Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

This refreshing romantic comedy with a spiritual twist will appeal to fans of Kristen Billerbeck and Tracey Bateman.

Jessie is a big believer in love, but although she's spent her whole life fantasizing about what her marriage proposal would be like, reality has yet to match her dreams - until one day God shows up and offers to write Jessie's love story for her. There's just one catch: she must surrender all control. When she does, Jessie discovers that divine things can happen when we let go.

©2009 Rene Gutteridge and Cheryl McKay; (P)2009 Random House Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • antigudra
  • pine bluff, AR, United States
  • 10-25-09

I loved this book!!!

I really enjoyed this book. I think so many times we are looking for our own soulmates instead of letting God Write our love Story. I can not wait until they make this into a movie next year. This book was very funny and entertaining.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

A tad bit misleading...

The sample was hilarious! There were other laugh-out-loud moments, but the sample made me think the whole thing was going to be equally funny. The concept is interesting. Overall, I'd recommend saving the credit and getting a library copy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Tony
  • rochester, IN, USA
  • 08-20-09

Funny

I loved this book. It was funny. There were some theological issues I didn't agree with but all in all I recommend this book. It made me laugh out loud and shed a few tears. Looking for other books by this writer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

GREAT STORY

This is by far one of the best books ever!!! Every single person who wishes to marry should read or listen to this book. This book really teaches you to wait on God.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Teaches Single women that God is our First Husband

I thought this was a great story. As a single women in her thirties I could relate to the sentiments of the main character Jess Stone. I thought this story did a great job in showing single women how God has our best interests at heart. I also like how it depicted the honest struggle of true surrender to God (the purple pen) as well as the rewards (Jonathan). I listen to the story in one day. :-)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Loved it sooooo much!

I absolutely loved this book. I am so tempted to listen to it over and ovre. I hope they do make a movie out of it. I loved it!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A refreshing surprise!

I really enjoyed this author and narrator! The storyline was fresh and new to me. The narrator did a wonderful job. I will definitely look for more books by them both!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • M
  • 07-18-16

Great message wrapped in an entertaining story

I very much enjoyed the story. The main character was perfectly imperfect. The narrator's voice, however, did not match. Jesse's age needed the voice of a mature woman but this narrator sounded as if she was reading the top story of the evening news. A little too canned. However, the story took over and I was able to overlook it. I enjoyed the fun fiction with a "holy" twist. I categorize it as "Devine Comedy" ;)

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

MUST READ

Wasn't sure about this book, but after I made my way through the second chapter I was hooked. I love the back and forth between Jess and "God".

The message is awesome, and Jess' thoughts are so realistic.

Highly recommend.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Revelation Novel

I found this novel very revealing to the heart of God and the love and dreams He has for us. Anyone who desires to know how much God loves us should read this book....especially if you're getting frustrated waiting for your husband.