Your audiobook is waiting…

Sword in the Stars

The Myridian Constellation, Volume 1
Narrated by: Dave Cruse
Series: The Myridian Constellation, Book 1
Length: 13 hrs and 12 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (35 ratings)

Regular price: $24.95

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The difference in their uncanny eyes could not be easily discerned. In the rays of the setting sun, both Aravel's and Morlan's eyes appeared gold. In the pale moonlight...yellow. Seemingly the same. Such inscrutable likeness is the way of things with identical twins. 

But all who knew the two brothers well noted unmistakable differences, peculiarities more experienced than seen. Those who stood before King Aravel's gaze felt the glad firelight of a cozy inn. But those who fell under Morlan's stare felt the gleam of winter moonlight on the cold, white stone monuments in a boneyard. 

From the best-selling author of the Door Within Trilogy comes an epic tale of two powerful kings whose rivalry threatens to tear the world of Myriad apart. Into this chaos of treachery and war strides ex-assassin Alastair Coldhollow, whose quest for redemption leads him to the one foe he cannot defeat with a thrust of his sword. Everything may hinge on an age-old prophecy, but after thousands of years, will the Sword appear in the Stars at last? 

With the aid of Abbagael Rivynfleur, a not-so-naive girl from the forest villages, Alastair will tread forgotten roads, face legendary creatures, and meet mysterious new races of people, all in an effort to find Myriad's Halfainin. So begins the sweeping seven-volume Myridian Constellation. Listen to discover what happens when the Sword is in the Stars and the moon is blood red....

©2017 Wayne Thomas Batson (P)2018 Wayne Thomas Batson

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing book, wonderful performance!!!

I have enjoyed many of Wayne Thomas Batson’s books. This one is a heart wrenching book. I pray I will have the patience to see the end of the series. I am glad that I waited as long as I did. Now on to book two!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book is worth your time.

I rate this book five out of five stars. The narrator was great. He was not droning on and on. I would recommend this story to anybody who is into fantasy such as Tolkien or Lewis.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

Well written and narrated with enlighting fashion to carry the heater into another realm and through many lands and adventures

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

beautiful parallel of Christianity

this book isn't shy with it's likeness to Christianity, but at large in points out many issues that people of faith go through and deals with them honestly. also is just a fantastic story!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

You need this book!

First off, let my say that Wayne is my favorite Christian Fantasy author. I have many of his books and absolutely love them. So, this review is somewhat difficult for me to write. Once I hit chapter forty-nine I was finally sucked in and by the end I was ready for the next novel. It seemed like it took a long time to set up the main event that took place towards the end.

That being said, there were several things I did love about this novel. Alastair's and Abbagael's interactions were some of my favorite parts of the book. The section of letters between the two of them was a clever choice to help show the passage of time but still keep readers informed of what events were taking place. Their banter made me laugh and I loved Abbagael's unwillingness to give up on him. The characters were believable and I enjoyed learning more about them.

The one thing I love most about Wayne's writing is his ability to create vast worlds that are so much fun to imagine. The different types of creatures, the wondrous halls, and the magical components of the story will allow you to immerse yourself in the world of Myriad and never want to leave. It's such a beautiful world that rivals the likes of Narnia and Middle Earth.

While the plot was slow at the beginning, I'm glad I continued on and finished the book. If you have not read this book, I implore you to get it and read it for yourself! By the end, you'll be wishing for more! I give this book four stars.

The narrator did a great job of bringing this story to life and I found that I enjoyed listening to it more than I did reading it for myself. I highly recommend this audiobook!

I received a free copy of this audiobook from the author. No monetary compensation was given for this review and a review was not required.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Gorgeous and Enthralling Read

This book is completely captivating! It is full of adventure, insight, and creativity. The characters, and the world, are brought to life by the beautiful story-telling-expertise of Wayne Thomas Batson. Every aspect of this epic novel is obviously thought out, and magically intertwined. The story is complex and in depth, yet moves quickly. I was completely enthralled by the beautiful tale- crying one minute and laughing the next! I fell absolutely in love with characters of this book, and found myself cheering them on throughout each of the exciting trials they faced.

I'd read this story years before, and was thrilled to enjoy it again in audiobook format. It was stunningly dramatized, and far exceeded my expectations! It provided layers of excitement and depth. It was so nice to enjoy this beloved tale in such a flexible format- while hiking, going to sleep (though I couldn't fall asleep because of the excitement!), and driving. I can't wait to listen to the next stories!

This book also has many underlying truths that can be relayed into everyday life. I find myself referring to the insights sprinkled throughout this book, and the burdened heart that the tale itself marinates within. The hopes, struggles, and fears of the characters are strangely relateable, and the reader is welcomed to face them realistically alongside the fantastic characters.

This book is wonderfully engaging, and appropriate for practically every age group. I appreciate the detailed, yet clean expression of the author. I'm so very thankful for the obvious intentional care poured into the labor of creating this novel. It is fabulously entertaining- and a blessing to read!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fascinating story!

I loved the story! Kept me entertained during workouts! Very rich world with lots of character depth.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Deep and thoroughly interesting

First the book, Wayne Thomas Batson has managed to write a book filled with classic fantasy troupes and parallels with the Christian faith. However these do not take away from the story in the slightest, the vivid image that Batson paints of the world is phenomenal, creating deep, lifelike characters that leave you wanting more. Every word was a phenomenal joy to listen to and cannot wait for the next books!

The narrator was phenomenal! Bringing an unfamiliar world to life with the variety of characters and personalities within allowed the already fantastic story to become more cinematic!
This is a must read and listen to!!!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book, convincing reader.

I've always been a fan of Wayne Thomas Batson's writing, but honestly, I wasn't expecting this book to be quite this high caliber. This is Batson's best work of fantasy yet, and wets my appetite for the next book in the series. First of all, the reader for the audiobook, Dave Cruse, does a fantastic job. His voice and accents are convincing and bring the story to life in a way not every audiobook reader can. I especially enjoyed the voices he did for the book's villains. Secondly, Batson combines a unique structure and excellent foreshadowing with a strong foundation of world building absolutely worthy of an epic fantasy series. Tolkien and Sanderson are two of the master world builders I have read, the Batson certainly gets close to these masters with this book. Thirdly, I loved the characters and action sequences in this book. The Sword in the Stars keeps you on the edge of your seat by switching views from character to character, and crisis point to crisis point. Alastair, Aravel, Cythraul, Morlan...the characters are all believably attractive, fascinating, or repellant in their respective roles. Finally, no story is complete without a compelling and effective plot to hold it together. The Sword in the Stars manages to call on some of the best of Batson's previous books, while adding unique but attainable twists to the fantasy genre. Fans of Tolkien, Lewis, Alexander, Sanderson, or L.B Graham should enjoy this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • tiffany
  • Atlanta, Georgia, USA, Earth
  • 06-01-18

Wonderful!

I truly enjoyed this AudioBook from the beginning to the end! The storyteller knows his craft, and had the prefect inflection for every occasion this book introduced. The story was well written, and the voice of the reader only enhanced an already good story. This story would be good for a family time, a long trip, or just because some of us never grow out of enjoying hearing a masterful storyteller.

The characters are real, raw at times and you find yourself caring deeply for some of them. Altogether a very worthy way to spend your time.