adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

He looked down at the little girl, sleeping peacefully, her arms wrapped around a teddy bear. He knew he was the only one who could save her. He could let her sleep forever.

An eight-year-old girl, Chelsea Compton, is missing in Pine Valley, California, and for Detective Katie Scott it’s a cruel reminder of the friend who disappeared from summer camp 20 years ago. Unable to shake the memories, Katie vows she won’t rest until she discovers what happened to Chelsea.

But as Katie starts to investigate, the case reveals itself to be much bigger and more shocking than she feared. Hidden deep in the forest she unearths a makeshift cemetery: a row of graves, each with a brightly colored teddy bear.

Katie links the graves to a stack of missing-persons cases involving young girls - finding a pattern no one else has managed to see. Someone in Pine Valley has been taking the town’s daughters for years, and Katie is the only one who can stop them.

And then another little girl goes missing, snatched from the park near her home.

Katie’s still haunted by the friend she failed to protect, and she’ll do anything to stop the killer striking again - but can she find the little girl before it’s too late?

Compulsive and gripping crime fiction for fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine, and Melinda Leigh. Katie Scott’s first case will have you on the edge of your seat and gasping with shock.

©2019 Jennifer Chase (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Little Girls Sleeping: An absolutely gripping crime thriller

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    154
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    134
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

Feel misled by the title as it was more about the main character Katie's issues than "an absolutely gripping crime thriller." I found it unbelievable and unrealistic from finding the body to the final chapter and grew weary of Katie and her issues very quickly in. Wouldn't recommend it.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Very disappointed

I've left one other bad review in the many years I've had audible. And I'm only leaving a review because I feel as though I got duped into getting this book because I saw so many positive reviews, and need to weigh in on it to help balance it out and help someone else not waste their money. This book was just such a painstaking challenge to finish. It lacked creativity, was 100% predictable, the descriptions of things and thought processes of the characters were detailed more like a high school descriptive essay rather than a novel. It gave it a very 'cheesy' feel, and I kept thinking- who actually uses these words when they are thinking to themselves, or describing events, surroundings, etc?? It was just so rigid. And weird. try Andrew Mayne if you like this genre and want some down to earth, relatable material.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A tortuous experience

Unnecessary adverbs and adjectives abound. Even a good narrator couldn’t fix this story and its wooden characters.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Glad it was free

The narrator is very flat. I obviously had to finish it once I started listening but the characters were so uninteresting and things happened very unnaturally. I considered listening to the next book but found it is also narrated by the same women so I passed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ab
  • 10-29-20

eh

it was an okay story. the narrator tries to do multiple voices that she really can't pull off so it makes it a little bit annoying but some of the happenings was interesting!.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable thriller

Katie Scott has returned from Afghanistan after being injured and suffering from PTSD. She is thrilled to be met by her uncle and her K9, Cisco. As Katie gets acclimated to life as a civilian, she starts working at the Sheriff’s office. In spite of opposition from the detectives, Katie begins her own search for a missing girl ...and discovers a row of coffins of missing girls from over a decade. Katie and her K9 are on the hunt for a serial killer! Enjoyable thriller. Brings to light PTSD and a greater appreciation for the military.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Hard to listen to

I liked the story, but not the narration. The main character sounds like a sarcastic shrew, and the children in the camp flashbacks sound like cartoon characters. I’ll read the rest of the series, rather than listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The narrator has an annoying voice

I really don’t enjoy listening her.
She is not a good voice for this story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story

This book had a good story line but the narrator spoke very fast in the narration. Her character voices were good and they weren't too fast but everything else she rushed through and made the listening difficult at times when I would rather have had a relaxing listen.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marie Powell
  • Marie Powell
  • 11-08-19

Compelling read

A gripping story, easy to like main character, well written. I would recommend to anyone who is a fan of detective stories

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 02-17-21

“Little Girls Sleeping: An absolutely gripping crime thriller”?

No! First, please don’t add an opinion to the book title, you have to hear it every time you start listening! “Gripping crime thriller”? No. I’m sorry, this was about an arrogant, egotistical woman but she was supposed to be out on a limb, unsettled, unsure of herself. I have to stop finishing books.

Unlikable, 2D characters, disjointed storyline, no tension. A grown up Scooby-doo!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicola
  • Nicola
  • 02-17-21

Not my thing

First of all, it is a good story with an exciting storyline. But it is not my kind of book. I like there to be more character development, more character in the characters. I cannot feel the characters and as a result I cannot go into the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 11-27-20

Good book

Don't know why it was better than I expected. I wish it had been a bit longer.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teresa Harwood
  • Teresa Harwood
  • 06-09-20

Enjoyable

I really enjoyed listening to this book. Katie has just returned from Afghanistan and is not sure what her future holds. Her uncle is the local Sheriff and he arranges for her to work in an administrative position whilst she contemplates her next step. Katie accidentally sees a file on a missing girl, a cold case, which sets her imagination running and she is determined to find the missing girl and solve the case. She is not scared of anything or anyone having been in a war zone which is just as well as she uncovers some awful truths. I am hoping there will be a book 2 in the series. As a side note there is definitely more to Templeton than meets the eye!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christopher baldwin
  • Christopher baldwin
  • 04-13-20

Really brilliant

It had me held bound from the start i had a great job at putting it down it really was a a great book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liz
  • Liz
  • 07-01-19

Little girls sleeping by Jennifer Chase

Sensational book from beginning to the end. I had a suspect that I thought might be the guilty party. I was totally wrong.. I not going to give any spoilers. This book is a must have read. I look forward to more in the series

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-25-20

Disappointing

Wish washy storyline revolving around an over inflated ego of one person Mills and Boonsy

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LaneyB
  • LaneyB
  • 01-11-20

Gripping

Loved it. Couldnt wait to see what happened next. Sad about the little girls. There are some real monsters in this world.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shaheema
  • Shaheema
  • 11-19-19

Eh

Great book but the narrator kind of ruined it for me. Not very “feeling” to me.