Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

You think you know the truth about the people you love. But one discovery can change everything....

Eight-year-old Billy goes missing one day, out flying his kite with his sister Rose. Two days later he is found dead.

Sixteen years on, Rose still blames herself for Billy's death. How could she have failed to protect her little brother? Rose has never fully recovered from the trauma, and one of the few people she trusts is her neighbour Ronnie, whom she has known all her life. But one day Ronnie falls ill, and Rose goes next door to help him...and what she finds in his attic room turns her world upside down.

Rose thought she knew the truth about what happened to Billy. She thought she knew her neighbour. Now the only thing she knows is that she is in danger....

The Mistake is a completely gripping thriller that will keep you up all night, from the top 10 best-selling author of Blink, Liar and Safe with Me. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

©2017 K. L. Slater (P)2017 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    227
  • 4 Stars
    191
  • 3 Stars
    74
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    12

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    302
  • 4 Stars
    131
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    8

Story

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    197
  • 4 Stars
    162
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    16
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

How much do we really know about the ones we love?

I loved this story. It starts with a young, naive girl who falls for the first boy who shows her attention. His manipulation slowly makes her distance herself from her family and friends. Then when something bad happens, he’s the one they blame. But is he really guilty? Just when I thought I had it figured out, the end threw me for a loop. I read/listened to this book in just a few days because I just couldn’t put it down!

17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Lots of mistakes by main character.....

This is worth the credit as it was suspenseful and I really liked the very end. However (spoiler alert) I did want to throttle the main character through most of the book for being so meek, naive, and obtuse.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Surprising

Not the greatest story ever, but it does keep you guessing. Every time I was sure I knew who the murder was, something disproved them. In the end I was surprised.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Hard to stop listening

The narrator was spot on and not annoying at all. I got on edge a couple times due to the main character's lack of sense but hey that was the intent to keep you listening and hoping that one day she will be smart enough to realize the truth. would definitely reccommend. I did not see the end coming!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

it was worth it

there were times when I found the main character to be annoying... And it was a little confusing at first with the going back and jumping forward.... but in the end it was a good story. I would definitely read more from this writer and I would definitely like to hear more from this narrator.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Couldn't Wait To Continue Listening

K.L. Slater is definitely one of my favourite authors. Does she have a rhythm to her novels? Yes. Does she follow a formula? Yes. After reading her books do you come to know what to expect? Yes. Are all of these things good when combined? Absolutely!

The Mistake deals with Rose, 16 years ago and present. Her brother was abducted and murdered, and her best friend was raped, and she had a horrible boyfriend experience around 16 years ago. Presently she is rather depressed and alone in the world with a job that's hanging by a thread. Her whole world becomes unraveled when she finds a key piece of evidence in her brother's murder which doesn't point to the suspect who was convicted of the crime.

Lucy Price Lewis does an amazing job as narrator of this psychological thriller which doesn't disappoint. I was engulfed in the story from beginning to end. I will look forward to her next thriller!

-Wendi

19 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Really loved this book. Loved narrator too.

I've just started writing my reviews. This book held my interest throughout. It was a great escape yet not silly. Just a good, entertaining book with lots of twists and turns.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A Surprise Ending

I enjoyed this book and the narrator is AMAZING. The main character is a bit timid but understandably so considering the details of her life at a young age. The ending was definitely a shock. I was not expecting that.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Hard lesson learned

I loved this book, it was well narrated and the way that they did the flashbacks as chapters was quite helpful. You definitely have to look before you leap.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Bored

The only good thing about this book was the narrator. Making it thru this book was work. I was bored the entire time. And the ending felt slapped on. Don’t bother.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • michelle christie
  • 11-29-17

great listen

I really enjoyed this book. the story flowed and seemed to happen quite organically. Not entirely unbelievable

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ms. Sl Wilson-dickson
  • 12-09-17

The mistake indeed

I think maybe the book was ok but the narrator was irritating and I felt so bored by the combination of both that droned on and on that I had to abandon half way through and fast forward to the last chapter to see the conclusion to save myself another few hours of my brains mental capacity having its time wasted. Not fast moving enough basically not gripping enough. Not saying it was terrible and not sure if it was the narration that caused my issue or the plot...but narration certainly didn’t help me. It’s a matter of taste. Others may love it for the same reasons I didn’t but I got a refund

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Janet biglari
  • 12-07-17

Disappointing

I have a real problem with the females in K L Slater's books, they are so spineless and portrayed as helpless victims. Rose in this latest book needed a shake, she was so wet I got totally fed up of the dialogue which was on a loop about her she was disempowered and helpless. I think I will give this author a miss in future unless some more gutsy females are portrayed.

In spite of the characters I thought the narration was good, and I did enjoy the twist at the end.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Simon
  • 12-01-17

A Tragic Coming of Age

K L Slater is making a name for herself writing what I would describe as relatively low-key psychological dramas and infusing them with quality writing and believable characters. This one is no exception, the whole thing revolves around the death of a young boy and the flawed relationships that surrounded his life in an old pit village.

It's a dual timeline story split between the present day and the events leading up to the tragedy some sixteen years earlier. Rose, a slightly awkward teenager struggling to come of age meets an older man Gareth triggering a tragic series of events. It's a very human drama, it's not full of action and it doesn't have any real blood or gore and minimal violence.

Powered by Lucy Price-Lewis;s classy narration it's a listen that simply washes over you with quality writing. Price-Lewis is a smooth and classy performer though judging by her accents in this one I think she should probably avoid books set down under!

In all I'd rate this more a drama than an out and out thriller but it kept me entertained in a smooth and accomplished fashion. It signals the danger of controlling relationships particularly set against the hardships felt by former mining communities. It's say the other side of what most young people might have faced compared to Billy Elliot!

No hesitation in recommending it if you like low-key mystery thrillers based on flawed human relationships.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jo Ridley
  • 12-23-17

a clever read

i really enjoyed this book. i liked the way it was set out and you really felt like you knew the characters.

I had my suspect nearing the end but i was wrong what always pleases me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sandy Mac
  • 12-21-17

Really?

Droned on and on and main character must have had the brain equivalent to that of a gnat to go with that character. Skipped most of book as excruciatingly tedious and even the little surprise at the end did not make up for this book being a complete waste of my time and a credit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • lucylu
  • 01-16-18

Excellent! Will keep you gripped ti the end - a definite all nighter!

Well narrated and gripping authentic storyline....can't wait to read more from this author.... characters are brought to life and draw you in and embrace and repel you in equal measures to the conclusion...enjoy....




  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs Moira Symons
  • 01-16-18

loved it.

great narration. fab story. couldn't stop listening. Not predictable at all. buy it and love it!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Dave H.
  • 01-14-18

Truely Overwhelming!! Fanatastic Thriller!!

Bravo L K Slater and to the marvellous narrator, Lucy. Absolutely loved the story and its setting. Great descriptive story texts for the reader to create all the scenes and images in their head. Highly recommended to a crime thriller fan.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-12-18

Brilliant

what a fantastic story kept me gripped right untill the end. A definite five star read, highly recommend it . Buckle up for the ride.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Laurina
  • 01-15-18

Legend !

KL Slater - you are a legend writer - I did not see this one coming ..........

This is a fantastic book to listen to..... if you love thriller , murder and awesome revenge .....you need to listen to this !!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-07-18

Give it a go.

This was a tough read in some ways - the relationship dynamics mainly. I liked the way it was written, the characters and the story and the way they were brought together. it is a little raw at times though.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-04-18

Amazing Book

could not switch it off, great performance and lots of mystery, keeps you guessing until the very end!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-28-17

Gripping mystery

My husband and I both really enjoyed this. Interesting characters and gripping storyline. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Suzanne
  • 12-18-17

omg fantastic

Loved this book , kept me in suspense the whole way through .
excellent story