Dumplin'

Narrated by: Eileen Stevens
Series: Dumplin', Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 2 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (1,570 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine - self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson - from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine, Dumplin' is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked...until Will takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn't surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant - along with several other unlikely candidates - to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way she'll shock the hell out of Clover City - and maybe herself most of all.

©2015 Julie Murphy (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Dumplin'

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    986
  • 4 Stars
    400
  • 3 Stars
    144
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    17
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    963
  • 4 Stars
    315
  • 3 Stars
    120
  • 2 Stars
    36
  • 1 Stars
    13
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    889
  • 4 Stars
    382
  • 3 Stars
    138
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    15

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable heartwarming story

Weight is not a number on a scale but what you hold inside you. Until you learn how to accept it no one else can either. This book is a coming of age story of a young women who thought she was strong until she faced a true test.

Dumplin is a heartwarming story about beautiful strong characters and what they are made up on the inside. It breaks stereo types and shows you never know someone until you walk in their shoes.

This book is not just about the main character its also about all the people around her how much a positive influence can help someone else. Its a story about a young women who is willing to give up some of her social currency to help another.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I could read it again and again

Dumplin was such a wonderful story about self love and self acceptance. From the first sentence willow dean Dixon had me captivated by her wonderful personality. Being a bigger woman myself, this novel touched my heart and soul. The storyline was perfect, the narration was impeccable and this book had me laughing and crying and jumping for joy.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Story

This is a story that will touch the heart of every girl and woman who have ever struggled with self hate and yearn for self acceptance. I wish that the language was tempered back a bit as there are many places where the "f" word could have been left out and still maintained the effectiveness of the intended tone. It did not, in this case, add to the development of characters nor did it add to the conflict and overall message. Contrary to popular belief, not all young adults use this type of brash vocabulary to cover up their true selves. Still, the storyline was one that many will find comforting as they look in the mirror and see only imperfection.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Feel good book

Wish I had books like these when I was a teenager, this was such a sweet coming of age story. I loved it and the narrator did it justice.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Southern comfort

This pageant story set in Texas is not what you might expect, even if you knew it featured a self-described fat girl. Willow Dean is a complex character, and so are her friends and beaus. The narration sweeps you away with a little bit of the south in it, but not so much as to be overwhelming.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVED IT!

Dumplin' is the kind of audiobook that makes you linger in your car long after your home because you don't want to stop listening to it. I LOVE the characters and the story, it had me both laughing and crying. Amazing author, excited to hear her other book.

Narrator was awesome! Will be looking for more books read by her.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely!

Just lovely! The narrator was perfect for this story. Made me smile, chuckle, and tear up. Wish I knew what happened to Willow Dean afterwards.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE DUMPLIN!!!

After falling in love with the movie, i had to read the book, and it did not disappoint!! Willowdean is a great character...and I love her mom too...I think Willowdean had typical teen doubts...and I am glad she decided to just free herself and be her...letting the chips fall where they may!!! Great story!! I will continue with this author!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You will feel better after listening!

I recommend Dumplin' to anyone looking for a heart felt, feel good book. The book was funny and moving. I greatly enjoyed it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great book for teen girls.

Boys should also read it to see the struggle of young girls in this society.

5 people found this helpful