We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Short History of the Girl Next Door Audiobook

A Short History of the Girl Next Door

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, this unrequited love story will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews.

Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your life and never think a thing of it, then, all of a sudden, one day, it's different? You see that goofy grin a thousand times and just laugh. But goofy grin number 1,001 nearly stops your heart?

Right. That sounds like a bad movie already.

Matt Wainwright is constantly sabotaged by the overdramatic movie director in his head. He can't tell his best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her; he implodes on the JV basketball team; and the only place he feels normal is in Mr. Ellis' English class, discussing the greatest fart scenes in literature and writing poems about pissed-off candy-cane lumberjacks.

If this were a movie, everything would work out perfectly. Tabby would discover that Matt's madly in love with her, be overcome with emotion, and fall into his arms. Maybe in the rain.

But that's not how it works. Matt watches Tabby get swept away by senior basketball star and all-around great guy Liam Branson. Losing Tabby to Branson is bad enough, but screwing up and losing her as a friend is even worse.

After a tragic accident, Matt finds himself left on the sidelines, on the verge of spiraling out of control and losing everything that matters to him.

From debut author Jared Reck comes a fiercely funny and heart-wrenching novel about love, longing, and what happens when life as you know it changes in an instant.

©2017 Jared Reck (P)2017 Listening Library

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (46 )
5 star
 (24)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.1 (43 )
5 star
 (21)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (44 )
5 star
 (27)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Anonymous 10-12-17
    10-12-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I was expecting more"

    I kept waiting for the story to taken an interesting turn! But not bad I guess.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anonymous 10-06-17
    10-06-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Made me cry!!! absolutely loved it!!!"

    cute, a number of times made me say sweet and made me cry. 👍👍👍

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pam 10-05-17
    Pam 10-05-17 Member Since 2012
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Surprised"

    Wow didn't see it coming. Slow start thinking I wouldn't finish the book. The I couldn't stop.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gary 10-01-17
    Gary 10-01-17 Member Since 2001
    HELPFUL VOTES
    58
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    125
    58
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I'm sitting here bawling my eyes out with my Macaw"

    And he's giving me the hairy eyeball because I was laughing just a minute ago.

    There are more complicated and universal emotions dealt with in this engaging novel about teen-aged love, and I enjoyed it quite a lot!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katie - Audible Hoboken, NJ 09-27-17
    Katie - Audible Hoboken, NJ 09-27-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    356
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    70
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    148
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Move Over John Green"

    Cue the ugly crying. I first got my hands on this book a month or so ago, and it has continued to stay with me. I was unprepared for the onslaught of tears as I made my way through Jared Reck’s debut novel. Reck is a mega-talent: he had me going from crying to laughing within seconds, and it felt like the most natural progression in the world. As a real-life high school teacher, Reck captures the voice of the characters with such commanding authenticity. It’s so easy to relate to the protagonist Matt, particularly in his most cringe-worthy moments. Narrator Mike Chamberlain is definitely best known for his nonfiction work, but his youthful tone - that at times borders on teenage apathy - lends itself nicely to this production. I have high hopes for this one – I can’t wait to see what other listeners think, and I can’t wait to see what Reck does next."

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.