Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Discover and rediscover the world of the Queen's Thief, from the acclaimed series launch The Thief to the thrilling, 20-years-in-the-making conclusion, The Return of the Thief.

New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. 

Eugenides, no stranger to desperate circumstances, has gotten himself into difficulties he can't get out of. Used to being treated with a certain measure of wariness, if not respect, he suffers the pranks, insults, and intrigue of the Attolian court with dwindling patience. As usual, nothing is as it appears when he rescues a hot-headed young soldier in the Palace Guard. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award.

©2006 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"One of the most fascinating and original children's fantasies to appear in years...Rarely does one see a hero as psychologically knowing and irresistibly attractive as Turner's Thief." (The Horn Book)

"A winner." (Kirkus Reviews )

"Eugenides, the former Thief of Eddis, is back and just as clever as ever." (School Library Journal )

What listeners say about The King of Attolia

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    455
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    422
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    422
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

By far my favourite book in a long time.

Unique and captivating story, amazing characters. Probably the best series in terms of plot, setting, and character relationships. Narrator did a fantastic job.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Favorite Character; favorite book

5/5; 5 stars; A+

I LOVED this book! Megan Whalen Turner has created a character of such depth and complexity in Eugenides that I am in awe. He has been revealed, bit by bit, throughout The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, and now The King of Attolia. But only now does the reader see the whole picture.
I am not normally enthused about reading books with court intrigue and political maneuvering but this book was so much more than that. It was a beautiful study in human relations, personality profiles, and my favorite, the capacity of humans to grow, change, learn, and be humbled.

I first read the paperback a few years ago and recently listened to the audio version with Steve West narrating. It does not disappoint.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator makes the story colorful.

The narrator really brings this character driven story to life. It is exciting and moving, and another great chapter in the life of Eugenides.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so so good, read them all!

So so good, read them all! Start now! The story, reading, plot... all of it awesome!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

timeless classic adventure and romance

Megan Whalen Turner is the best. every characters are important and has fleshed out characters and goals.. this story is just very hard to put down

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best of the series

This is my favorite book in the story, and as always, Steve West’s delivery is spot on.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

<3

This has been my favorite book since I read it in 2008, and I've reread it a number of times over the years. I was afraid the audiobook of it wouldn't hold up to my naturally high expectations, but I found it really enjoyable!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfection

An absolutely fantastic book of intrigue. Deep characters, a fascinating world. I've read and listened to this book dozens of times and it remains one of my favorites of all time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good for teens and adults

My teen suggested this and I thought it was really good. The second book is even better

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Megan Turner spins another

The King of Attolia is the third of the series and just as addictive as the first two. Turner's stories follow a familiar human nature path but with a wholly unique storyline.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CeNedra Red
  • CeNedra Red
  • 12-11-17

Wrong Narrator :-{

I read the printed version of this and the other books in this wonderful series years ago, and loved them. So I was well pleased when I found them on Audible. Unfortunately, as with so many well loved series, the books have been spoiled by a poor choice of narrator. Its by no means the worst narration I've listened to, but it just didn't do these books justice. When I read the printed version of these books, I was enchanted by the vivid characters and their stirring adventures. The narrator left the characters seeming flat, and their adventures uninspired. All in all, a disappointing experience