Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

She was close enough to see that the girl had written a word on the wall in bright, warm red blood. Not a word, actually. A name...

Everyone in the small town of Denton is searching for Isabelle Coleman, a missing 17-year-old girl. All they've found so far is her phone and another girl they didn't even know was missing.

Mute and completely unresponsive to the world around her, it's clear this mysterious girl has been damaged beyond repair. All Detective Josie Quinn can get from her is a name: Ramona.

Currently suspended from the force for misconduct, Josie takes matters into her own hands as the name leads her to evidence linking the two girls. She knows the race is on to find Isabelle alive, and she fears there may be others....

The trail leads Josie to another victim, a girl who escaped but whose case was labelled a hoax by authorities. To catch this monster, Josie must confront her own nightmares and follow her instinct to the darkest of places. But can she make it out alive?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Helen Fields, and Robert Dugoni will be utterly gripped and listening long into the night once they discover the first in this unputdownable new crime thriller series.

©2018 Lisa Regan (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    187
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    9

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    130
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    60
  • 2 Stars
    43
  • 1 Stars
    43

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    185
  • 4 Stars
    84
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I’m not sure I can finish...

I’m so distracted from the story and being able to get into it because of the narrator...she talks like an “angsty teen” and it’s hard to get past.

18 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Distracting Narrator

I don’t know if smaller town Pennsylvania folks have New York accents, but in this rendition they do.

I could get past that if it weren’t for the frequent mispronunciation of words, frequent dropping of syllables altogether (o-bit-chur-ee for obituary, sanc-chur-ee for sanctuary, and more). I had to listen to one part like three times before I figured out that “esteerior” was hysteria (exterior didn’t make sense in context).

Basically, it was all incredibly distracting to the story - jarring. I won’t listen to this author again unless the narrator is different. I have listened to over a hundred books on tape/audible and this is the worst narrator I’ve come across.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, terrible narrator and producer

The mispronounced words are everywhere. Did no one editing this actually listen? I think I'll read the next installments rather than listen to this, too aggravating. I mean who actually pronounces ob-gyn as obgine or any as eni? So many words said wrong for the setting. Just no.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

ugh! that narrator!

had to return because that narrator was horrible! her pronunciation is all over the place, her characters all sound like teenage girls(even the men). I just don't understand why she sounds the way she does, it's so obnoxious that I couldn't finish listening. seriously, listen to the sample before spending a credit on this hot mess. a shame because I think the story was probably good, I was just so distracted by the awful narrator I can't be sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Narrator!

I honestly don't know how this narrator is chosen to read books! She has a Canadian accent, which is fine, but not for narrating books set in the States. She also seems to have difficulty pronouncing words correctly, and she's very awkward when switching characters.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This narrator was horrible.

This narrator was horrible. Her constant mispronounciation of words and the long eee sound drove me up the wall. Loved the story but will never listen to this narrator again

8 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Intriguing story; constant use of vulgar language

First part was good, got drawn out, hard to follow. A Lot of vulgar language

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The story is fantastic, but the narrator ruins it

In addition to making the characters sound hostile and condescending during every single dialogue exchange, the narrator also mispronunces every other word. I did some research and discovered she is Scottish, but she (unsuccessfully) attempts an American accent in this series. I would have preferred she just read it in her normal voice, because listening to her butcher word after word is painful. She is unable to correctly say simple words like “been, “record,” and “saltine.” I recommend just reading this on kindle, because it truly is a great story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good

I really liked this book it was very intriguing and a page turner. Going to listen to the next book in series now.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Davis
  • Cardiff, CA
  • 10-07-18

Narrator makes me cringe!!

Nasally, annoying voice, mispronounces words throughout the whole book. Her accent drove me nuts. Ruined the story. I don’t think I can continue the series if she is the narrator

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 06-23-18

Well written book about warped and cruel people

Thought this book was excellent. It was basically a cruel story which with skill pulls the reader into the twists and turns on a race to the crashing finish

I have to disagree with the reviewer who thought there was too much swearing .. it was little and appropriate and I have seen and heard much more on TV.

Highly recommend this book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • L_McC
  • 03-29-18

Enjoyed it

Great book but the narrator was terrible which wastes it a bit. If u can get over that though I’d recommend it.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Denise Smaron
  • 09-08-18

Very enjoyable

loved it Couldn't put it down as there was so much happening in the storyline you had to find out what was going to happen next.


A