Your audiobook is waiting…

Dead God's Due

Sins of the Fathers, Book 1
Narrated by: Ralph Lister
Series: Sins of the Fathers, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 34 mins
4 out of 5 stars (50 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The end of the world approaches. The people don't believe. They don't even remember.

Yazid Valerion is alone with the truth, but his warnings fall on deaf ears. His people are far more concerned about the wars of today and tomorrow than those of the past. 

Eons ago, the Dead God promised a world of ash, and the time of that prophecy is now at hand. His only hope is to cross the sea with his few followers in search of ancient enemies, the Meites, and pray he can sway them to his cause. But the Meites are no mere mortals; they are powerful sorcerers prone to outbursts of destructive terror. Even if he can find them, there's no guarantee they won't slaughter him and his men upon first sight. 

Perhaps there is no way to change the prophesy of a god. If not, then Yazid will die well. For a warrior knows, it is better to die fighting than trembling in fear of the final blow. 

The battle to save the world begins in Book 1 of a series perfect for fans of Marc Alan Edelheit, Bryce O'Connor, and Frank Miller's 300.

©2019 Aethon Books (P)2019 Blue Heron Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This... is... Xanthia!

Dang, this book hit hard and fast and kept me down for the count. I didn’t know I wanted an epic fantasy about a Roman/spartan analog. I didn’t know how much I missed 300. Now I want more and I’m thrilled book two is shortly on its way.

This Gilbert dude can write. And Ralph Lister is easily one of the best narrators out there.

Kudos and bring on the battle!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Promising Start to a New Series

This title is a promising start to a Middle-Eastern themed fantasy with touches of political intrigue, religion, drug abuse, and the graphic novel 300. Ralph Lister does a great job bringing everything together with his Narration. The characters are distinct and identifiable. I enjoyed it enough to where I am definitely going to be following up with the next volume in the future.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entrancing! If 300 & GoT had a baby. ;)

A powerful start to a new fantasy series! I loved it: a captivating tale chock full of sorcerers, dark prophecies, battles and intrigue! It also puts no small emphasis on making the anti-hero the protagonist. You'll likely be surprised at how it turns out. In addition, Matthew has a crisp, vivid style of writing and wonderful knack for weaving characters into his world-building. With Ralph Lister reading, it fells like I'm listening to an epic roman-medieval yarn told by a bard in the town's finest tavern. Will definitely read book 2!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So. Good.

It starts off a bit blurry and a little difficult to grasp but there's a reason for this ;) Stick with it. You'll see.

I can't wait to get the next book in this series! The writing is fantastic, the characters are well fleshed out, and the narrator does them all justice.

All around, I highly recommend you give this one a listen.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Builds into a great story after a bit

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

TLDR; A bit hard to follow at first, there are a lot of character shifts. Being an American I had a hard time with some of the names at first, after those humps I really enjoyed the story.

This is a story of culture clashes and prophesied war. You follow a few characters and get their perspectives as things go on. The following of multiple characters was a bit difficult in this, I'm not sure why that is (maybe the names, not being English, maybe too much going on right from the start). Whatever the case may be that cleared up a bit after the book went on. By the end of the book, I was really enjoying the story and how things were progressing, I'm looking forward to getting the rest of this story,

Overall, if you're looking for something with backstabbing, war, politics, and magic this is probably going to hit that spot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wonderfully detailed excursion into religion

The woes and wars put forth in the name of gods are shown in their full glory and failures. This highly detailed excursion into what's right/moral and corrupt is put on blast with this initial entry into the series. I"m really looking forward to seeing how this plays out as the twists and turns will be epic.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So, so good!

Dead Gods do is a great read. From Akmead to his teacher Zantheise, the family of The house of Arrowrath and everyone else are flushed out, well defined characters. The author did a great job putting the reader in the time and places he writes about. I thought this was a fun and very intelligent read. I love this book I was so enthralled with the characters and situations I couldn’t stop listening. This was a great book! The narrator did a wonderful job I was happy to give it five stars it would’ve given it more if I could.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fantasy with worldbuilding and politics

This is a review of the audiobook, narrated by Ralph Lister, that runs 10 hrs, 34 min.

The book made in enjoying listen. It’s book one in a complex fantasy with political and quest elements. It sucked me in and I’m looking forward to book 2.

As an audiobook, it’s a compelling listen. I did find that it required attention that some genre fiction doesn’t. You have to pay attention or you’ll miss something. In that way, it reminded me of Game of Thrones. The drawback of this is that it took me longer to listen to than something that I could put mentally follow while doing more complex tasks. I think it was worth it. I couldn’t have driven and listened at the same time, but that’s just me.

Vocal characterizations were distinctive. You were always sure who was speaking. The narrator was expressive and highlighted dramatic moments.

The first chapter was very intense. Initially, I felt a bit lost but the feeling passed quickly. It’s a prologue that sets the stakes for the series. You step into the middle of an intense situation, and it’s a bit sudden.

After the first chapter, the pace of the story changes and I found it more to my liking. You’re introduced to the characters in scenes that illustrate who they are without the author having to tell you directly. At the same time, the plot is developing. All of the characters are developed to various degrees, and there are few characters without depth. Development isn’t always what you expect and the author keeps you on your toes.

The book is written in third person from multiple viewpoints. Some of the characters are more sympathetic than others. All are interesting, but I admit to enjoying some more than others.

This is the first book in a series. Because of this, the author can take the time to develop the characters and setting. The plot, at first glance, appears to be straightforward. The characters are on a quest. Over the course of the book the political situation of the setting develops, as does the historical and cultural context. This gives a depth to the story that adds complexity. The worldbuilding is very well done.

As book one in a saga, you don’t get full resolution. It breaks at a good point, and is enjoyable on it’s own. I suspect it will be better when heard in the context of the full series.

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Ralph Lister brings the characters to life!

The story is engaging and has a Spartans vs the Athens/Romans plotline and is told from both sides. I am looking forward to starting the next book!

When I started listening to the book, I'll be honest the first chapter didn't really grab me, it seemed a bit dry and the characters felt flat and I wasn't sure if I would enjoy book, but I'm really glad I kept listening.

The second chapter really felt like when the story started going. It was like starting a movie slow in black and white and then you are in a world full of colour, The characters were developed people and Ralph Lister did a great job of bringing complexity and emotion to each of them. He's one of the few narrators that is able to not only give multiple characters unique voices (including women, which many narrators fail at) but also keep the character's voice when yelling with anger or crying softly. It does a lot to give the world added depth and make you really feel the characters emotions.

I would like to note that I was given free review copy of this audiobook, but I bought the next book (Mad God's Muse) with my own credit. I am going to listen to it now!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable read for fans of Malazan and GoT

Note: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for this voluntary review.

As a fan of the narrator, Ralph Lister, I jumped at the chance to listen to this book. I really enjoyed his work as narrator of the first few books of the Malazan Book of the Fallen series and was sad when he stopped narrating that series. I think he does a great job as the narrator of this book, though there aren't any chances for a distinct character voice like Kruppe from MBotF.

From a story perspective, I found this book to be enjoyable and I'm looking forward to listening to the next book in the series. Gilbert writes well in each of his characters' voices and does a good job writing in various tones. I didn't find myself getting audiobook fatigue with this title which was a welcome change after the last couple of books I've tried listening to recently.

The only thing I didn't enjoy was how short the book was. Looks like there will be 3 books but if they're all of similar size then I would have preferred them being split between two volumes instead.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful