Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

When two young boys discover human bones buried beneath a tree in a trailer park, Detective Josie Quinn races to join her team at the scene. She used to play in those woods as a child, happier outside and away from her abusive mother, Belinda Rose.

Josie’s past crashes into her present when a rare dental condition confirms the bones belong to a teenage foster-child who was murdered 30 years ago. A girl named Belinda Rose....

Josie hasn’t seen her mother in years but, with an undeniable connection between her mother and the dead girl, does she dare try to track her down? Just as Josie gets closer to uncovering a secret that will shatter her world forever, another body is uncovered. It’s suddenly clear that someone very close to Josie will stop at nothing to keep the truth buried forever. 

As she battles the demons from her past, can Josie stop this killer before another precious life is taken?

Do you love unputdownable crime thrillers that keep you up all night? Then this gripping rollercoaster ride, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine, will have you totally hooked! 

©2018 Lisa Regan (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    177
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    128
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    13

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    162
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrator took away from story itself

This was an intriguing plot with a decent mystery and personal story that kept me listening, but I nearly didn't finish because the narrator was so awful. She didn't enunciate the endings of certain basic words such as saying "ninetin" instead of "nineteen" and it was really off-putting, but what really bothered me was her mispronunciation of the last name Ortiz.

I can't understand how someone in this country, living in this day and age (when all you have to do is Google something you're not sure of), doesn't know how to pronounce a very common name like Ortiz, or how the producers of this audio book let that happen. I'm not even Hispanic, and I found it incredibly insulting. It's like mispronouncing Miller or Smith.

I won't be listening to any more books in this series.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jan Harris
  • San Antonio, TX, United States
  • 08-27-18

Distracting pronunciations

I started counting and negatively reacting to the narrator pronouncing “ate” as “et” and “anything” as “enah-thin” and “nineteen” as “nighting”. It distracted me from the content.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narration Is a Distraction

The narrator needs to expand her vocabulary , maybe read pronunciations of certain words., and most importantly learn how to pronounce nineteen, detail, Tyvek, anything, just about any word ending in ing, chevette, and others too numerous to mention. I've seen other reviews with similar comments and don't understand why the producer of the recording doesn't correct these distracting mistakes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Terrible

I could not stand the narrator's voice. Her mispronunciation of several words was nerve grating.

The story was not remotely plausible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing in more than one aspect

I barely finished this book., and had to force myself to listen to the last few chapters. It sounds like it was written for a high school English class, and the narrator is just awful. There is a several-page conversation between the medical examiner and the detective that just defies description. I think I said aloud, "For the love of God, END this chapter!" I didn't find the mystery interesting, the plot believable, or the narration bearable. Certainly the worst book I have purchased on Audible. Ever.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Story Good. Narrator, not So Much.

Good story, that made me anxious to hear what was coming next. Unfortunately, narrator's mispronunciation of so many words kept throwing me off track.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story but

This was a wonderful story however the narrator constantly mispronounced words. I found myself constantly correcting her speech. At times the sound became very poor as well. The narration did not ruin the book though. The story was strong enough to overcome the poor narration. I plan on listening to the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars

All three Josie Qunn books are really good.

I loved these books and they are compulsive reading/listening. You are left on the edge of your seat to the end. Great author.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story, Awful Narration

I love this series so far. The narrator is obviously English, trying to maintain an American accent and failing miserably at it. It was distracting and at times, cringe-worthy. I would much rather she just stop trying and stick with her English accent.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read.

Love the series. One can really connect with the main characters. Highly recommended to read.