We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Darkest Corners Audiobook

The Darkest Corners

Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gillian Flynn's Dark Places and Sara Shepard's Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell - and the deadly truths those lies become.

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn't have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons - and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they'll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial Callie drifted, and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette - to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie's dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer - and this time it won't be so easy to run away.

©2016 Kara Thomas (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Gripping from start to finish, The Darkest Corners took me into an underbelly I didn't know existed, with twists that left me shocked and racing forward to get to the end." (Victoria Aveyard, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Red Queen)

"A tight, twisted thriller, full of deft reversals and disturbing revelations - deeply, compulsively satisfying!" (Brenna Yovanoff, New York Times best-selling author of The Replacement)

"As dark as Gillian Flynn and as compulsive as Serial.... Kara Thomas' mystery debut is intricate, chilling, and deeply compelling. Unforgettable!" (Laura Salters, author of Run Away)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (240 )
5 star
 (106)
4 star
 (84)
3 star
 (39)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.1 (216 )
5 star
 (96)
4 star
 (71)
3 star
 (38)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.2 (214 )
5 star
 (102)
4 star
 (73)
3 star
 (30)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Trista Houston, TX, United States 04-22-16
    Trista Houston, TX, United States 04-22-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    268
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    259
    97
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    26
    19
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Most definitely! Keeps you guessing.


    What other book might you compare The Darkest Corners to and why?

    Somewhat a Gillian Flynn book.


    Which character – as performed by Jorjeana Marie – was your favorite?

    the main character


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    How well do you know your family?


    Any additional comments?

    First time reading this author -- might be her first one -- I totally took a chance and it paid off. There wasn't even one review when I downloaded it.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacey Grey 06-15-16
    Stacey Grey 06-15-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    85
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "YA... Not the best narrator"

    Decent storyline- but def not comparable to Gillian Flynn's work. If I had known this was YA I wouldn't have purchased. Also, the narrator has an irritating nasally voice.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer C. Rios 07-15-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "keeps you listening"

    Great book. twists and turns keeps you listening. The narrator does a great job for the characters and the author's attention to detail makes you feel as though you are there. Very enjoyable. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ROBIN SODDY DAISY, TN, United States 06-13-16
    ROBIN SODDY DAISY, TN, United States 06-13-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    738
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    126
    92
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    66
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I wish I had known..."

    I think this book should have been categorized as YA, and the teenage voice reading it should have blown her nose or gotten over her cold before starting narration. The end of the book was fairly interesting, but really just the last 30 minutes or so. I didn't hate it, but I definitely didn't love it

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    brent hill 05-21-16
    brent hill 05-21-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OH MY GOODNESS!!!!!"

    WILL NOT SPOIL THIS BUT FOR IT BEING MY VERY FIRST EBOOK LET ME TELL YA- I FELL IN LOVE KEPT ME WONDERING AND WAITING BUT IT IS WELL WORHT THE SIDE OF THE BED SITTING ON EDGE WAITING TO FIND OUT. <3

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    penny ann 04-25-16
    penny ann 04-25-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    93
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    234
    53
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "AMAZING!!!! WOW!!!!"
    What made the experience of listening to The Darkest Corners the most enjoyable?

    The guessing!!!!! I usually can figure out what's going on, but when I find a book that totally throws me! I am a FAN!!! and this book did it!!!!


    What did you like best about this story?

    All of it!! Can't share much or I would give it all away!


    What does Jorjeana Marie bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    How alive she makes every character.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Bonds


    Any additional comments?

    It is so worth the credit!!! If you like a book that will keep you guessing, this is it... there was just one review for this book when I got it, but I DO NOT regret using my credit on it!!!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pbnfreak 06-27-16
    Pbnfreak 06-27-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1158
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terrible!"

    Engaging writing. But ridiculous story! Well performed. But do not waste your time! Very contrived!

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mackenzie 07-22-17
    Mackenzie 07-22-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "BEST BOOK EVER"

    I love this book I think it's my new favorite! It is a great book with twists and turns all throughout and it keeps you on the edge of you seat

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    alicia lovato 06-19-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "worth the read"

    The story starts out slow but the end has so many twists! Keep listening, the end is worth it if you can get through the first half.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christina Terry 05-14-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Surprising twists!"

    slow to start, but then I was on the edge of my seat. the audio skipped several times, I even changed devices to see if it was me. I don't know what happened. really good book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.