Regular price: $31.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut - an engrossing thriller full of shocking twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense.

Some secrets never die. They're just locked away.

Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down. Every day is treading water, every night is drowning.

Until Alex discovers Amy Stevenson. Amy Stevenson, who was just another girl from a nearby town until the day she was found unconscious after a merciless assault. Amy Stevenson, who has been in a coma for 15 years, forgotten by the world. Amy Stevenson, who, unbeknownst to her doctors, remains locked inside her body, conscious but paralyzed, reliving the past.

Soon Alex's routine includes visiting hours at the hospital, then interviews with the original suspects in the attack. But what starts as a reporter's story becomes a personal obsession. How do you solve a crime when the only witness lived but cannot tell the tale? Unable to tear herself away from her attempt to uncover the unspeakable truth, Alex realizes she's not just chasing a story - she's seeking salvation.

Shifting from present to past and back again, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer until its heart-stopping conclusion. The result is an utterly immersive, unforgettable debut.

©2016 Holly Seddon (P)2016 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"A razor-sharp, fast-paced plot and wonderfully complex characters.... Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense." (New York Times best-selling author Tess Gerritsen)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1,520
  • 4 Stars
    920
  • 3 Stars
    228
  • 2 Stars
    57
  • 1 Stars
    14

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1,735
  • 4 Stars
    628
  • 3 Stars
    109
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    8

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1,334
  • 4 Stars
    815
  • 3 Stars
    268
  • 2 Stars
    58
  • 1 Stars
    24
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Couldn't stop listening

Fabulous story. Wonderful writing and use of words to tell this story. Great performances! Recommend it to all readers.

35 of 35 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I lost sleep!

This book grabbed and held on. The characters voices, as written by Seddon were amazing. The narration held true to the amazing. the flawed characters made the book more real. it has characters you want to love and those you hate and love hating. the phrase 'gripping tale' is overused, but this story really did grip. Definitely worth a credit. or more.

33 of 34 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not exactly as suspenseful as I had expected.

I found the story hard to follow for the first half of the book and the second half didn't make up for it. I dislike it when an author pulls a villian out of a hat with no foreshadowing or without a dribble of story until bam! the person is guilty. it felt like it began and ended on a pretty blah note. The narrator did a good job. it wasn't a bad book and it wasn't a good book.

43 of 47 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • MareG
  • Kilmarnock, UK
  • 03-14-16

Loved this book

I absolutely loved this book. I listened to it over two days while stuck in bed with a migraine. The narrators were believable without sounding theatrical and the story itself was so well written, gripping and emotional. I enjoyed the references to the teenagers in the 90's given I was one of them.
I shed tears at the end. Such a brilliant book

13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Very suspenseful, but depressing

A very suspenseful story, although the ending was a bit dragged out. The characters are all rather sad, desparate people, especially Alex, a self-distructive alcoholic. Narration was very good.

19 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good first effort

Where does Try Not to Breathe rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Somewhere in the middle

Would you recommend Try Not to Breathe to your friends? Why or why not?

Yes, with the caveats that:<br/>1. I figured out who the perpetrator was around the middle of the book, and <br/>2. the author writes far too many cliffhanger chapter endings, which is a good technique for suspense used sparingly, but towards the end, it was every single chapter, which got annoying.

What does Elizabeth Knowelden and Katharine McEwan bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

They did a fine job, but I would have enjoyed this just as much if I had read it on paper.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Not really.

Any additional comments?

Good beach read.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Trader was excellent!

This is one I couldn't put down. Loved it start to finish.

Intriguing plot with twists you don't expect!

21 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

What a great read! Hopeful, suspenseful.

This author writes wonderfully. Never wanted to put it down. She gives her characters real life tragedies and shows us how they get through, even grow. it was a little hard to keep them all straight this time because there are so many but they are also defined by the way they relate to one another. Great debut!

21 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Entertaining and great first novel!

I could not stop listening to this book once I started it. It was such an original story and the narrator brought it to life. It was a good mystery until the end and kept you guessing throughout the book. What an exceptional debut novel.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Page Turner

What did you love best about Try Not to Breathe?

The storyline was compelling and the flawed characters were realistic. As well, the author skips from different viewpoints and time periods very effectively. I always found it easy to follow.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

I was on the edge of my seat from the very beginning but was disappointed with the ending (however this did not 'ruin' the book for me). I saw it coming and was hoping the author didn't go that route. I do really like that things were not magically fixed for the various characters at the end.

Have you listened to any of Elizabeth Knowelden and Katharine McEwan ’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No but their performances were some of the best I have heard. The narration for Amy really made me feel her innocence, confusion and desperation. The narration for Alex was also a perfect fit. Outstanding.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

No, but I did find the two female leads to be characters I really felt for and was rooting for.

Any additional comments?

Definitely a good solid psychological suspense that I listened to in 2 days because the suspense element was so very strong. The 'who did it' could have been much better.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful