Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The difference in their uncanny eyes could not be easily discerned. In the rays of the setting sun, both Aravel's and Morlan's eyes appeared gold. In the pale moonlight...yellow. Seemingly the same. Such inscrutable likeness is the way of things with identical twins. 

But all who knew the two brothers well noted unmistakable differences, peculiarities more experienced than seen. Those who stood before King Aravel's gaze felt the glad firelight of a cozy inn. But those who fell under Morlan's stare felt the gleam of winter moonlight on the cold, white stone monuments in a boneyard. 

From the best-selling author of the Door Within Trilogy comes an epic tale of two powerful kings whose rivalry threatens to tear the world of Myriad apart. Into this chaos of treachery and war strides ex-assassin Alastair Coldhollow, whose quest for redemption leads him to the one foe he cannot defeat with a thrust of his sword. Everything may hinge on an age-old prophecy, but after thousands of years, will the Sword appear in the Stars at last? 

With the aid of Abbagael Rivynfleur, a not-so-naive girl from the forest villages, Alastair will tread forgotten roads, face legendary creatures, and meet mysterious new races of people, all in an effort to find Myriad's Halfainin. So begins the sweeping seven-volume Myridian Constellation. Listen to discover what happens when the Sword is in the Stars and the moon is blood red....

©2017 Wayne Thomas Batson (P)2018 Wayne Thomas Batson

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Gorgeous and Enthralling Read

This book is completely captivating! It is full of adventure, insight, and creativity. The characters, and the world, are brought to life by the beautiful story-telling-expertise of Wayne Thomas Batson. Every aspect of this epic novel is obviously thought out, and magically intertwined. The story is complex and in depth, yet moves quickly. I was completely enthralled by the beautiful tale- crying one minute and laughing the next! I fell absolutely in love with characters of this book, and found myself cheering them on throughout each of the exciting trials they faced.

I'd read this story years before, and was thrilled to enjoy it again in audiobook format. It was stunningly dramatized, and far exceeded my expectations! It provided layers of excitement and depth. It was so nice to enjoy this beloved tale in such a flexible format- while hiking, going to sleep (though I couldn't fall asleep because of the excitement!), and driving. I can't wait to listen to the next stories!

This book also has many underlying truths that can be relayed into everyday life. I find myself referring to the insights sprinkled throughout this book, and the burdened heart that the tale itself marinates within. The hopes, struggles, and fears of the characters are strangely relateable, and the reader is welcomed to face them realistically alongside the fantastic characters.

This book is wonderfully engaging, and appropriate for practically every age group. I appreciate the detailed, yet clean expression of the author. I'm so very thankful for the obvious intentional care poured into the labor of creating this novel. It is fabulously entertaining- and a blessing to read!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fascinating story!

I loved the story! Kept me entertained during workouts! Very rich world with lots of character depth.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Deep and thoroughly interesting

First the book, Wayne Thomas Batson has managed to write a book filled with classic fantasy troupes and parallels with the Christian faith. However these do not take away from the story in the slightest, the vivid image that Batson paints of the world is phenomenal, creating deep, lifelike characters that leave you wanting more. Every word was a phenomenal joy to listen to and cannot wait for the next books!

The narrator was phenomenal! Bringing an unfamiliar world to life with the variety of characters and personalities within allowed the already fantastic story to become more cinematic!
This is a must read and listen to!!!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book, convincing reader.

I've always been a fan of Wayne Thomas Batson's writing, but honestly, I wasn't expecting this book to be quite this high caliber. This is Batson's best work of fantasy yet, and wets my appetite for the next book in the series. First of all, the reader for the audiobook, Dave Cruse, does a fantastic job. His voice and accents are convincing and bring the story to life in a way not every audiobook reader can. I especially enjoyed the voices he did for the book's villains. Secondly, Batson combines a unique structure and excellent foreshadowing with a strong foundation of world building absolutely worthy of an epic fantasy series. Tolkien and Sanderson are two of the master world builders I have read, the Batson certainly gets close to these masters with this book. Thirdly, I loved the characters and action sequences in this book. The Sword in the Stars keeps you on the edge of your seat by switching views from character to character, and crisis point to crisis point. Alastair, Aravel, Cythraul, Morlan...the characters are all believably attractive, fascinating, or repellant in their respective roles. Finally, no story is complete without a compelling and effective plot to hold it together. The Sword in the Stars manages to call on some of the best of Batson's previous books, while adding unique but attainable twists to the fantasy genre. Fans of Tolkien, Lewis, Alexander, Sanderson, or L.B Graham should enjoy this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • tiffany
  • Atlanta, Georgia, USA, Earth
  • 06-01-18

Wonderful!

I truly enjoyed this AudioBook from the beginning to the end! The storyteller knows his craft, and had the prefect inflection for every occasion this book introduced. The story was well written, and the voice of the reader only enhanced an already good story. This story would be good for a family time, a long trip, or just because some of us never grow out of enjoying hearing a masterful storyteller.

The characters are real, raw at times and you find yourself caring deeply for some of them. Altogether a very worthy way to spend your time.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Engaging Transference from Page to Ear

I read Sword in the Stars in its native form several times before being given a copy of the audiobook to review just recently. I was very pleasantly surprised that a similar level of immersion with the story was possible in audio as with text and imagination. Batson has long been among my favorite authors and Sword in the Stars shows him at the peak of his art, with engaging characters, a wealth of world-building, and colorful dialogue. This isn't a review of the novel so much as the audiobook, however.

The reader, Dave Cruse, brings a number of things to the table: a nice, even reading speed that makes the scenes easy to follow even if you're multitasking, and without becoming boring; a deep, sonorous voice that lends itself very well to the fantasy genre; and a welcome variety of character voices. That last does have a slight caveat, however - because of his deep voice, Cruse's interpretations of some characters (especially the young or female) can sometimes miss the mark. But he more than makes up for that with his delightfully boot-shaking renditions of the villains. Rarely does a reader make a book's antagonists truly menacing, but Cruse does so with ease.

If you're a fan of allegorical fantasy - especially the kind that doesn't slap you upside the head with its parallels - then Sword in the Stars is the perfect purchase for you. A deeply spiritual world that feels bigger than the pages which spawned it comes alive through the magic of narration, and if you pass this one up you'll surely regret it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Wayne Thomas Batson does it again! An amazing story with beautiful description. This Audible is a great adventure to go on!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FINALLY!!!!

I've been waiting for this book to be on Audible since I became a member!!!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

A audio spectacular

Great Audio book and narration! Wayne Thomas Batson has done it again I love it