Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Like a long night's slumber disturbed by disquieting dreams, 20 years have passed since Morlan Stormgarden's exile. The realm of Myriad waits in uncertain peace, for the Gray Hour Massacres remain unsolved. 

Tempted by the lure of adventure, High King Lochlan Stormgarden begins to ponder his royal destiny. A daring plan is hatched, the high king's throne is left vacant, and Lochlan meets Ariana Kurtz, who might be the love of his life if she doesn't kill him first. 

Meanwhile, Alastair and Telwyn Coldhollow set out to hunt Cythraul, the seemingly immortal assassin who vowed to murder everyone Alastair had ever loved. 

Many paths will cross, a hellish creature will awaken in the Hinterlands, and the fate of Myriad will be decided in one bloody red night.

©2018 Wayne Thomas Batson (P)2018 Wayne Thomas Batson

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Strong fantasy world brought to life

Wayne Thomas Batson has definitely improved as a writer. His prose is more colorful, his world building deeper, his characters more relatable, and his stories more original than his earliest stories. This book follows the Sword in the Stars and raises the stakes in a way that grips you and keeps you invested, even while you follow multiple story arcs to a cliff-hanger conclusion. There were a couple of brief instances where I felt like the allegorical elements were a little too forced, but the book overall does not suffer form this flaw. The world of the Myrdian Constellation is fascinating and well put together. Dave Cruse brought all of it to life in a fantastic way in audio form. He does Cythraul and Morlan, the chief villains, with particular skill, and also brings a variety of accents to the table. If you enjoy fantasy novels in the vein of Brandon Sanderson, L.B Graham, and otheres like them, you will enjoy this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply amazing!

simply amazing! this is honestly one of the best modern Christian fantasy albums! so many deep messages, so many twists and turns. The reader was amazing and really got me immersed in the world. what can I say other than get this book and listen for yourself!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

A stunning sequel t

Absolutely love it can't wait for the next one. book 2 of 7
A stunning sequel to a great series!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs. B. Lyall
  • 12-09-18

Roddy's Review

I LOVED IT!!! I LOVED IT ALL!!!! The narrator was a bit wooden: for future audiobooks I suggest getting a few different guys and girls instead of just the one bloke: BUT THE BOOK WAS SO GOOD THAT IT DOESN'T MATTER REALLY!!!