The Friend Zone

Narrated by: Teddy Hamilton, Erin Mallon
Length: 9 hrs and 32 mins
Categories: Romance, Contemporary
4.5 out of 5 stars (1,204 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fall in love with this "deliciously hot, sweet" (L. J. Shen, USA Today best-selling author) romantic comedy perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Helen Hoang.

Kristen Petersen doesn't do drama, will fight to the death for her friends, and has no room in her life for guys who just don't get her. She's also keeping a big secret: facing a medically necessary procedure that will make it impossible for her to have children.

Planning her best friend's wedding is bittersweet for Kristen - especially when she meets the best man, Josh Copeland. He's funny, sexy, never offended by her mile-wide streak of sarcasm, and always one chicken enchilada ahead of her hangry. Even her dog, Stuntman Mike, adores him. The only catch: Josh wants a big family someday. Kristen knows he'd be better off with someone else, but as their attraction grows, it's harder and harder to keep him at arm's length.

The Friend Zone will have you laughing one moment and grabbing for tissues the next as it tackles the realities of infertility and loss with wit, heart, and a lot of sass.

©2019 Abby Jimenez (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"The Friend Zone is a deliciously hot, sweet debut full of banter I couldn't get enough of. I loved all the characters, from Kristen and Josh, to the supporting cast, and even Stuntman Mike. This book is an absolute treat." (L. J. Shen, USA Today best-selling author)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    823
  • 4 Stars
    249
  • 3 Stars
    85
  • 2 Stars
    30
  • 1 Stars
    17

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    762
  • 4 Stars
    244
  • 3 Stars
    88
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    19

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    753
  • 4 Stars
    245
  • 3 Stars
    80
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    22

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Teddy and Erin

What an awesome story, so full of happiness and heartache. I really enjoyed the narration of course, it was Teddy Hamilton and Erin Mallon. I was surprised how fast this story flowed, I didn't cry but, I laughed a lot. There were definitely a few surprises thrown into the mix, it was a deep and touching audiobook. Well worth the Credit or the money to buy it.... I'll for sure go back to this story for relistening...⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t stop listening

It was so easy to read and connect with these characters. Kristen’s struggles aren’t just about infertility, but about accepting true love into her life and believing that she deserves it. I laughed, and cried, and laughed more. I yelled at them and cried with them. My first thought when I finished the book was I want more, when does the next one get released?

The only thing I didn’t enjoy about the experience of listening to this book was Erin Mallon’s over-emphasis of the end of the word at the end of each sentence.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Story

I liked everything about this book except the woman who read the part of Kristin. I have returned other audiobooks that she has narrated because of her voice. It might just be me, but I find her voice to be snarky, sarcastic, condescending, and, at times, whiny. At first I thought she might be narrating in this way because the character’s personality is snarky. I’ve heard enough of her work to now know that it’s just the way her voice sounds. I kept the book because the story was intriguing enough to make me want to keep listening, even though I had to suffer through Kristin’s narration.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love Love Love

I loved this book so much! So very heart breaking but so real and just everything! I love Teddy and Erin together, they make every story come to life and they capture the character so well its amazing. This book will deliver on every single feel and you wont be disappointed,

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a great first audiobook

I really really liked this book. I rarely listen to new authors and I’m so glad I did. Thanks Erin Mallon and Erin and Teddy did a great job narrating. I’m a new fan Abby 😊 thanks for the book

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sweet and funny and heartbreaking

Loved this book and it had me hooked from the first few minutes - from the strong female characters to the humor found around every corner. The dialogue was witty and i found myself laughing aloud. The story kept me guessing and I loved the ending. My only complaint was the female narrator, how she seemed to overemphasize the last syllable of every sentence. I was able to get passed it because I fell in love with these characters and the story so quickly.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terrific book!

This book is absolutely wonderful! It grabs you from the beginning and has a few unexpected turns that keep you interested. It is a great story!
Also, the narration on the audiobook is great - both actors did a fantastic job bringing the story to life.

I will be keeping an eye out for more books from Abby Jimenez!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

Every review I'd read here was five stars, loved it. I had high hopes for this book. The first half was fantastic. I couldn't wait to know what happened next and I stayed up until early morning hours to find out. Later, about 3/4 of the way through, my heart hurt and it never got much better. I figured this had a level of predictability and some things would go a certain way, but it was ultimately disappointing and sad to me. I hate to give three stars or less to anything because I know the authors put their souls into books and I don't like to critique it, but I so wish this book had ended differently. The first half reminded me of The Hating Game, it was so attracting and fun. The second half just made me cry more than I wanted to and almost made me wish I hadn't read it.

Teddy Hamilton was a fantastic narrator. The three stars is for Erin Mallon, whose voice grated on my nerves. She talked with this attitude I didn't connect with and held the ends of words too long. "Chapter __, Kristennnn," every single time. I cared less as the story progressed, but it continuously bothered me. I'll definitely look out for Teddy's voice in the future, though.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I cried and loved hard

I agree with everything about all the previous reviews this book is amazing! The only thing I could say against it is that on many occasions I wanted to smack the female lead for just being overly stubborn! And I am made about what happened towards the end... you know what I’m talking about! That was just so unnecessary

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Annoying female narration

That’s it. Otherwise, perfect. Loved everything else about it. Gonna let some time pass and read paperback. Hoping to have forgotten how female voice sounded so I can enjoy to the fullest.

2 people found this helpful