Regular price: $32.20

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen's mission to create a better life for his family. Written in the tradition of Jason Reynolds, Matt de la Peña, and Walter Dean Myers, After the Shot Drops now has 3 starred reviews!

Bunny and Nasir have been best friends forever, but when Bunny accepts an athletic scholarship across town, Nasir feels betrayed. While Bunny tries to fit in with his new, privileged peers, Nasir spends more time with his cousin, Wallace, who is being evicted. Nasir can't help but wonder why the neighborhood is falling over itself to help Bunny when Wallace is in trouble.  

When Wallace makes a bet against Bunny, Nasir is faced with an impossible decision - maybe a dangerous one.  

Told from alternating perspectives, After the Shot Drops is a heart-pounding story about the responsibilities of great talent and the importance of compassion.

©2018 Randy Ribay (P)2018 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Belongs on the shelf alongside contemporary heavy-hitters like Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give, Brendan Kiely and Jason Reynolds's All-American Boys, and Nic Stone's Dear Martin." (School Library Journal, starred review)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Did not disappoint!

I learned of this book through a coworker and, when I saw it compared to “The Hate You Give,” I had to give it a go. It did not disappoint! It’s easy to connect with the characters, each with their own human flaws, and the story is engaging throughout. What’s more, the book is peppered with insightful, poetic passages that provide a beautiful thread to the narrative. These emerge as simple observations and thoughts from the characters, giving them a gravitas they might not otherwise be leant as teenagers. My only complaint is the way Wallace was portrayed by the narrator. The way he was voiced seemed to flatten—even stereotype—a character that was clearly written to be complicated and frustrating. But other than that, the narration was stellar, as was the story. A great listen for sure!