Little Girls Sleeping: An absolutely gripping crime thriller

Detective Katie Scott, Book 1
Narrated by: Lisa Rost-Welling
Length: 8 hrs
4.3 out of 5 stars (155 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

He looked down at the little girl, sleeping peacefully, her arms wrapped around a teddy bear. He knew he was the only one who could save her. He could let her sleep forever.

An eight-year-old girl, Chelsea Compton, is missing in Pine Valley, California, and for Detective Katie Scott it’s a cruel reminder of the friend who disappeared from summer camp 20 years ago. Unable to shake the memories, Katie vows she won’t rest until she discovers what happened to Chelsea.

But as Katie starts to investigate, the case reveals itself to be much bigger and more shocking than she feared. Hidden deep in the forest she unearths a makeshift cemetery: a row of graves, each with a brightly colored teddy bear.

Katie links the graves to a stack of missing-persons cases involving young girls - finding a pattern no one else has managed to see. Someone in Pine Valley has been taking the town’s daughters for years, and Katie is the only one who can stop them.

And then another little girl goes missing, snatched from the park near her home.

Katie’s still haunted by the friend she failed to protect, and she’ll do anything to stop the killer striking again - but can she find the little girl before it’s too late?

Compulsive and gripping crime fiction for fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine, and Melinda Leigh. Katie Scott’s first case will have you on the edge of your seat and gasping with shock.

©2019 Jennifer Chase (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Little Girls Sleeping: An absolutely gripping crime thriller

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

Feel misled by the title as it was more about the main character Katie's issues than "an absolutely gripping crime thriller." I found it unbelievable and unrealistic from finding the body to the final chapter and grew weary of Katie and her issues very quickly in. Wouldn't recommend it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A tortuous experience

Unnecessary adverbs and adjectives abound. Even a good narrator couldn’t fix this story and its wooden characters.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story

This book had a good story line but the narrator spoke very fast in the narration. Her character voices were good and they weren't too fast but everything else she rushed through and made the listening difficult at times when I would rather have had a relaxing listen.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teresa Harwood
  • Teresa Harwood
  • 06-09-20

Enjoyable

I really enjoyed listening to this book. Katie has just returned from Afghanistan and is not sure what her future holds. Her uncle is the local Sheriff and he arranges for her to work in an administrative position whilst she contemplates her next step. Katie accidentally sees a file on a missing girl, a cold case, which sets her imagination running and she is determined to find the missing girl and solve the case. She is not scared of anything or anyone having been in a war zone which is just as well as she uncovers some awful truths. I am hoping there will be a book 2 in the series. As a side note there is definitely more to Templeton than meets the eye!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christopher baldwin
  • Christopher baldwin
  • 04-13-20

Really brilliant

It had me held bound from the start i had a great job at putting it down it really was a a great book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marie Powell
  • Marie Powell
  • 11-08-19

Compelling read

A gripping story, easy to like main character, well written. I would recommend to anyone who is a fan of detective stories

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liz
  • Liz
  • 07-01-19

Little girls sleeping by Jennifer Chase

Sensational book from beginning to the end. I had a suspect that I thought might be the guilty party. I was totally wrong.. I not going to give any spoilers. This book is a must have read. I look forward to more in the series

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LaneyB
  • LaneyB
  • 01-11-20

Gripping

Loved it. Couldnt wait to see what happened next. Sad about the little girls. There are some real monsters in this world.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shaheema
  • Shaheema
  • 11-19-19

Eh

Great book but the narrator kind of ruined it for me. Not very “feeling” to me.