Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Eugenides, no stranger to desperate circumstances, has gotten himself into difficulties he can't get out of. Used to being treated with a certain measure of wariness, if not respect, he suffers the pranks, insults, and intrigue of the Attolian court with dwindling patience. As usual, nothing is as it appears when he rescues a hot-headed young soldier in the Palace Guard. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

©2006 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"One of the most fascinating and original children's fantasies to appear in years...Rarely does one see a hero as psychologically knowing and irresistibly attractive as Turner's Thief." ( The Horn Book)
"A winner." ( Kirkus Reviews )
"Eugenides, the former Thief of Eddis, is back and just as clever as ever." ( School Library Journal )

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    203
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    190
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    192
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

By far my favourite book in a long time.

Unique and captivating story, amazing characters. Probably the best series in terms of plot, setting, and character relationships. Narrator did a fantastic job.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Favorite Character; favorite book

5/5; 5 stars; A+

I LOVED this book! Megan Whalen Turner has created a character of such depth and complexity in Eugenides that I am in awe. He has been revealed, bit by bit, throughout The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, and now The King of Attolia. But only now does the reader see the whole picture.
I am not normally enthused about reading books with court intrigue and political maneuvering but this book was so much more than that. It was a beautiful study in human relations, personality profiles, and my favorite, the capacity of humans to grow, change, learn, and be humbled.

I first read the paperback a few years ago and recently listened to the audio version with Steve West narrating. It does not disappoint.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator makes the story colorful.

The narrator really brings this character driven story to life. It is exciting and moving, and another great chapter in the life of Eugenides.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

NEXT BOOK please

Fantastic book couldn't stop listening for a moment. It did not disappoint intresting and funny not to mind the brilliant plot.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book for teens or adults.

This is the third book in the series but can be enjoyed without reading/listening to the first 2. It was recommended to me and I really enjoyed it so I will go back now and listening to 1 and 2 in the series.
It is a great book for students or homeschoolers and teaches a lot about misjudging people, teasing, honor and truth. There is some mild swearing in it that might make it inappropriate for junior high students.
Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

the King of Attolia

only the Brilliant and fantastic performance of Steve West kept me listening. the author didn't have a story to tell. The story had no direction. Steve West is very talented narrator. Author was damn lucky to have him .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing, every installation gets better

A great 3rs book in the series. I love the twists that Turner takes us on. By this point we know there is so much more going on under the surface and I love the reveals at the end of each book of what we have only half seen all the way through.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My favorite book

This is literally my favorite book of all time. Before I knew there was an audiobook I reread it on a regular basis and now I am thrilled to have another way to experience this masterpiece. Every time I revisit it I notice something new and brilliant.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It's a good book.

This book is a good book. Actually, an outstanding one. My motivation to describe the intricate details of why a book is good significantly lacks in comparison to dismantling a bad book for its flaws, so I'll leave it at that. Great book. And dear me what's this? Conclusiveness! My god! Please teach all writers everywhere your secrets!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing story & narrating!

This is one of my favorite books! Well written and well told, as are all of Megan Whalen Turner's books.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CeNedra Red
  • 12-11-17

Wrong Narrator :-{

I read the printed version of this and the other books in this wonderful series years ago, and loved them. So I was well pleased when I found them on Audible. Unfortunately, as with so many well loved series, the books have been spoiled by a poor choice of narrator. Its by no means the worst narration I've listened to, but it just didn't do these books justice. When I read the printed version of these books, I was enchanted by the vivid characters and their stirring adventures. The narrator left the characters seeming flat, and their adventures uninspired. All in all, a disappointing experience