We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Try Not to Breathe Audiobook

Try Not to Breathe: A Novel

Regular Price:$31.50
Sale Price:$4.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut - an engrossing thriller full of shocking twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense.

Some secrets never die. They're just locked away.

Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down. Every day is treading water, every night is drowning.

Until Alex discovers Amy Stevenson. Amy Stevenson, who was just another girl from a nearby town until the day she was found unconscious after a merciless assault. Amy Stevenson, who has been in a coma for 15 years, forgotten by the world. Amy Stevenson, who, unbeknownst to her doctors, remains locked inside her body, conscious but paralyzed, reliving the past.

Soon Alex's routine includes visiting hours at the hospital, then interviews with the original suspects in the attack. But what starts as a reporter's story becomes a personal obsession. How do you solve a crime when the only witness lived but cannot tell the tale? Unable to tear herself away from her attempt to uncover the unspeakable truth, Alex realizes she's not just chasing a story - she's seeking salvation.

Shifting from present to past and back again, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer until its heart-stopping conclusion. The result is an utterly immersive, unforgettable debut.

©2016 Holly Seddon (P)2016 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"A razor-sharp, fast-paced plot and wonderfully complex characters.... Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense." (New York Times best-selling author Tess Gerritsen)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (2557 )
5 star
 (1409)
4 star
 (866)
3 star
 (215)
2 star
 (53)
1 star
 (14)
Overall
4.3 (2334 )
5 star
 (1236)
4 star
 (767)
3 star
 (251)
2 star
 (56)
1 star
 (24)
Story
4.6 (2339 )
5 star
 (1613)
4 star
 (599)
3 star
 (98)
2 star
 (22)
1 star
 (7)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kathleen Ammon 02-28-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't stop listening"

    Fabulous story. Wonderful writing and use of words to tell this story. Great performances! Recommend it to all readers.

    30 of 30 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Abby D. Charlton Woodbury, KY USA 03-05-16
    Abby D. Charlton Woodbury, KY USA 03-05-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    67
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not exactly as suspenseful as I had expected."

    I found the story hard to follow for the first half of the book and the second half didn't make up for it. I dislike it when an author pulls a villian out of a hat with no foreshadowing or without a dribble of story until bam! the person is guilty. it felt like it began and ended on a pretty blah note. The narrator did a good job. it wasn't a bad book and it wasn't a good book.

    39 of 41 people found this review helpful
  •  
    T-AudibleAddict-do NOT cure 02-25-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    54
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    314
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I lost sleep!"

    This book grabbed and held on. The characters voices, as written by Seddon were amazing. The narration held true to the amazing. the flawed characters made the book more real. it has characters you want to love and those you hate and love hating. the phrase 'gripping tale' is overused, but this story really did grip. Definitely worth a credit. or more.

    30 of 31 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MareG Kilmarnock, UK 03-14-16
    MareG Kilmarnock, UK 03-14-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved this book"

    I absolutely loved this book. I listened to it over two days while stuck in bed with a migraine. The narrators were believable without sounding theatrical and the story itself was so well written, gripping and emotional. I enjoyed the references to the teenagers in the 90's given I was one of them.
    I shed tears at the end. Such a brilliant book

    13 of 14 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ruth Bain 03-08-16
    Ruth Bain 03-08-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1669
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    632
    625
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    86
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very suspenseful, but depressing"

    A very suspenseful story, although the ending was a bit dragged out. The characters are all rather sad, desparate people, especially Alex, a self-distructive alcoholic. Narration was very good.

    18 of 20 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chana Goanna New Jersey 03-08-16
    Chana Goanna New Jersey 03-08-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    63
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    193
    47
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good first effort"
    Where does Try Not to Breathe rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Somewhere in the middle


    Would you recommend Try Not to Breathe to your friends? Why or why not?

    Yes, with the caveats that:
    1. I figured out who the perpetrator was around the middle of the book, and
    2. the author writes far too many cliffhanger chapter endings, which is a good technique for suspense used sparingly, but towards the end, it was every single chapter, which got annoying.


    What does Elizabeth Knowelden and Katharine McEwan bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    They did a fine job, but I would have enjoyed this just as much if I had read it on paper.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Not really.


    Any additional comments?

    Good beach read.

    16 of 18 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kathleen 02-28-16
    kathleen 02-28-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    99
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    124
    95
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a great read! Hopeful, suspenseful. "

    This author writes wonderfully. Never wanted to put it down. She gives her characters real life tragedies and shows us how they get through, even grow. it was a little hard to keep them all straight this time because there are so many but they are also defined by the way they relate to one another. Great debut!

    21 of 24 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rox 03-04-16
    Rox 03-04-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Trader was excellent!"

    This is one I couldn't put down. Loved it start to finish.

    Intriguing plot with twists you don't expect!

    21 of 24 people found this review helpful
  •  
    AlexM 04-08-16
    AlexM 04-08-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Page Turner"
    What did you love best about Try Not to Breathe?

    The storyline was compelling and the flawed characters were realistic. As well, the author skips from different viewpoints and time periods very effectively. I always found it easy to follow.


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    I was on the edge of my seat from the very beginning but was disappointed with the ending (however this did not 'ruin' the book for me). I saw it coming and was hoping the author didn't go that route. I do really like that things were not magically fixed for the various characters at the end.


    Have you listened to any of Elizabeth Knowelden and Katharine McEwan ’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No but their performances were some of the best I have heard. The narration for Amy really made me feel her innocence, confusion and desperation. The narration for Alex was also a perfect fit. Outstanding.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    No, but I did find the two female leads to be characters I really felt for and was rooting for.


    Any additional comments?

    Definitely a good solid psychological suspense that I listened to in 2 days because the suspense element was so very strong. The 'who did it' could have been much better.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dee Pizzo 03-30-16
    Dee Pizzo 03-30-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Try Not to Breathe to be better than the print version?

    Yes! I thought the narrators were absolutely INCREDIBLE!!! Seriously - these women nailed every single character, tone, mood - I loved it. So I would definitely recommend this download to everyone!


    What did you like best about this story?

    It was just a classic non-stop drama thriller, like Gone Girl and Girl on A Train! I hated for it to end!


    What about Elizabeth Knowelden and Katharine McEwan ’s performance did you like?

    Everything!! They were absolutely brilliant!


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    The truth is in there!


    Any additional comments?

    I thought that Alex seemed a little too functional for the stage of alcoholism that she apparently was in. But other than that - it was perfect!

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.