Your audiobook is waiting…

Made You Up

Narrated by: Amanda Ronconi
Length: 9 hrs and 7 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (103 ratings)

Regular price: $27.99

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be - sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. For fans of Silver Linings Playbook and Liar, this thought-provoking debut tells the story of Alex, a high school senior - and the ultimate unreliable narrator - unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out what is real and what is not. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic Eight Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She's pretty optimistic about her chances until she runs into Miles. Didn't she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She's not prepared for normal. Can she trust herself? Can we trust her?

©2015 Francesca Zappia (P)2017 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"Debut novelist Zappia presents readers with a wholly unreliable narrator, [but] the characters all seem authentic, thanks to Zappia's careful attention to detail." ( Booklist)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

totally shocking twist that i didn’t see coming.

lovely coming of age tale that uses mental health to push along a real to life story. doesn't make fun of mental health but shows it in a truthful light.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

This is one of the best audiobooks I've heard in a while. The main character's illness hit close to home, and by the end, I was ugly crying.
#mentalillness #tearjerker #mustread #sweepstakes #tagsgiving

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating

The audio on this book was amazing the character voice were really well done and the story captures u in

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My favorite book

I love the narrorator. Thanks to her voice and the story and the emotion it has become my favorite book. I encourage giving it a try!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

***

My soul!!! This was such an amazing book. I wish I had fancy words to use in this review like Miles would... but I am forever Alex: a little crazy, but all heart.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Shook Me Up

I selected this book because it's narrated by one of my favorites - Amanda Ronconi. She uses her singular voice in an understated way that somehow states everything.

But the story! It's charming and scary and twisty in spite of following the usual romance (girl meets boy, girl dislikes boy, etc.) rules.

Alex is the new kid. It's her senior year and she's spending it in a (really weird) mean kid high school, AND she's coping, not always successfully with schizophrenia. Despite therapy and meds, she's not always sure of what's real and what's not. That's why she carries a camera with her at all times, snapping the hinky stuff all day long. This does not increase her popularity very much.

There are some very strange things happening at her school - or are there? - and Alex is determined to get to the bottom of various mysteries. But the endeavor is like peeling an onion. Or maybe like spinning plates on sticks. Or herding snakes.

Ms. Ronconi does an amazing job with a genre that is dramatic and funny and dark. The whole thing is just splendid.

Highly recommend.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

was a little slow at first

it was a little slow at first but picked up for sure. worth the listen for sure

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book

I loved everything about this book. I want more. Fantastic job. Can't wait to read more of Francesca's words.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Really great

I love this book it's amazing highly recommend this book it has to be one of my favorites and also really great narrative

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Speechless

This is one of the best books I think I have ever had the pleasure of listening too. Every chapter brought something new and exciting to the mix, even if it was small. It managed to surprise me, which I throughly enjoyed, when the author revealed who wasn't real. I really recommend this book to anyone who is thinking about getting it. Truly a work of art.