Joy Ellis

Joy Ellis

I was born in Kent, England but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the Sixties and Seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early Eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss! And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, and our three second generation Springer spaniels. My partner is a highly decorated retired police officer, and my harshest critic when it comes to police and judicial procedure. I have set my crime thrillers here in the misty fens because I sincerely love the remoteness and airy beauty of the marshlands. This area is steeped in superstitions and lends itself so well to murder! Now I am lucky enough to be one of the amazing Joffe Books team of authors, and am really enjoying being able to spend time doing what I love... writing! The Nikki Galena Series (The Fen Series) Book 1: Crime on the Fens Book 2: Shadow over the Fens Book 3: Hunted on the Fens Book 4: Killer on the Fens Book 5: Stalker on the Fens Book 6: Captive on the Fens Book 7: Buried on the Fens Book 8: Thieves on the Fens Book 9: Fire on the Fens Book 10: Darkness on the Fens Book 11: Hidden on the Fens Detective Nikki Galena Books 1-3 Boxset Detective Nikki Galena Books 4-6 Boxset Detective Nikki Galena Books 7-9 Boxset The Complete Detective Nikki Galena Mystery Series Boxset DI Jackman and DS Marie Evans Series Book 1: The Murderer's Son Book 2: Their Lost Daughters Book 3: The Fourth Friend Book 4: The Guilty Ones Book 5: The Stolen Boys Book 6: The Patient Man Guide Star. A stand alone novel about love, loss and not giving up. Beware the Past. Detective Matt Ballard Book 1 Intended to be a stand alone thriller, still set in the Fens, but with different characters and a very different feel. Five Bloody Hearts. Matt Ballard Book 2 By popular demand, this is the sequel to Beware the Past, Detective with the same protagonist, DCI Matt Ballard. The Dying Light. Detective Matt Ballard Book 3 He's now retired, but Matt and Liz are still tackling difficult cases as private detectives. All these books are available on Kindle and as paperbacks, and almost all of my titles are also available as audio books.

Read more Read less

Featured Article: 20 Best Mystery Audiobooks to Entertain Your Inner Sleuth

Looking for the perfect audiobook to keep you engrossed and engaged during your next long drive, weekend chores, or a long work day? Look no further than this list of puzzling, mind-bending mysteries that will have you holding on to every word as the narrator pulls you in on the search for clues. We’ve narrowed this wide-spanning genre down to 20 of the best mystery audiobooks we’ve heard so you can get to listening and searching for answers.

Best Sellers

Looking for more? Browse other popular mystery & thriller authors.

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.