adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Like a long night's slumber disturbed by disquieting dreams, 20 years have passed since Morlan Stormgarden's exile. The realm of Myriad waits in uncertain peace, for the Gray Hour Massacres remain unsolved. 

Tempted by the lure of adventure, High King Lochlan Stormgarden begins to ponder his royal destiny. A daring plan is hatched, the high king's throne is left vacant, and Lochlan meets Ariana Kurtz, who might be the love of his life if she doesn't kill him first. 

Meanwhile, Alastair and Telwyn Coldhollow set out to hunt Cythraul, the seemingly immortal assassin who vowed to murder everyone Alastair had ever loved. 

Many paths will cross, a hellish creature will awaken in the Hinterlands, and the fate of Myriad will be decided in one bloody red night.

©2018 Wayne Thomas Batson (P)2018 Wayne Thomas Batson

What listeners say about The Errant King

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Strong fantasy world brought to life

Wayne Thomas Batson has definitely improved as a writer. His prose is more colorful, his world building deeper, his characters more relatable, and his stories more original than his earliest stories. This book follows the Sword in the Stars and raises the stakes in a way that grips you and keeps you invested, even while you follow multiple story arcs to a cliff-hanger conclusion. There were a couple of brief instances where I felt like the allegorical elements were a little too forced, but the book overall does not suffer form this flaw. The world of the Myrdian Constellation is fascinating and well put together. Dave Cruse brought all of it to life in a fantastic way in audio form. He does Cythraul and Morlan, the chief villains, with particular skill, and also brings a variety of accents to the table. If you enjoy fantasy novels in the vein of Brandon Sanderson, L.B Graham, and otheres like them, you will enjoy this book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply amazing!

simply amazing! this is honestly one of the best modern Christian fantasy albums! so many deep messages, so many twists and turns. The reader was amazing and really got me immersed in the world. what can I say other than get this book and listen for yourself!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A series to reread and reread and reread

I enjoyed this story again, just as much as the first. Batson does a great job of making his world sufficiently BIG. He's thoughtful too about pulling it ALL together.

LOVED Obi and Flynn - yes! That is the vibe. Tango and Meli were fun too. Had fun coming alongside Lochlann's explorations too because it's an idea that's just fun - who doesn't want to be able to leave their current duties to explore and do something totally different for a while? And in a medieval magical country :) Every village, I wondered what would come next. And grown Telwyn, what can I say? YEEES.

The few points that were overdone or not explained well or slow (Arianna's frustration with the elders, Tel and Alastair's tracking, slow start to Lochlann's journey) didn't diminish my enjoyment of the book because the pov shifts ensure it is fast-paced enough, you can always be sure something good is coming. So these potential grievances felt minor in the grand scheme of how satisfyingly everything else plays out. Tbh, it helped me pace my own reading better so I didn't devour it all at once and feel sad. I got to really savor the story :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the narrator really brings this book to life

I loved the different voices, the different accents, it was very enjoyable. I'm so glad he reads the entire series! these books are great awesome story and plot. it kept me engaged!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My review

I love this book, because it's packed with adventure.
I've Introduced it to my brothers and they love it too

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Clean reading for all ages!

The second book is just as good as the first. :)

It's hard to find clean reading these days, but this is one you can count on! Great story and one I can recommend to all my friends with teenagers and my own grandchildren. Thank you, Wayne Batson!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

Evil villains with righteous heroes to battle with a mix of humor. I love Fred and Arianna.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Book 2 of an awesome series

Story: Batson has obviously done his homework crafting this master epic because it seems every detail is in place- this story will certainly keep you engaged the entire time! I truly feel connected to the characters in the book and can't wait to see what happens in book 3. If you already read book 1, then I don't need to spend any time convincing you to continue!

Performance: Once again Dave Cruse is truly masterful in his performance. I don't need to know who is talking because I can just hear it in the distinct voices. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great reading I enjoyed listening to the story,.

looking forward to the next book.
thanks for a great read. the plotv took a little while to unfold, but it was a well read book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great follow-up!

the characters and the quests grow together....a little slownat first, however the pace quicken as the story and stakes builds. can't wait to read the 3rd book!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. B. Lyall
  • Mrs. B. Lyall
  • 12-09-18

Roddy's Review

I LOVED IT!!! I LOVED IT ALL!!!! The narrator was a bit wooden: for future audiobooks I suggest getting a few different guys and girls instead of just the one bloke: BUT THE BOOK WAS SO GOOD THAT IT DOESN'T MATTER REALLY!!!