Regular price: $25.09

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Eugenides, the queen's thief, can steal anything - or so he says. When his boasting lands him in prison and the king's magus invites him on a quest to steal a legendary object, he's in no position to refuse. The magus thinks he has the right tool for the job, but Gen has plans of his own. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

©1996 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"In addition to its charismatic hero, this story possesses one of the most valuable treasures of all - a twinkling jewel of a surprise ending." (Publishers Weekly)
"A literary journey that enriches both its characters and readers before it is over." (Kirkus Reviews)
"A tantalizing, suspenseful, exceptionally clever novel." (The Horn Book)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    126
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A favorite

Wonderful story, wonderful narration. While there is a bit of a slow start, by the end I couldn't wait for the next book. I hope people give it a try, because it is very much worth a credit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

The first of many great stories

This writer is one of the funnest riders to read. This story The Thief is one of the best. This is a good safe clean story for young folks and adults alike. I have waited many years for audible to finally pick up this writer and I am so glad they have. Probably because of the popularity of the book that was just released it has caused publishers to notice how many people are looking forward to stories from Megan Whalen Turner. It is a good fiction story with a fun plot about mythology. I hope you enjoy it as much as our family has. RPR

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great book, wrong narrator

I first listened to The Thief as a book on tape (yes cassette tape, I am that old) preformed by Jeff Woodman when i was in middle school. Mr Woodman gave a much better performance than Mr West has. Mr West has a slow, monotone, deadpan voice during most of the narration that gives the story the feel of an uninterested and uninteresting person recounting a series of events in a business setting, only injecting feeling and emotion into the performance during character dialog. This style of narration glosses over much of the humor, sarcasm, and wit that really brings this book to life and makes Eugenides such an interesting and enjoyable character.

Its not that Mr West is a bad narrator, i am sure that someone who had never encountered Mr Woodman's performance would find this to be an acceptable audio book. i just remember this audio book being so much more than just acceptable.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved the Story & Narrator

It's rare for me to stumble upon a book that I really love, but this is one of them! Action, adventure, mystery all rolled into one story. The characters and plot movement took priority over stereotypical pitfalls that most books fall into. At first I really disliked Magnus' style of voice, but it got his first-impression character across quickly. Then I grew to like him as Gen did as well. Plus, a couple plot twists at the end! Very well done and can stand on it's own feet! I was confused as to the narrator's very aristocratic style for the first-person POV, but I think it all comes together in the end. :) Worth a credit or a purchase!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Outstanding book

This is a simply amazing story, narrated expertly. It is nice to see one of my favorite books from my childhood done so much justice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Still one of my all time favorite stories!

I read this series as a teenager and listened to them recently as an adult, they completely hold up and still remain one of my favorite series. They are perfect for any age and anyone into fantasy, war, intrigue, or romance. Everything is expertly written. I just love how fleshed out the world Megan Whalen Turner created is, the history and little details is outstanding. There are so many little scenes that I keep going back to in my mind thinking about how great they are. Eugenides is just everything, he is witty, brilliant, a true romantic, an idiot, and a big baby. I just love love love him and bet anyone who listens or reads this series will agree.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Slow/annoying at 1st, but it ended strong

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes. It started out kind of rough to me. I found the main character annoying and unlikeable. The story progress as well as the character, and I found myself wanting to know what was next when the book ended.

What did you like best about this story?

The twists towards the end of the book. There were a few.

Have you listened to any of Steve West’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

This is my first one.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The temple of the Gods onward.

Any additional comments?

Worth the listen. I like this genre. Tough it out, and the last part of the books makes it all worth it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Eileen
  • ALEXANDRIA, VA, United States
  • 09-16-17

great performance, dull story

Plot summary: 5 men go on a boring hiking/camping trip. They bicker and tell stories. The only real theft happens "off camera" and isn't revealed until the final 40 minutes. Will not continue with this series.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Narrator is wrong choice

I've read the book many times so it seemed natural to add this to my audible collection. The book itself is fantastic. Unfortunately the narrarator choice isn't great. Him reading other books would be fine but his deep scratchy voice was totally the wrong pick for a whiney adolescent that probably hasn't hit puberty or is just going through it. It didn't fit the character at all and this book is written in first person!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

This book is awesome!!!

Gen's adventure to find the sacred stone called The Hamiathes's gift is truly amazing!!! I liked it very much.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.