Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

When two young boys discover human bones buried beneath a tree in a trailer park, Detective Josie Quinn races to join her team at the scene. She used to play in those woods as a child, happier outside and away from her abusive mother, Belinda Rose.

Josie’s past crashes into her present when a rare dental condition confirms the bones belong to a teenage foster-child who was murdered 30 years ago. A girl named Belinda Rose....

Josie hasn’t seen her mother in years but, with an undeniable connection between her mother and the dead girl, does she dare try to track her down? Just as Josie gets closer to uncovering a secret that will shatter her world forever, another body is uncovered. It’s suddenly clear that someone very close to Josie will stop at nothing to keep the truth buried forever. 

As she battles the demons from her past, can Josie stop this killer before another precious life is taken?

Do you love unputdownable crime thrillers that keep you up all night? Then this gripping rollercoaster ride, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine, will have you totally hooked! 

©2018 Lisa Regan (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    10

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    125
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrator took away from story itself

This was an intriguing plot with a decent mystery and personal story that kept me listening, but I nearly didn't finish because the narrator was so awful. She didn't enunciate the endings of certain basic words such as saying "ninetin" instead of "nineteen" and it was really off-putting, but what really bothered me was her mispronunciation of the last name Ortiz.

I can't understand how someone in this country, living in this day and age (when all you have to do is Google something you're not sure of), doesn't know how to pronounce a very common name like Ortiz, or how the producers of this audio book let that happen. I'm not even Hispanic, and I found it incredibly insulting. It's like mispronouncing Miller or Smith.

I won't be listening to any more books in this series.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jan Harris
  • San Antonio, TX, United States
  • 08-27-18

Distracting pronunciations

I started counting and negatively reacting to the narrator pronouncing “ate” as “et” and “anything” as “enah-thin” and “nineteen” as “nighting”. It distracted me from the content.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Donna
  • ABERDEEN, NC, US
  • 09-20-18

Fantastic

I loved it! Lisa Regan sure rights and extremely good Tangled tale of mystery and intrigue. she keeps you guessing till the end. I'm thoroughly in love with her books and I almost don't want it to end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narration Is a Distraction

The narrator needs to expand her vocabulary , maybe read pronunciations of certain words., and most importantly learn how to pronounce nineteen, detail, Tyvek, anything, just about any word ending in ing, chevette, and others too numerous to mention. I've seen other reviews with similar comments and don't understand why the producer of the recording doesn't correct these distracting mistakes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Terrible

I could not stand the narrator's voice. Her mispronunciation of several words was nerve grating.

The story was not remotely plausible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

I love the series it was it's been phenomenal I got one more books left and I'm very excited to start it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • big
  • College Station, TX
  • 10-11-18

Great Book

Wish I had realized this was the third book. would have started with number one. Really enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed the characters and story

The narrator mispronounced a couple of the words which always distracts from the story. The last five chapters could have been wrapped up into one, a lot of fluff. A few of the supporting characters could have been developed a little more, but coming in at the third book may have been the reason. Overall good story. Will have to go back and read previous 2 novels to see if my opinion changes.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Rayne
  • Sugar Hill, GA
  • 10-03-18

Worst narrator

This narrator is unable to portray the variety of characters present within this story without sounding like the same character every time. It is confusing to the reader. Also an inability to pronounce words as they are naturally is very distracting. I am kind of disappointed, though I did enjoy the first book of this series. This narrator really really makes it hard to keep my attention on the book which is unfortunate considering it can easily keep my interest actually reading the written book. I do hope she explores alternative narrators, they really can make or break the story. It

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Slow start

The only reason I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars is the slow start. I almost gave up on it, but in continuing I was surprised how it picked up and I was able to get involved in the story. Well worth the read.