We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Spider Woman's Daughter Audiobook

Spider Woman's Daughter: A Leaphorn & Chee Novel

Regular Price:$28.51
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Anne Hillerman, the talented daughter of best-selling author Tony Hillerman, continues his popular Leaphorn and Chee series with Spider Woman's Daughter, a Navajo Country mystery, filled with captivating lore, startling suspense, bold new characters, vivid color, and rich Southwestern atmosphere.

Navajo Nation Police Officer Bernadette Manualito witnesses the cold-blooded shooting of someone very close to her. With the victim fighting for his life, the entire squad and the local FBI office are hell-bent on catching the gunman. Bernie, too, wants in on the investigation, despite regulations forbidding eyewitness involvement. But that doesn't mean she's going to sit idly by, especially when her husband, Sergeant Jim Chee, is in charge of finding the shooter.

Bernie and Chee discover that a cold case involving his former boss and partner, retired Inspector Joe Leaphorn, may hold the key. Digging into the old investigation, husband and wife find themselves inching closer to the truth...and closer to a killer determined to prevent justice from taking its course.

©2013 Anne Hillerman (P)2013 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (562 )
5 star
 (271)
4 star
 (189)
3 star
 (70)
2 star
 (20)
1 star
 (12)
Overall
4.2 (508 )
5 star
 (252)
4 star
 (162)
3 star
 (63)
2 star
 (21)
1 star
 (10)
Story
4.1 (511 )
5 star
 (247)
4 star
 (135)
3 star
 (68)
2 star
 (38)
1 star
 (23)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Pam & Pugs :0) Prescott, AZ 07-21-17
    Pam & Pugs :0) Prescott, AZ 07-21-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent Narrator"

    I haven't enjoyed a book so much in ages! Christina Delaine's cast of character voices was like listening in on a movie when I couldn't see the screen. Her Navajo dialect was perfect. 👍

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Suzan DJ Weston, CT USA 06-22-17
    Suzan DJ Weston, CT USA 06-22-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Alive in the Southwest"

    This story has the simplicity and modesty of those who live a good life and the suspense of their interface with evil. Like her father, A.H. clearly communicates the beauty of the Southwest as seen in it's people and the place. l felt as if I were there.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margaret 06-10-17
    Margaret 06-10-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A real show stopper!"

    This book had me engaged for the whole day! Intricate plot, surprise opening, edge of your seat from beginning to end. Lots of humor; juxtaposed against serious subject matter. I crave more like this!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hugh Hubble 05-15-17
    Hugh Hubble 05-15-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    21
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, Solid Mystery!"
    What did you love best about Spider Woman's Daughter?

    The Legendary Lieutenant I was so concerned he would succumb to his wound. The suspect was so hard to track down.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Spider Woman's Daughter?

    The beginning of the book grabbed me and didn't go until the last page.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    In the burning storeroom. The twist in the escape was cleverly written.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Navaho police thriller!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lauren Otten 01-31-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Story
    "Spiderwomans Daughter"

    couldn't wait to find out the killer,supenseful,kept you thinking along with story,loved it & was glad Leap horn survived.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    redfordtype 12-23-16
    redfordtype 12-23-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    "Great...Thought I was hearing a Tony novel...just as good. The dad would be.proud of the daughter."

    Must read for Hillerman fans...probably as good as the father's work. Very well written and suspenseful. Ordering the next one now!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David 12-11-16
    David 12-11-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2637
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    483
    417
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    329
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An acceptable continuing of her father's work"

    I have written before about my (going on thirty-years now) love of Tony Hillerman's Navajo mysteries. Tony Hillerman wrote eighteen books about Navajo detectives Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee, before he passed away in 2008, and I read every one of them.

    So I was reaaaaally skeptical about his daughter picking up his pen and continuing the series. Kids of famous authors who pick up their old man's work and continue it (e.g., Brian Herbert and Christopher Tolkien) often seem to be milking a cash cow rather than giving homage to their father's legacy.

    But, I had too many years invested in Leaphorn and Chee not to at least give their new adventure a try.

    Right away, in the opening chapter, Leaphorn gets shot. (Yeah, the blurb above plays cagey about who it is who gets shot, but come on, it's on page 3!) So I'm wondering just how big Anne's balls are - is she going to kill off her father's main character in her first book?

    Leaphorn spends most of the book in the hospital, leaving his younger (not so young now) protege Jim Chee and his wife Bernadette Manualito as the main characters, which was pretty much the pattern of Tony's last few books. Bernadette, who was introduced relatively late in the series but took on an increasingly large role in the last few books, is the chief protagonist here, as she does most of the legwork, with the subplots mostly involving her family troubles and her relationship with Jim Chee. There were a lot of things that struck me about this book as stereotypically "female author," but not in a bad way, just that it was clearly more centered on feminine characters and concerns.

    The actual detective work was fairly routine, and the writing was on a par with her father's last few books (which, frankly, were not his best). Anne Hillerman seems to be trying not to diverge too far from her father's style, and if I hadn't known it was her daughter writing this one, I might have believed that Tony had written one more book that was published posthumously, with clear signs that it had been rough and in need of some revision. But still a satisfying enough read for fans of Leaphorn and Chee.

    I can't say I have the same enthusiasm about one of my favorite series, which was already long in the tooth and showing its age, now that it's being continued by the original author's daughter, but she did a serviceable job with her first attempt, certainly nothing that disgraces her father's legacy, and I will probably keep reading the books she puts out, unless she screws them up terribly.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    A. Stebbing The Woodlands, TX 09-28-16
    A. Stebbing The Woodlands, TX 09-28-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved it!"

    so accurate on places and tradition
    Anne follows in her father's footsteps well - his job!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J.C.D. 07-10-16
    J.C.D. 07-10-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    72
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    274
    248
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A FINE CONTINUATION OF THE SERIES"
    If you could sum up Spider Woman's Daughter in three words, what would they be?

    INFORMATIVE, ENTERTAINING, LOYALTY


    What did you like best about this story?

    The respect the young officers had for the now old cop who was a friend and mentor.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Bernadette's devotion to her "new" husband.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    No extreme reaction, but an enjoyable, entertaining story.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TruthSayer 06-17-16
    TruthSayer 06-17-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very good story, well read."

    I really enjoyed the story. Anne writes very similar to het father Tony, but with enough differences that you can easily tell their story writing apart.
    The one thing I did not like about this story was that about 3/4 of the way through it was easy to determine who the murderer was. It was fortunate that it did take until the third to last chapter to understand why!
    The fact that all of the landmarks actually exist make the story fun to read because if someone has not been to these locations, the possibility that they may someday get to go there is real. For those of us that have been fortunate enough to have already been to these New Mexico & Colorado locations and seen these sunsets, starlit skies, rock formations, and desert landscapes, well her detailed writing is just a way for us to revisit those memories of our minds.
    Hopefully, there will be many more audio.com books by both Tony & Anne Hillerman.
    Thank you.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.