• Into Darkness

  • Shannon Ames, Book 1
  • By: T.J. Brearton
  • Narrated by: Bailey Carr
  • Length: 8 hrs and 57 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (179 ratings)

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $34.99

Buy for $34.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

They have been judged. The verdict - guilty. The sentence - death.

Two beautiful young women are found strangled, their bodies meticulously washed and groomed. The only thing they have in common: Both worked as reporters for local TV stations. 

A coincidence? Or something more sinister? 

Rookie Special Agent Shannon Ames is assigned to the case and soon impresses with her brilliant intuition and startling ability to think outside the box. But as Shannon takes a more prominent role in the investigation, she finds herself drawn into a deadly dance with a master of deception, a serial killer whose victims all work in media - journalists, influencers, reporters. 

Shannon’s superiors are convinced it’s part of some grand attack on the free press, but she has a hunch these killings are much more targeted. And she follows that hunch straight into the heart of darkness....

Into Darkness is a gripping mystery thriller that will keep you up all night as it races toward its shocking conclusion. Perfect for fans of David Baldacci, Robert Dugoni, and Lisa Regan.

©2021 T.J. Brearton (P)2021 Podium Audio

More from the same

What listeners say about Into Darkness

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Full of suspense!

Couldn’t put it down, a great read for those who like plot twists and the hunt for a mysterious killer.
Great read!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Modern Spin on Disinformation

In today's day and age with so much distrust for news sources and social media this book takes it to the next level

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Strong story line, Quickly captures interest.

From my perspective, the plot and character developments are the foundational 'nuts and bolts of any book, and
I thought T.J. Brearton did an excellent job with 'Into Darkness.' The author accomplished what all books of this genre are supposed to offer their readers- entertainment, and this book more than satisfies that ambition. It held my interest, and I will enjoy discovering more books by this author.

Poincianablaze

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

it was ok

dragged on a bit. the story overall was good but it was slow getting there.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exhilarating

Exhilarating, great action cop investigation, a cold serial killer on the loose. The story is raw, violent and thorough. Shannon, the main FBI Investigator is smart, brave and sharp despite being on training. I definitely recommend it .

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Started off great

Had potential. But the middle seemed to drag out unnecessarily long. Could have been a shorter book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining

Pretty good detective story. This book was included for Audible members so I took a chance. I enjoyed it! The only thing bothersome was the narrator's male voices. Not great and made it hard to differentiate the characters. It's still worth a listen though.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pulls you in right away!

Fast paced and intriguing, you'll be listening hour by hour, waiting to see who is behind the insidious plot. This book definitely has some surprises along the way. The characters are well developed, making you feel connected. When the book is over, you'll want more of them. I'm looking forward to the next book in the serious.
The narrator has a lovely reading voice, but her male character voices are much too forced. Not bad overall though.