We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Blackmark Audiobook

Blackmark: The Kingsmen Chronicles, Book 1

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

"Like George RR Martin and Joe Abercrombie, Carlson writes in this genre for grown-ups, with flair and elegance. A complex world with characters that develop well, this story reveals as it builds!" – Daniel F., Amazon Review

"Smart epic fantasy! If you loved Wheel of Time or Game of Thrones you should give this a shot." – Anders C., Amazon Review

"Blackmark is spellbinding! Strong development of characters, fully integrated storylines with intriguing plot twists, and deep world building. Takes you on a journey you never want to leave!" – Michelle G., Amazon Review

Wrongfully accused of treason, veteran Kingsman Elohl seeks the truth of a betrayal that caused the Kingsmen to vanish a decade ago. Inked with the Blackmark and despised for it, Elohl uncovers the truth and exposes ancient enemies. Now, he must give everything to shatter the hidden sect that usurps power from the throne. A bloody war will be reaped in the shadows that will burn nations and bring kings to their knees.

This dark and gritty sword and sorcery series from award winning author Jean Lowe Carlson explores a complex world of treachery, passion, sex, and magic. Readers who enjoy Game of Thrones, Outlander, the Kingkiller Chronicles, or the Wheel of Time will love this fantastic adventure."

©2016 Jean Lowe Carlson (P)2016 Jean Lowe Carlson

More from the same

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.9 (7 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.9 (7 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (7 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    THOMAS United States 04-27-17
    THOMAS United States 04-27-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just WOW!!!"

    I was a little bit daunted by the length of the audiobook, but Carlson has constructed a world and history with so much depth and detail that I was disappointed when the book was finished and now cannot wait to experience the next one. This is the beginning of an epic story of dark fantasy. Mysteries and intrigue abound as layers of story are exposed one after the next. Both foes and allies are hiding in plain sight as the story moves between the main characters who are heading toward reunions both joyous and heartbreaking on their quests to find out what happened to their people and, in the process, trying to fulfill their heritage and destiny. Pick up the book and move it to the top of your 'to read' list. You won't be disappointed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lela 02-06-17
    Lela 02-06-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you like Lord of the Rings you will love this book"

    This book was amazing! I generally don't like when books that are narrated by the author however Jean Lowe Carlson did a fantastic job with all of the characters and voices in this audiobook. It was a pleasure to listen to and easy to follow. I enjoyed listening to it so much that I couldn't stop one day for six hours. This book it's reminiscent of the Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones series with a touch of Outlander. At about 18 hours long, it is also a good buy for your money. I can't wait for book two to come out.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marcos A. Cabrera II Traverse City, MI 11-07-16
    Marcos A. Cabrera II Traverse City, MI 11-07-16 Member Since 2013

    Dedybear

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I love this story, and the narrator!"

    This to me, feels a bit like the Game of Thrones; however, I feel like there is hope for the characters. I love the way the story is slowly told from the perspective of different characters, and how magic is a fixed feature of the world, yet the characters are learning about it as you are. I would like to know more about some of the histories of this world, and I am excited for further books in the series. I would say this book is for someone who enjoys fantasy books that include sword and shield type war, magic, intrigue, and the type of well thought out story you fet from like Harry Potter. I can see little tantilizing hints in the book that suggest importance later, and I am excited to see how those items unfold.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joshua Ross 11-02-16
    Joshua Ross 11-02-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A lot of fun and intrigue. Ready for the next."

    I really enjoyed this book. It conjured up similar feelings as reading the Lord of the Rings trilogy did for me. Jean peaks your curiosity through the whole book and makes you want to keep listening or reading. It's been quite a while since I read a fantasy that was this adventurous. It's not as thick and chewy is Game of Thrones, which is a good thing. The characters I think are developed well and give you reason to care about them, or dislike them as the case may be. The story follows a group of guard sworn to protect a royal line who have been forced into hiding. The book is following them as they are coming back into the publication eye. I definitely think this is worth the read for anybody who enjoyed the Lord of the rings, Game of Thrones, or likes the adventure ideas of Indiana Jones or assassins creed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.