Your audiobook is waiting…

The Girl Who Lied

The 2016 Best-Selling Psychological Drama
Narrated by: Amy De Bhrún
Length: 10 hrs and 39 mins
4 out of 5 stars (362 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart
This Story Is Flirty

Publisher's Summary

The truth hurts....

Erin and Roisin were friends until a fatal accident ruined both their lives. Now Roisin has discovered a secret - one Erin has kept for over a decade - and she's determined to make Erin pay for her lies.

Erin wants nothing to do with Roisin. She has a new life in London and no intention of going back home. Yet when her father is mysteriously and critically injured, Erin has no choice but to return and face Roisin - and her past. Erin knows if the secret of what she gave up got out, the consequences could be devastating.

When Roisin suddenly disappears, suspicion soon lands on Erin. She would do anything to protect her family, but just how far is she willing to go when time is running out?

A must-listen for fans of CL Taylor and BA Paris.

©2016 HarperCollins Publishers (P)2016 Sue Fortin

Critic Reviews

"Slowly but inexorably draws you in until you can hardly wait to discover the fate of the characters...you'll love Sue Fortin." (Sue Moorcroft)
"A twisty romantic page-turner that will keep you guessing." (Julie Cohen)
"Sue Fortin's gripping books always keep me turning the pages! Highly recommended for fans of grit-lit and suspense!" (Mandy Baggot)
"The suspense, mystery and secrets to be revealed kept me turning the pages...nerve wracking and gripping." ( Rachel's Random Reads)
"Kept me intrigued right up until the end...a highly enjoyable read, filled with secrets." ( By the Letter Book Reviews)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    145
  • 4 Stars
    114
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    16

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    173
  • 4 Stars
    104
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    13

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    126
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    65
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    17

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Overall Mediocre, Slow Moving

I don't think I would describe this book as 'psychological thriller', or even 'suspense'. Instead, it's a run of the mill mystery lacking in those key elements of suspense and twists. The main character is fairly benign, but starts to impress more later in the book. The problem is, you know right from the beginning who the villain is, so there's little surprise in the plot development. There wasn't enough to become invested in. The main character's developing romance with a hometown boy was clumsy and uninteresting. Her ambivalence left me lukewarm. In the end, a little less talk and a little more action would have improved "The Girl Who Lied." Some readers will probably like the atmosphere of the small Ireland town, which was one of the better aspects of the story, and the narration was good. however, overall, I wouldn't really recommend it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

The story started out well but the plot became predictable. The way adoption and abortion were so negatively depicted was not appealing to me and I found the ending majorly disappointing. I wasn't looking for a literary masterpiece but heavy moral topics along with weak plot line and characters did not mesh well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So enjoyable

Loved this one. I rarely review books, I can't find the right words. The Girl Who Lied was charming. I'm a total sucker for the Irish accent, I've been to the town in Co Cork that is the setting for the story. I felt the characters and their lives and struggles in a way I rarely do. I enjoyed the mystery, the romance and the atmosphere. It's a light read, I suppose, by most people's standard. I, however, have listened to it twice in 2 days and enjoyed it second only to my favorite audiobook of all time, Can You Keep a Secret. I'm anxious to see if there are more books by this author available.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not a psychological thriller

This book was not a psychological thriller, just a really well written story.
Narrator was excellent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I liked the end.... only.

This book certainly didn't seem suspenseful, and shouldn't have been classified as a psychological thriller. it all gets tied up nicely in the end... I don't feel like this is any sort of a spoiler since there wasn't anything to spoil. This book was just uninteresting to me for more than the first half, and for that reason I can't recommend it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

meh

nothing against the author or narrator I just couldn't get into it at all. sorry

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Much ado about nothing!

The only mystery is why I kept listening. Sucky, dull and overly dramatic for the content.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ET
  • 07-21-19

Pretty Good

Not an incredible book, but one worth listening to. Good easy listen and or read.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable

Good narration, easy to listen to.
I was hoping for some surprises in the plot, but found none.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

A wonderful performance and story filled with emotion and suspense. Did not want the story to end. Loved it!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Crazymazy
  • Crazymazy
  • 03-02-18

This book needs to be reclassified

there is no way this is a psychological thriller - itis more of a dramatic romance. Look this was not terrible but not what was expected. I found the basic story line reasonable. I connected with the central characters but found the accents switch from 1st to 3rd person confusing and to add to it the accents and tones for the characters were sometimes hard to distinguish. There was a couple of well hidden twists but nothing particularly earth shattering. Overall NOT TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon
  • Simon
  • 11-18-16

Something About a Girl

Billed as more a drama than an out and out thriller this is an engaging read from Sue Fortin. Those seeking action and thrills and spills aren't going to find them here as it is a more thoughtful exploration of relationships and the damage that can be done by secrets no matter how well hidden or how far in the past they may be. It is part romantic and part melodrama and has a few twists up its sleeve.

The narration adds to the entertainment with Amy De Bhrún's Irish accent a pleasure to listen to. It's not perfect though, voices were dropped occasionally and the English characters came over a little as caricatures though the author is also partly to blame here.

My abiding impression is that I enjoyed a pleasurable listen without ever being excited by the story. The time passed quickly, though for my personal tastes the ending came over just a little bit saccharin-laden. It's really more of a romantic / family drama than a genuine thriller or even "Psychological Drama" so if that's your scene this is likely a decent choice.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clarence
  • Clarence
  • 07-14-17

I'm a sucker for an accent

Beautiful lilt of the narrator gently draws you in.

Not a fast paced drama but a complex family drama that slowly draws you in more and more. If it had a different narrator I don't think I'd be as fond as it was slightly too slow paced for me. But the Irish lilt got me (reminds me of family members long past).

I'd stick this in the Mum / chick lit zone rather than psychological drama. Maybe it's just too tame for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BrianJ
  • BrianJ
  • 07-12-17

Crackin read

Loved the storyline, the audio commentary and the want Sue builds in the characters. An excellent read

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nyssa B
  • Nyssa B
  • 02-16-17

I loved this book

this book was really good. I really enjoyed the narrator especially the Irish accent. it was such a breath of fresh air and it gave me such an insight to life in Ireland. the narrator was amazing. the story was well written and delivered. I will definitely be looking out for both the author and narrator again.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicole Tucker
  • Nicole Tucker
  • 03-19-18

I couldn't put this book down.

Wow, what an amazing story. I love, love, loved it.
Amy's narration of this story made me feel like I was in Ireland. She really helped create the scene in one's mind and wish we were there. I enjoyed listening to Jo and Kerry's banter and it made me laugh many times. I was excited to hear about Erin and Kerry and how their relationship blossomed.
This story highlighted what family is all about and the lengths family will go to, to protect eachother.
I'm sad the book is finished. It was a fantastic journey through the life of a family's secret (many secrets) and the consequences that lead them to unravel.
Thank you Sue for a fabulous story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for andrea croft
  • andrea croft
  • 02-05-18

<br />

loved this story, compelling in every twist and turn, we'll narrated and believable. highly recommend