Regular price: $34.99

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide? At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wife's death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. 

The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge. 

Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by this riveting family drama with a dark mystery at its core.

©2015 Lisa Jewell (P)2018 Dreamscape Media, LLC

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    125
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not a mystery

This is a heart-warming novel. Somehow I bought it thinking it was a mystery. For those who like to read about the ups and downs of parenting, love and relationships it is fine

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Gretchen
  • Salinas, CA, United States
  • 07-05-18

The Third Wife

I loved the character development as always with Lisa Jewell's books. This is the story of a family who survives divorce and remarriage more than once and presents as well blended, but of course it's not without a cost. The writing was excellent but the book left me with a feeling of melancholy.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Betsy Anne
  • New Salem, Massachusetts, US
  • 10-12-18

Another blockbuster audio book for Lisa Jewell<br />

"The Third Wife" is a look at how life ought to be. it's both impossibly real, in its dialogue, actions and reactions, and really impossible, in its incredibly hopeful ending. I loved it. I am a Lisa Jewell fan. l also loved Joe Jameson's reading. He really gives Helen Duff a run for the money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Tedious at best

I started this book, with high hopes, however the further I got into it, the more I disliked it. I honestly finished it just to see how the story ends. The story dragged, and this was a very tedious listen. To make matters worse, it was all very anticlimactic at the end. I felt a little cheated.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another relevant and thought provoking book

I started this book and didn’t immediately get into it, I even listened to another before going back to it. It got better and better though and I thought the narrator did an awesome job narrating so many different characters and I would definitely listen to more read by him.

I really like Lisa Jewell’s books, it’s the second novel by here I’ve listened to and they were both very different but both similar in showing how disfunctional families can be and very current with mental health and how people feel.

I am glad she has more books because I will be choosing my next book for my wish list.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love it...everything about it!

This is s great modern age book with suspense that grips the families ties and untangles at the perfect time! Great Male Narrative as well!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story of love, loss and forgiveness

Great story of love, loss and forgiveness.
Good mystery and good portrayal of personalities.

Read it you’ll love it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Predictable

The “twist” in the plot was too easy to see coming. It made the story boring. The book went on and on way longer than it should’ve.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

ok, not the best book by author.

Too slow. But heartwarming. Still love Lisa Jewell. Going back to library to look again for new.book by this author.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • kristen
  • DILLSBURG, PA, United States
  • 08-13-18

eh....<br />at no point did I feel engaged in the story

there was nothing climactic about this story it seemed to drag on and it was one of the more difficult books for me to keep interested in