Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen comes the next hit audiobook thriller, an instant New York Times bestseller!

When you listen to this audiobook, you will make many assumptions. 

You will assume you are listening to a story about a jealous ex-wife. You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement - a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love. You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle. Assume nothing. 

Twisted and deliciously chilling, The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. 

Listen for the truth between the lies. 

This audiobook contains a bonus interview with the authors. 

©2017 Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen (P)2017 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard's infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of the 21st century's more cynical version of the O. Henry ending." ( The Washington Post) "A clever thriller with masterful twists." (Karin Slaughter, New York Times best-selling author of The Kept Woman)
"Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris's Behind Closed Doors and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives in this domestic thriller." ( Library Journal)
"A fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." (Anita Shreve, New York Times best-selling author of The Stars Are Fire)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1,085
  • 4 Stars
    503
  • 3 Stars
    206
  • 2 Stars
    62
  • 1 Stars
    36

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1,183
  • 4 Stars
    411
  • 3 Stars
    121
  • 2 Stars
    33
  • 1 Stars
    17

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    998
  • 4 Stars
    442
  • 3 Stars
    192
  • 2 Stars
    76
  • 1 Stars
    43
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

You won’t be able to put it down

I downloaded the audio book because I couldn’t sit and read the book at my desk. So I opted to listen while I worked because I just had to know what happened next.

I have never read another book like it. It makes the plot twist on Gone Girl, epic as it was, look like complete child’s play.

59 of 59 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

NOT that confusing! Gone Girl + Last Mrs. Parrish

Wow. Great book. If you liked Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine you will surely be a fan of this book. First of all, any reviews about this book being confusing are somewhat misleading. I admit, there is confusion between parts 1 and 2 where I had to re-listen – but this is one of the many great twists of the book. This transition from part 1 to part 2, is a crucial turning point so just understand what is happening before you move on, it is worth the re-listen or re-read. There are some details that might take a bit to become clear, but it does so at the right time, so keep going, everything is timed just right. The editor’s summary is very accurate, it’s not for appeal, it’s just true. Initially, it does seem like one of those “jealous ex-wives gone stalker” stories, but it is sooooo much more. The story unravels at a superb pace, making all the details count – everything doesn’t just wrap up at the very end like so many mystery thrillers. Even when you think you know where it’s going and even become complacent, another level is revealed - or added! Whenever I wanted more to happen, it ultimately always did. I very much appreciate when books resolve or acknowledge all the nuances and minutiae that were included or just mentioned – even if minor, and this book does just that, leaves no stone unturned. It ends excellently and perfectly satisfying. I highly recommend this book.

93 of 95 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Wow, wow & Just WOW!

Any additional comments?

This book I must admit, about 30% into it I was VERY confused. I was going to start it over cause I knew I'd just missed something. I chose to wait it out and see if it would come together. I am glad I did because once I figured out what confused me I WAS BLOWN AWAY! I would like to elaborate on it but if I did I know it would be a spoiler. It was sooooooo many secrets and twists that you'd never ever see coming lol. This book is definitely going down as a favorite! They should make this into a movie.

27 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

FINALLY a book that really is as good as Gone Girl

I loved this book.... I listen to 2-3 books per week and can honestly say this is the first since Gone Girl to shock me...so much so that I needed to rewind to be sure I'd heard correctly. Don't want to go on for fear of spoilers.... worth 10 credits.... get this book!

26 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Ignore the reviews that claim it's confusing...

I don't want to write about the content, because I don't want to give anything away, but I think the book was great. I think what some people found confusing was the names, but I think that's intentional, and I think if we were reading the book, rather than listening, that would have cleared things up easily. You have to really pay attention to each characters and their names. I think it's great, and the twists are awesome. Like the summary says, assume nothing.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

My goodness!

I read this in one sitting. So many twist and turns. This book was so good!

19 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Stick with it!!!

What did you love best about The Wife Between Us?

The entire storyline was great. Confusing in parts, but worth waiting it out.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Vanessa. Highly intelligent.

Which scene was your favorite?

The ending was fantastic

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

YES!

19 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

kept me listening all day.. I really enjoyed it..

it's a good read and keeps your attention. I recommend it highly to anyone who enjoys a good mystery.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

One of my favorite books

I loved all the plot twists. The narration was put it over the top. A twisting, turning, exciting ride all the way through.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

What a phenomenal dou

The Wife Between Us is simply amazing. I spent my snow day today listening to this book because I simply could not put it down. The twists and turns were original and unexpected. I loved it and hope Greer and Sarah decide to partner again. #definitelyafan

11 of 12 people found this review helpful