We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Yard Audiobook

The Yard

Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....

When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

©2012 Alex Grecian (P)2012 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (1572 )
5 star
 (636)
4 star
 (613)
3 star
 (229)
2 star
 (52)
1 star
 (42)
Overall
4.1 (1406 )
5 star
 (573)
4 star
 (524)
3 star
 (221)
2 star
 (55)
1 star
 (33)
Story
4.3 (1407 )
5 star
 (759)
4 star
 (456)
3 star
 (136)
2 star
 (33)
1 star
 (23)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mo Lake Geneva, WI, United States 02-22-16
    Mo Lake Geneva, WI, United States 02-22-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Many story lines interwoven and told well."

    At first the tempo of the narrator bothered me, but after awhile, it comforted me and allowed me to concentrate on all the characters and all the stories....I can see Masterpiece Theatre doing this as a series!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    leslie 02-20-16
    leslie 02-20-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    127
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The first of a new series"

    and I am glad that it is. That is another thing I like about Audible. There are already four published books in this series and I had not heard of it until Audible brought it to my attention. This series opener introduces the reader to interesting characters of the Scotland Murder Squad on the heels of the Jack the Ripper murder spree. We open with a murdered detective, the suspicious death of a child, and a kidnapped young boy. Lots of story to keep the reader interested with excellent narration. I am ready for book two.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-18-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyed this one. A good detective story."

    Story was well put together, and multifaceted. I will be looking for other books by this author. Also enjoyed the performance of the book. Well done.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeri Jo Dover, DE United States 02-12-16
    Jeri Jo Dover, DE United States 02-12-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    91
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "GREAT story!"

    I got this on the "first in a series" sale and boy was it a GREAT find! I will definitely be getting to rest of the books! I love the characters and care about them. Great writing!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Diane 02-11-16
    Diane 02-11-16 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting little detective story"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes. I found in interesting if not exceptional.


    Would you recommend The Yard to your friends? Why or why not?

    Yes, to my mystery book friends.


    What aspect of Toby Leonard Moore’s performance would you have changed?

    none


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    no


    Any additional comments?

    Maybe too much was going on in this debut novel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ross Burkenstock Jr. 11-30-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good"

    slow at times, but a decent read. couldve been shorter. ill try to finish it

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 11-10-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    93
    13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Historical "Criminal Minds""

    If you like "Criminal Minds" or "CSI" TV shows; then this story is for you, except in mid 19th century London.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Caitlen Hudak 11-06-15 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Delightful"

    Drew me in completely and kept me engrossed the whole time.
    The story was well developed and well narrated.
    Definitely recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 08-07-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    142
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "challenging"

    police procedural that shows the very human detectives trying to solve a difficult pair of cases in post ripper London. excellently well done

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lindsay 07-16-15
    Lindsay 07-16-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    137
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I struggled with this one..."
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    So very many subplots that intertwined as if London was only 4 square miles assuring everyone would run into one another, thus making each subplot tangle up with another. Just a bit too much to tolerate at times.


    If you’ve listened to books by Alex Grecian before, how does this one compare?

    N/A


    Which scene was your favorite?

    None in particular


    Do you think The Yard needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    yes - fairly decent Yard characters.


    Any additional comments?

    I think the author needs to spend more time developing the main plot and it's subtle aspects and minimize the subplots. A side-bar now and again is nice, but there is too much competition for the listeners attention. I think the main characters from the Yard are well done and hold my interest, but the two whores were a complete waste of time and listening. I give it a B minus.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.