Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this....

Years later a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed. 

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. Then a woman is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her stepdaughter’s statement makes Robyn wonder: Are the two bodies are connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realizes she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost? 

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbot and Robert Dugoni.

©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Barbie does murder

The narration is so annoying a breathless Barbie comes to mind. It may be a very good plot but the narration is awful. I couldn't help but notice many Audio listeners have similar reactions, you'd think the author would get a clue and find someone else! The whole story is ruined because the voice just doesn't sound like a seasoned detective, more like a sex kitten that got the wrong job!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lisa Matthews
  • 02-14-18

brilliant!

brilliant! gripping from start to finish! ..Totally recommend this book! can't wait till the next book comes out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Gemma
  • 02-12-18

Don't fall aslep listening!

Would you consider the audio edition of The Silent Children to be better than the print version?

I don' rad print so i can't really answer this question, although, if i could read print i would still opt for audible because listening brings the book to life.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Even though he is not a main character, i Love Ross - the PI, he should be more involved in the books.

What about Emma Newman’s performance did you like?

I enjoy listening to Emma - easy to listen to.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

not really - i was too busy trying to keep up with the story!

Any additional comments?

Overall, a good book - lots of threads to keep up with so i would not reccomment listening to this book before bed, if you fall asleep you will lose the plot!! but please do give it a read, something a little different and enjoyable. 4 stars.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anon
  • 01-23-18

Too many threads :/

Ok but too many threads to follow. I did catchup eventually but it's not a good bedtime book! I hope the next book brings Davis back, we can all relax and sleep then! lol 😉😑😊😲 P.S.. The narrators voice is a bit ''wishy washy'' for a who dunnit story. A bit more emphasis and context needed! 💰🔫🔪"

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Pretty Spiffy
  • 05-18-18

Great Series

I love this series.. each book is linked but not in a way that if you haven't read one if them it makes a difference. I am enjoying the substory within and can't wait for that to be explored more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rosemary
  • 04-18-18

Another great book

Always kudos you guessing right till the end. I couldn't stop listening. I loved it