Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Communing with spirits has been both gift and curse to Emme Walters. Now it's made her a killer's target. Emme knows why the Dowager Duchess of Briarleigh invited her to a house party--to investigate whether the duke, Rhys Brammel, murdered his wife years ago. But Emme never imagined she would fall in love with the brooding duke. Branded by society as a possible killer, Rhys is suspicious of Emme and her alleged "gift." Then a late night encounter creates awareness of her other, more attractive, aspects. When Emme's life is threatened, Rhys becomes her protector. Emme and Rhys find passion and peril as they join forces to solve the mysteries at Briarleigh. She made him believe in spirits, but can she make him believe in love?

©2011 Chasity Bowlin (P)2017 Chasity Bowlin

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great Mystery and Romance!

I have listened to several books by the author, Chasity Bowlin, and enjoy her style. The narrator, Lillian Yves was new to me. This book has so many facets that pulled me from murder, medium, and romance. The "darkness" in the book is not near as dark as I thought it would be. The twists and turns in this story were outstanding. I had not figured out who the killer was until it was revealed, which is an aspect that I love! My review is not a synopsis of the book, but rather my opinion of it. I requested this review copy audiobook and have voluntarily written this review.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Suspenseful paranormal romance

Any additional comments?

This story is suspenseful, entertaining and full of mystery. I like that the characters are practical and logical in tricky situations (that's always refreshing). The blooming attraction between Emme and Rhys is romantic. The paranormal aspect of the story adds an interesting dimension to what might otherwise be a predictable romance. The narration by Lillian Ives is good. She does a great job with distinguishing character voices and bringing out each distinct personality. This is an interesting and suspenseful romance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Enjoyable Paranormal Romance with Mystery 😱

If you enjoy a good romance with a paranormal ghost twist then give this book a listen. The paranormal genre is not my usual choice but this story grabbed my attention and kept me guessing. I appreciate that the narration was very well done and didn't distract or hinder the likability of the story. I will be keeping a lookout to more from this author.

I received a copy of the audiobook at no cost and I'm voluntarily leaving this review . 😊

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Regency with a Twist

I really enjoyed the mix of historical romance, mystery, suspense and the paranormal in this book. I’ve been a romance reader since Nora was a fledgling Harlequin author and, I have to say, I’m a little jaded. So it’s really enjoyable to me when I can find a new author and well written story that entertains me throughout. Not once did I skip ahead before deciding to go thru the middle parts. Even though mediums and seances didn’t really gain popularity until the Victorian era, Bowlin still made it work in the context of the story.
Yves does a creditable job with the narration.
This one is a recommend for an enjoyable time out.
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Super good!

I really enjoyed this slightly paranormal historical romance. Unique, well-written, with fantastic characters and great narration. Highly recommend!!

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. The fact that I was gifted this book had no influence over my opinion of it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

a-freaking-mazing!

Would you listen to The Haunting of a Duke again? Why?

YES!! an amazing mix of romance, mystery, suspense, and paranormal

What other book might you compare The Haunting of a Duke to and why?

hmm- i guess maybe the house on tradd street by karen white- though that is modern day- this is not. both are a mix of romance, mystery, and paranormal

What does Lillian Yves bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

the accent. she just read it well and made it enjoyable to listen to.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

i LOL, i cried a bit. a just really liked the characters, a lot and the plot.

Any additional comments?

this is a really unique story- it is not like anything i have read before. i really really would love to read the other books- get to know the secondary characters as main characters in their own books.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Mystery mixed with romance mixed with paranormal

I was expecting a dark romance but the romance in this book was not dark, the darkness in the story is separate.

I thought that the three genre's were well mixed and made this more than a typical historical romance. The ghost aspect was well done and seemed well balanced between being a key plot point and not being over done.

I liked Emme as a person, she was quite remarkable for the time period, and her strength of character was a welcome theme in this book.

The narrator did a great job with the character voices, however I wasn't a fan of the delivery, the phrasing came across as odd to me with pauses mid sentence, perhaps for emphasis, however I fund it annoying and distracting as it sounded unnatural.

I received a free copy of this book from the author and/or narrator and/or publisher and I voluntarily wrote this honest review.

If you found this review helpful would you please take a moment to click yes below.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Dark Regency Suspense Mystery Romance

I very much enjoyed this audiobook. This is a wonderful romance, with a backdrop of murder, mystery, the occult/spirits, and family secrets. Duke Rhys Brammel sets out to reveal a false medium, but ends up with more than he expected, as they seek the truth about the death of his first wife. I very much liked the secondary character of Michael Lord Ellersly, and his quiet heroism. He is a better man than he lets on, and a true friend. I hope to see him find his own happy ending in a future book. This story had numerous thrilling twists and enigmas, including a surprise villain. I am eager to listen to more in the series.

The narration was excellent and flowed very smoothly.

I received a complimentary copy of this audiobook from the author. This is my honest, voluntary review.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great historical listen!

Loved this classically gothic listen! Ghosts, murder, mystery, and romance. Everything that makes for great gothic romance. Loved the story and characters and I’m looking forward to other books in the series. Fantastic narrator, her performance made the listening experience, so much emotion portrayed. I highly recommend this for fans of Victoria Holt, Phyllis Whitney, and other such authors of gothic romance. I received a free review copy of this audiobook at my request and I have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

great book even greater narrator

i loved this book soo sooo much !!!! it was a great listen ... it cot me in the descriptions and mystery it was a very very good book I am a go to listen to it again

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."