Little Monsters

Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (709 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $35.00

Buy for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation among teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and, strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey's new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls - she's even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it's so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don't invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn't exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly Broken Falls doesn't seem so welcoming after all - especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you're the new girl, you shouldn't trust anyone.

©2017 Kara Thomas (P)2017 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"A twisted story of obsession and manipulation, Little Monsters captivated me right up to its surprising conclusion - and left me wondering how well I really know my friends." (Chelsea Sedoti, author of The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett)

What listeners say about Little Monsters

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    378
  • 4 Stars
    224
  • 3 Stars
    81
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    451
  • 4 Stars
    156
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    334
  • 4 Stars
    206
  • 3 Stars
    82
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb!

I'm am pleasantly surprised this was so good! I finished it in like 36 hours. I really recommend it! You grow to know the characters, and think you know who is the killer but then it all goes back to square one! For such young characters, it was really entertaining to me and I don't read a lot of YA!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

That Plot Twist Though...(No Spoilers)

First and foremost, that twist ending had my jaw on the floor. This author knows how to keep you guessing the whole way through.

I don’t want to say much more, other than you need this book in your life! ...and the narrators did a stunning job. Loved it.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Book That Lives Up to the Hype!

This is a book that could easily be compared to Gone Girl, and it lives up to the praise. This was a wonderful novel with plenty of twists, right up to the very end. I loved it because I did not try and over think and enjoyed the ride. It surprised me due to the fact that I was still guessing until the last minute. This is an author I will read again!

This is a great read for Gone Girl fans, fans of PLL, or just a good, twisted tale.

The narrator did an outstanding job and really made the characters distinctive and separate. The characters came to life due to her talents.

Favorite audio in a long time. Highly recommend.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, could have done without the swearing especially for a YA book.

I gave the overall performance a 3 star. I wasn’t fond of the vulgar swearing. There was a lot, a little too much to be believable for teenage girls. The author used phrases frequently. “After a beat”, “For a beat.”... are a few examples. Other than that I enjoyed the story, it was read well and I was entertained.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely. Fantastic. BUY!!!

Guys, buy this audio book. The performance was fantastic, but the story was incredible. The main characters were so well-developed and interesting. Five stars for sure.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

kept me guessing and listening

Enjoyed this book all the way through and finished quickly as I enjoyed so much.
I had to speed up narration, as narrater was a bit slow, and the pauses inbetween sentences were a bit longer than needed, at least for me.
Good writer and story teller.. Will look at more by this author.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

It was OK, Not my favorite

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

The book was good. It had a nice twist to it but not a lot of drama/conflict. I was expecting more.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

No extreme reaction.

Any additional comments?

The Narrator had a good clear voice but she pauses a little bit too much.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Keeps You Guessing the Whole Time!

I really enjoyed this book! I finished it really quickly, even cutting into my sleep time because I wanted to know what happened! For once I did not guess correctly or know the possible outcome of the story. Usually I can see where the plot is going, but right when I think I have it all figured out, the author adds in something else and I'm second guessing myself and have to think about it all over again. The narrators were a great part of this story and flowed together perfectly, at first I couldn't even tell that there were two narrators. This book was well worth the credit I used, and I hope to read/listen to more from this author in the future.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Read!!!!

I really enjoyed this book, it's not too often I can't decipher the plot and ending of a book half way through it. This book kept me guessing until the very end!!! I loved most of the characters, you'll understand what I mean by that after you read the book, and found the main character easily relatable. The author definitely showed that not everyone is as they seem and that the secrets we hold dear may paint ourselves in a completely different light than we show the world. Cannot recommend this book enough!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

for a young adult book this book is great. I highly recommend this for anyone not just children.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bunks
  • Bunks
  • 09-11-18

Just...wow

A brilliant performance by Phoebe Strole. Brittany Pressley's chapters added a great dynamic and really brought Bailey to life. There were so many twists and turns that every the I thought I had it figured out, it went totally off in a different direction. Loved it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs J E Donegan
  • Mrs J E Donegan
  • 07-31-18

Loved it

Very gripping the ending was a complete twist I was not expecting amazing loved it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jordaneisbjerg
  • Jordaneisbjerg
  • 07-09-20

insanely good 😁

absolutely loved this book. haven't been into reading ever and this is pretty little liars realness. thankyou

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Noelle Kelly
  • Noelle Kelly
  • 01-19-20

Compulsive listening to this chilling teen drama

Little Monsters had me hooked from the first chapter. The narrator was compelling and a great choice to convey the story of the teenagers embroiled in this story. Kacy is a damaged teenager, but in Broken Falls, she has made two friends and starts to feel part of her father's family. This is completely new for her and she is willing to go along with any plans her new friends, Jade and Bailey make. Stepsister Lauren is just as keen to impress Jade and Bailey. When Bailey disappears, Kacy's life falls apart.


There is a sense of tension throughout the story and told in the first person, we find out the facts and twists of Bailey's disappearance as she does.

This is compelling listening and the narrator makes us feel we are right in the story. The story is twisty and chilling in parts and I want to read more from this writer.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-13-20

Little monsters, gripping story with unexpected end

Little monsters was a really intriguing, gripping story I felt it was easy to listen to and you didn’t have to focus on it too hard when trying to figure out what happened although I felt like there could of been more hints to who had done it throughout the story, I still felt it was a interesting unexpected ending although I had my suspicions early on. I really liked the way it was written and the plot idea so will definitely be reading more of the authors work.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ayla
  • Ayla
  • 01-01-19

Well executed. Good build up.

Reminded me of Lauren Oliver's writing, particularly Panic or Broken Things. Well narrated and interesting plot. The ending felt a little rushed but not predictable. A book I will definitely return to.