil's power.

With a world on the brink of war and a power of ultimate destruction, can Wil find a way to help the kingdom that's turned its back on her, or will she betray her past and her family forever?

©2017 Lauren DeStefano (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

SO GOOD OMG.

The narrator was amazing and brought the author's beautiful prose to life perfectly. I NEED THE NEXT ONE ASAP!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not just a retelling of King Midas

I went in this book thinking it was a retelling of King Midas... but I was pleasantly surprised. This story is about Wil a banished princess of a ruthless king who is kept secret from the world and her father uses her anonymity to serve her father as a spy.
Wil mysteriously develops a power that turns any living thing under her touch to gemstone. This takes her on a quest to find a marveler who can remove her curse while avoiding the war that's brewing. I loved the concept of turning people into gemstones with a touch.
I loved the sibling relationships between Wil, Gerdie and Owen. Then you have Loom who is a banished prince and Zay is his traveling companion. There is hardly any romance in this book. Which is a good thing? The world was probably this book strongest point.
My issues with the book are there wasn't much of an explanation for the Kings motivations. It was predictable and a sluggish read for me. I just felt that something was missing and I never felt engrossed in the story or characters. There were only a few chapters where something important was taking place others felt like fillers.
This is one book that definitely needs a sequel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read

Loved it from the beginning
Narraitor voice was perfect for this read.
The story was original and excittting.