Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Fall of Radiance  By  cover art

Fall of Radiance

By: Blake Arthur Peel
Narrated by: Michael Kramer,Kate Reading
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $25.99

Buy for $25.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Get the Fall of Radiance boxed set, featuring all five action-packed books in the best-selling epic fantasy series - including adventure, magic, war, and a bond between warriors that can't be broken. 

Magic has protected Tarsynium for a thousand years, shielding its people from being ravaged by bloodthirsty demons. When a young ranger's apprentice named Owyn Lund discovers that the Arc of Radiance has been breached, he tries to warn anybody who will listen.

But legends aren't supposed to be real.

When a village is mysteriously destroyed, rangers, mages, and rebels all point the finger, blaming each other for the demons' brutality. However, Zara Dennel, a mage's ward, has heard Owyn's tale - and she's inclined to believe him. 

Together, they must prove that friendship is greater than intolerance, unity is more important than division, and that even the most powerful magic can sometimes not be enough. 

Failure means the end of all things. A second - and lasting - Doom. 

Buy this special edition omnibus to experience a saga with something for every fan of epic fantasy. Suitable for all ages, it's perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas, and Brandon Sanderson. 

Narrated by the award-winning duo: Michael Kramer and Kate Reading.

Books included in the set:

  • Book 1: Ranger's Oath
  • Book 2: Doom Bringers
  • Book 3: War Echoes
  • Book 4: Exiles
  • Book 5: Prince of Darkness
©2020, 2021 Aethon Books (P)2021 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Fall of Radiance

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,669
  • 4 Stars
    548
  • 3 Stars
    203
  • 2 Stars
    95
  • 1 Stars
    61
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,932
  • 4 Stars
    313
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    13
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,443
  • 4 Stars
    483
  • 3 Stars
    231
  • 2 Stars
    95
  • 1 Stars
    84

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Disappointed by the narrators

The story draws you in and builds well.

The narrators individually are good, however, together are not. They each do the voices for all of the characters rather than having them choose characters and doing them constantly through out the story. As it is, the voices become confusing chapter to chapter. Real missed opportunity and really detracts from the book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

59 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Meh...

I've listened to Tolkien, Jordan, Rothfuss, Sanderson...etc... This was a struggle to listen to. Not a huge fan of Kate Redding (female narrator) but other stories have made that not matter so much.
The story had potential. But everything was rushed and half assed. Terribly predictable. Cliches stacked on cliches. Blatant rip offs from more talented authors.
I have to finish a book once I start it. So... If you're like me, do yourself a favor and just don't.
I'm gonna listen to The Wheel of Time series again to wash my brain out.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

42 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Horrifyingly Mediocre

The only great thing about this purchase besides the length is the narration. The story is not bad, just uninspired. The characters and their relation to each other is formulaic and run of the mill. Sometimes the writing by the author is so unvaried and repetitive I literally wondered if I was listening to a chapter or paragraph again or if I pressed "rewind" on the audible. The main magic user is quite questionable with how she manages to get out of some fights too. She can do some things that the author literally says "she has no idea how she casts this spell" like she has never heard of it and never knew the words to it but she did it anyway. Far too convenient. That's just the first of many convenient saves she does. If you want something that just takes up time but won't impress you or hardly make you laugh then this is an okay investment.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

40 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So much yes

I read some bad reviews and some good reviews before deciding I usually end up enjoying what others don’t. This was worth the listen all day. Michael Kramer and Kate Reading do a fantastic job as always. If you like The Cycle of Arawan/ Cycle of Galand series, the Licanius Trilogy, Stormlight Archive, then you’ll like this. I’m sure I could find some negative aspects of the story but I’m not one of those people to pick apart a story. I listen to my fantasy audible books so I don’t have to suffer repetitive Spotify playlists. If you’re reading reviews to figure out if the Fall of Radiance is worth the credit, my vote is yes. Now off to find another series!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The dynamic duo breath life into another series.

The duo of Michael Kramer, Kate Reading do it again. They bring a great story to life. I'm sure these two can read a phone book and it would sound good but when it's paired with a story like Fall of Radiance it makes a good series even better.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Each subsequent book was a formulaic plot

I had purchased book 1 several months back and while I felt it had some notable shortcomings, I still felt the series held the promise of righting itself and becoming an epic fantasy. Especially so with considering two renowned narrators in their own right, Michael Kramer and Kate Reading. So, when the series came out in box form, I jumped at the opportunity to purchase the whole series.

While the medieval fantasy series hadn't descended into 21 century mores it suffered from a large imbalance of leadership roles between the sexes. Women were generally the brightest characters and the best leaders while men in power mostly were ruthless and evil, with a few exceptions. Even for the men who were good, they were often portrayed as having significant character flaws. These flaws were focused on so much of the series, I kept thinking I was hearing Michael Bublé in the background singing, "Call me irresponsible, Call me unreliable, Throw in undependable, toooooo ...". Even worse, the primary male apprentice warden, Owen, was a moody, whiny and insecure person making Zarra's fascination with him seem like more of a mothering mate than that of a lover.

Blake Arthur Peel's writing skills are quite good but his decision to write this fantasy as a mixture between adventure and harlequin novel along with the constant repetition of over-used homilies throughout was off-putting.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OH MY GOD

If this wasn't the GREATEST story I've ever read!! The world building the characters are believable and amazing. I found myself outwardly screaming in surprise as well as triumph cheering the characters on at every turn. I laughed I cried. just absolutely THE BEST
10/10 would highly recommend!!!!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Still a good listen

I previously listened to, liked, and reviewed the first book. Listening to this collection has not changed my opinion.

I was given this audiobook for free (again) and have voluntarily left this review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

A thoroughly enjoyable series from beginning to end!!

Well written and solid narration by the two narrators. The story moved at a good pace and the character development was rich and detailed. The action scenes were very descriptive and I felt caught up in those scenes. Highly recommended - another hit from the folks at Aethon Books!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Listen

This was a fabulous series. I am sorry to see it come to an end. The writing picturesque in detail was performed in such a way that I never lost track. I could see all in my minds eye. I’m keeping this one to listen to again. Thank you so much. T

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

9 people found this helpful