The Night Raven

Crow Investigations, Book 1
Narrated by: Kate Rawson
Series: The Crow Investigations, Book 1
Length: 6 hrs and 50 mins
4 out of 5 stars (49 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

The Night Raven is the first book in Crow Investigations, an exciting new paranormal mystery series from best-selling author of magical fiction, Sarah Painter. 

Lydia has always known she has no power, especially next to her infamous and more-than-slightly dodgy family. Which is why she carved her own life as a private investigator far away from London. When a professional snafu forces her home, the head of the family calls in a favour, and Lydia finds herself investigating the disappearance of her cousin, Maddie. 

Soon, Lydia is neck-deep in problems: her new flatmate is a homicidal ghost, the intriguing, but forbidden, DCI Fleet is acting in a distinctly unprofessional manner, and tensions between the old magical families are rising. For 75 years, a truce between the four families has held strong, but could the disappearance of Maddie Crow be the thing to break it?

©2019 Sarah Painter (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic Reviews

“My favourite new urban fantasy series, clever and twisty and deliciously magical, with a shivery sense of wonder that feels utterly grounded in its London setting. Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Genevieve Cogman or Robert Galbraith!” (Stephanie Burgis, author of Masks and Shadows)

What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ask yourself

Our heroine talks a tough game but doesn't stand up for herself. Why doesn't she tell her uncle that she must have a secure door with a security system and surveillance right off the bat ? Because it would eliminate half the book.

So consider if you want to spend hours with dysfunctional family, dysfunctional exes and dysfunctional enemies? If you think that's fun read on.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Great start, uh finish

So the start of this book felt very cool. The narrator did a great job, adding depth to the story. The beginning had grit. The beginning felt like it could anywhere. The beginning was about the old good part of this book.

In hindsight, I think the whole book was a lead in to the tryst with the copper...because it just ends shortly after. With all the setup and background I was expecting some cool revelation....and all I got was eh.

Is it worth a credit...well the beginning is, the ending isn't.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good and entertaining time

Good fun. The characterizations are accurate.
Entertaining plot. Made me curious where the author would take it in future volumes.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Riven
  • Riven
  • 09-15-19

Interesting story

Loved it, good story. The narration was soothing.,this was my first audible and it has me hooked

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for doughnut
  • doughnut
  • 06-16-20

Enjoyable listen

Really enjoyed this book, so much so that I have just bought the next 2 in the series.
I get where others are coming from with comments on the dialogue being young but the main character is early 20s so I think it fits perfectly with her character.
There is a time and a place for overly wordy texts and these simple but enjoyable adventure books is not the place. I think the author has it right and it adds to the enjoyment of listening to the story.
Listen to this book if you enjoy walking away from the rigors of real life, love the idea of going on adventures with characters you will come to care about and enjoy.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-04-20

great read

Good story, well read. Engaging and entertaining. Can't wait for the next one in the series

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SamManc
  • SamManc
  • 01-20-20

A promising start

I wasn’t blown away by this, the mystery element to it wasn’t all that gripping. However I’ve given it a good rating because the characterisation and world building makes for an interesting premise and I think following books (with more dramatic or intricate mysteries) will be great.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J MILES
  • J MILES
  • 06-24-20

Very Enjoyable

A little bit of mystery and intrigue, a little bit of comedy, and some excellently written hot chemistry between Lydia and the DCI Fleet. A great book with a bit of everything and a fabulous narrator to boot! Just off to buy the next two in the series...

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CherryPie62
  • CherryPie62
  • 06-11-20

Dreary & Formulaic

Another pointless trope. Supposed to be magical and other-worldly but the 'powers', what they were, bore no relevance to the story.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kenners
  • Kenners
  • 06-06-20

No intrigue for me

Really struggled to finish this, no where near as intriguing as the premise suggests unfortunately. Felt like a set up for another story where something interesting might actually happen?

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Leith
  • Leith
  • 09-13-19

Why matching a narrator to a story is so crucial

I quite enjoyed this book - though it's not on a par with something like the Dresden Files it was decently well written. But I think the choice of narrator was unfortunate and detracts from the listening experience..
This narrator is good at conveying emotion, but her overall style put me in mind of nothing so much as a Playschool presenter. The lead character is, I think, meant to be a modem female version of the hard-boiled (or perhaps soft-boiled) detective type, but this does not match up at all with the narrator's style, which seems more suited to lightweight romantic novels. I can tolerate it, but it's far from ideal and will make me hesitate about buying the next in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for fiona kew
  • fiona kew
  • 08-29-19

Found the story to be a bit of a non event .

The story didn't really go anywhere felt like an extended introduction to the characters and the plot got a bit lost. The listening experience was saved by the great narration.

1 person found this helpful