Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.00

Buy for $24.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The latest heart-racing psychological thriller from the author of the best-selling The Good Mother. Perfect for fans of Lucy Clarke, Paula Hawkins and Lisa Jewell.

Claire Carmichael leads a charmed life. She has two beautiful sons, Jamie and Joshua, and a handsome and successful husband who loves her. Even when she was in school, Claire had it all. She was clever, likeable, and after passing the initiation tests, she was welcomed into the society of popular girls - the Queen Bees. So when a scandal threatened to ruin Claire's reputation, the Queen Bees closed rank to protect her, no matter who else got hurt. Claire may have moved on from her school days, but for one person who she hurt irreparably, those memories are as fresh as blood. And all it takes to reap their revenge, is one perfect lie.

©2019 Karen Osman (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Perfect Lie

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    151
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ok but predictable

I was somewhat entertained by the story, there were a few parts where I lost interest as I found it very predictable. It is one of those books where you go on because you want to see how the author will make events unfold — to see if perhaps any unique twists will tossed in. The character development could’ve been stronger, especially the relationship between the main character and her husband so all of the details and certain parts of the book could’ve made more sense and be more impactful. Essentially, this book is about a woman called Claire who is a 43-year-old mother with a 5-year-old son, Jaime, and another son, Joshua, who is almost 17-years-old and she has been with her husband since high school. The plot goes back and forth from present day to her high school years when she joined a popular group of girls that called themselves the “Queen Bees” which involved being selected/nominated and inducted into the circle. Part of the induction required the nominee to perform a task/dare that is randomly selected i.e. walk into the teacher lounge and scream “FIRE” or go on a date with a specific person and kiss them etc. Present day, Claire is a solicitor/lawyer partner in a practice that she started with her best friend but took several years off to raise her youngest son. Once Jaime was old enough to start school, Claire goes back to work full-time and then things seemingly start to go downhill in her home life. Things that happened during her “Queen Bee” days slowly start to come into play. Traits and descriptions of main characters had a very weak link between their past and present so as I briefly mentioned, the development of their personalities didn’t propel the plot enough for me. Overall, I would not recommend this book but if it is already in your cart and you are right about to get it, I wouldn’t stop you per se, just so you can make your own assessment.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What goes around comes around eventually

You find you want feel sorry for female main chacter Claire at 1st glance and then you think about Paul and how one incident of boyhood growing pains turn into a life of hell for him and one of privileged for Claire & Chris and you come to your sence and say "What the hell what is good for the Gander is also good for the goose..... D.A Simms official review

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just a great plot!

I loved the intrigue of this plot! I could not put the book down. Fast paced and interesting all through. Kind of an abrupt end!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

No Surprises, Labored Storytelling, Tedious

The big reveal was lost on me because it was pretty obvious about halfway through the book what was going to unfold and why. The lead characters are all self indulgent and clueless. The only redeeming quality was the very consistently good narration by Imogen Church. That is all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

The only thing that makes me upset is that one, I wanted a better outcome for the wronged person in the story and two that there isn't another book to this story. It was good, juicy even. started off slow making me think that it's boring but then once it gets going you don't want it to end. I need a sequel. loved how the author ended it, clever.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book! Excellent Narrator!

I can’t believe I waited this long to listen to something performed by Imogen Church. She is the best narrator I have ever heard, and I have some favorites. Imogen reading with an awesome storyline like that could be a 6 star rating. The storyline is really good and I usually like some of it being told in past tense. The twist is really horrible (for the characters) but awesome for us. I don’t know how anyone could regret this purchase! I look forward to reading other books by this author and listening to more read by Imogen Church.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!

This was a great "read"! I did predict certain portions, but still definitely worth it. Didn't want to stop listening. Imogen Church is an amazing narrator, hands down one of the best.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't wait to listen but also didn't want it to

Couldn't wait to listen every day but also didn't want it to end. Loved the story and narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Even better than “The Home.”

An intricately layered domestic drama, with complex characters, and narrated by Imogen Church; what more could you ask for? I would not call it a psychological thriller, though it is packed with tension and dark suspense.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Teenage Sex no thx

I should have read reviews. This is mostly a story of very young high school hormonal kids and sex and allegations of rape. I listen to everything Imogen Church reads but if it had been another narrator I would have returned the book. Not interested in hearing about a sixteen year old hard on. Less teen sex details and the premise of the story would have been ok.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M
  • M
  • 10-05-19

NARRATION

Narration excellent for radio, for earphones too intense and harsh. Voices were irritating and the high pitched "Hi's" screeched by female characters blasted the eardrums. I would have returned this audiobook but for this gripping story of revenge.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for terry
  • terry
  • 11-10-19

My favorite narrator!

Great story, however Imogen Church makes it fantastic to listen to. I would highly recommend it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann J
  • Ann J
  • 01-27-20

Elaborate plot

Present day and past tense intertwine to develop the story of Claire as a lawyer and mother, and Claire as a teenager, all coming together in the final pages.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Blb
  • Blb
  • 01-03-20

Started great....

A great performance by Imogen Church can't save this story. It starts well, very intriguing...but by the end, I think it got convoluted and cliché. The idea of the 2 main characters and their teenage romance is great, but as the story continues.... it lacks sense and credibility. The characters drift too far off course and the background support aren't very well developed. When the bad thing happens, I can't believe that not one person stood up for the "victim". I finished this with weariness.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ery71
  • Ery71
  • 12-03-19

Predictable and irritating

The story was predictable and pretty boring and the narrator was unusually very irritating. I like Imogen Church usually but I stopped listening a few times because her narration was exaggerated and annoying. Tempted to skip to the end as most of the story was unnecessary

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda B
  • Amanda B
  • 12-02-19

Loved it

I loved listening to this book. Usually an audible will last me 2 weeks but this lasted only 4 days as I couldn't stop listening. Well written and great narrator.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gerard
  • Gerard
  • 10-12-19

Stretches credibility a little too far ... and questionable judgement in the choice of main theme?

At time annoying in its meandering teenage diary entries. Lots of stock characters acting out predictable parts. A bit dull overall. More worrying...... In the current contexts of debate around the effectiveness of the legal system, I’m left wondering at the authors decisions to present two examples of women lying about rape allegations with quite different motivations.

1 person found this helpful