Regular price: $21.58

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A whirlwind romance. A perfect marriage. Hannah Reilly has seized her chance at happiness. Until the day her husband fails to come home....

The more questions Hannah asks, the fewer answers she finds. But are the secrets that Mark has been keeping designed to protect him or protect her? And can you ever really know what happened before you met?

©2014 Lucie Whitehouse (P)2014 W F Howes Ltd

Critic Reviews

‘A fiendishly spun tissue of lies and charm eventually gives way to a bloody showdown’ INDEPENDENT
‘A creepily effective thriller, Whitehouse… marshals her creations to an enjoyably nail-biting, spine-tingling denouement’ OBSERVER

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • katy
  • 09-29-14

Well Worth Reading

If you could sum up Before We Met in three words, what would they be?

Well worth reading

What other book might you compare Before We Met to, and why?

I would compare this book to Before I Go To Sleep, which was also recommended by the ITV Crime Thriller Awards

What about Polly Whitehouse’s performance did you like?

Polly reads well, however I personally found some of the pauses too long, otherwise I would have given a five star.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

How well can you ever know people?

Any additional comments?

I would have given the book a five star rating if the beginning was written at a faster pace. For me the book was slow starting but it turned into a great plot

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jeeds
  • 12-04-14

A Dark, Twisty Marriage Thriller

'Before We Met' is a surprisingly gripping story. It starts off relatively light and unassuming, however like a loose thread on a sweater, one little tug and everything starts unravelling.
I liked the main character, Hannah, and found her quite believable and I bought into the majority of her actions and choices. However, towards the end of the novel it did have to suspend my belief in order to fully commit to the story.
There's not much I can say plot wise as I am bound to reveal a spoiler. Yet I will say it is an addictive story (I listened to it over three days, going back to the story when ever I had a free moment), the pace is well judged and I loved the narration.
Fans of Louise Douglas, Julia Crouch, Claire Seeber and Hannah Richell will enjoy this novel.
I have to say that it's not as twisted or edgy as 'Gone Girl' which is the Queen of the new "Marriage Thriller" genre, but it's still a great listen and I would definitely consider other titles by this author.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • g
  • 01-25-18

Good storyline - immersive but not intense

Easy to dip in and out of but still follow. I listen to this type of book when I am traveling short journeys as I can't listen for long but this was great as it was easy to follow

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Molly
  • 12-10-17

Offensive, unbelievable, shoddy, derivative

Not even silly enough to be escapist amusement, just poor poor writing. Don't waste your money or time.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Catherine
  • 04-16-16

Quite a gripping story

If you could sum up Before We Met in three words, what would they be?

It was quite an intriguing book, but I kind of guessed about half way through what the twist at the end was going to be so it didn't really come as a surprise. There was really too much time spent on description. I do like some description but there was often an overload. At one point I think it took about 10 minutes to describe someones house, what they were wearing, what the baby had on, what was being cooked etc.... Also a vast overuse of the exclamation 'WHAT??!!' it got really irritating!! Overall though it was a good read and I would recommend it.

What about Polly Whitehouse’s performance did you like?

She was a good narrator but the 'strong Liverpool accent' of the policeman???? I think the Liverpudlian policeman must have lived most of his life in Birmingham!! The narrator also mispronounced some words like plaid, and Formica (she pronounced them 'played' and 'formeeka'!) There were a couple of other sentences where she seemed to put the 'comma' in the wrong place - unforgivable for a professional narrator!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs A
  • 07-21-15

Excellent enjoyed every minute

I really enjoyed this book it kept me on the edge off my seat, I also enjoy her other book the bed I made, which was quite nail bitting stuff worth my a credit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Claire Small
  • 07-05-15

Gripping!

Loved this audio book. Got me through hours of running - difficult to control my heart rate towards the end though as real edge of your seat stuff.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • helen
  • 05-27-15

Awful narration

The story was quite good with a few twists throughout but I really struggled with the narrators voice. I was ready to give up a few times but I'm too tight to waste the credit!! Sorry if you're reading this Polly...

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Miss
  • 03-24-15

Quite gripping but a slightly strange story..

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

It is good at times. I liked the disappearance of the husband - loved that bit. It has some quite laboured descriptions in it though.....'the hotel looked as if there'd been a tornado in Miami, swept up everything and deposited it in the lobby? something like that....

What did you like best about this story?

The missing husband part at the beginning

Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Polly Whitehouse?

Someone who knows what a 'stong Liverpudlian accent' sounds like!!! 'Hers was Brummie... Oh please! Her pronunciation was poor at times - she prounounced 'plaid' as 'played'...

Could you see Before We Met being made into a movie or a TV series? Who would the stars be?

Yes definitely. Mark could be played by Clive Owen. And Nick ....hmmm....someone who's a bit of a villain...leave that with me...!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • S. Christie
  • 03-05-15

Slow to start but good gripping plot

What did you like most about Before We Met?

Sense of mystery and the unknown. Great characters, strong storyline.

What did you like best about this story?

The characters.

Have you listened to any of Polly Whitehouse’s other performances? How does this one compare?

First book I have listened to.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Not particularly.

Any additional comments?

If you are struggling with the story, do persevere. It gets better. The story is a page turner, and I couldn't wait to find out what was behind all if the mysteries in Mark and Hannah's story. A good domestic thriller, not great but good nonetheless.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Mari
  • 10-23-14

Predictable But Enjoyable Light Read

Nothing new in this story but it was quite enjoyable. A light read between more 'meaty' reads. The plot was predictable but it was well told and I enjoyed the narration.

I was able to purchase this book for $6.62 via the Amazon.Com.Au site where I bought the Kindle version for $3.63 then was able to buy the Audible version for $2.99. The 'Whispersync for Voice' department in Amazon.com.au have some great bargains which is fantastic if, like me, you tend to read more than one book per month.