We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Yard Audiobook

The Yard

Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....

When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

©2012 Alex Grecian (P)2012 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (1642 )
5 star
 (680)
4 star
 (628)
3 star
 (235)
2 star
 (56)
1 star
 (43)
Overall
4.1 (1471 )
5 star
 (614)
4 star
 (537)
3 star
 (229)
2 star
 (57)
1 star
 (34)
Story
4.4 (1472 )
5 star
 (803)
4 star
 (470)
3 star
 (141)
2 star
 (35)
1 star
 (23)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer Glendale, Arizona, United States 09-06-14
    Amazon Customer Glendale, Arizona, United States 09-06-14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting First Encounter with This Author"

    I found "The Yard" to be an interesting first encounter with Alex Grecian. I really had no idea what to expect but enjoyed being taken back to the days when crime solving did not have all of the advantages of today's wonderful forensic medicine capabilities.

    As I listened, I could clearly envision the misty streets of London and the gray stone walls of Scotland Yard. At times it was a little difficult for me to follow the British accent, but, all in all, I was able to follow the story quite well.

    One can easily imagine the thoughts and concerns of detectives at the new process of fingerprints was beginning to be discussed and not at all thoroughly trusted.

    I would suggest that the crime solving presented in this book is quite realistic as it often times just happens upon a matter of blind luck more than any super detective work.

    Being as London was rocking under the time frame of "Jack the Ripper", some aspects of the book may be a little bit grisly for some readers, but all in all a good listen.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Simone 05-19-14
    Simone 05-19-14 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1591
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    720
    599
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    103
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Glad I Took the Chance"

    I don’t usually like murder-mysteries, but I took a chance on this one because I liked the background of London in the late 1800s.

    I enjoyed it! I was drawn to the intrigue and the setting and I appreciated that it was not jammed with gratuitous maniacal serial killer gore and violence; sure there was some but it wasn’t over-blown.

    Less murder and more mystery – that’s the balance I like.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Booklover 03-05-14
    Booklover 03-05-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    27
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator sounds as if he is gasping"

    I only made it through about 15 minutes of the story before I just couldn't endure it any longer. The narrator takes a deep, audible breath in between each sentence. It is so distracting and annoying that I gave up. Awful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    WCD 03-01-14
    WCD 03-01-14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    311
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice Surprise"

    I enjoyed this book much more than I expected. Although it was wrapped up a little too neatly (and predictably) for my taste, it kept me on the "edge of my seat" as I kept waiting to see what would happen next. I liked all of the characters and am looking forward to listening to the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann 02-27-14
    Ann 02-27-14 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    225
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1520
    123
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    15
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic listen! Best at 1.25 speed"

    What a great listen! The Yard was a great story, especially if you enjoy historical crime novels. The narration was excellent, however I did increase the speed to 1.25 which was perfect!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jodinofasgard 02-22-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    126
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Scenic mystery in the early days of Scotland Yard"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Yard to be better than the print version?

    Indeed, the narration is excellent and the use of slightly different accents truly helps the listener keep track of the myriad characters.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The historical elements were of the most interest to me, very good description of the living environments, both good and bad.


    Which character – as performed by Toby Leonard Moore – was your favorite?

    I liked the accent Mr. Moore uses for Hammersmith best, it has a bit of brogue to it versus the more refined London accents. His use of a softer touch voice for the big, brutish Blackleg was also a terrific, ironic choice.


    Any additional comments?

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book, not for the mystery so much as for the journey..

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    majkia Niceville, FL USA 11-23-13
    majkia Niceville, FL USA 11-23-13 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    189
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Picking up the Pieces"

    An interesting look at the London Police Force attempting to rebuild itself and regain a city's trust in the wake of its failure to capture Jack the Ripper.

    It also depicts the rise of forensic science and the first movement toward modern policing and murder investigations.

    It's gory and gritty and shows, in depressing detail, the miseries of the poor in London, but I found it fascinating and thought provoking. I enjoyed the noir flavor, and found the characters well, and deeply, drawn.

    I thought the narrator, Toby Leonard Moore, did an excellent job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    bet 09-25-13
    bet 09-25-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    221
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    183
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Characters to follow."
    If you could sum up The Yard in three words, what would they be?

    Characters to follow.


    What did you like best about this story?

    This will make a very good series for anyone that loves Victorian mysteries. Well drawn characters - and by this I mean they are multidimensional and differ significantly from each other - something oddly lacking in many books. The best writers can always make you answer a question about a characters personality...like Ron Weasley hates pastrami or Sherlock Holmes doesn't know the earth revolves around the sun, etc. Well .... that's how these characters are written - which I loved! These characters range from smart to funny, to persnickety to sloppy...it made for a real connection with them. A solid story and a great escape into fog, mystery and murder.....so happy it's become a series.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pamela Mt. Juliet, TN, United States 05-07-13
    Pamela Mt. Juliet, TN, United States 05-07-13 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    134
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great New Series"

    If you like Anne Perry's Thomas Pitt or William Monk series, then this is a book you should read. There are many interesting characters that provide an in-depth view of Victorian London. The plot and subplots make it impossible to just turn it off and go to bed. I can't wait for the next installment of this new series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Moe 05-07-13
    Moe 05-07-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    72
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOVED IT!!!"

    This book is brilliant!! If I could've given it a higher rating I would have. I loved it!!! I cant wait for the sequel to come out in May :-)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.