Regular price: $34.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide? At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wife's death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. 

The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge. 

Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by this riveting family drama with a dark mystery at its core.

©2015 Lisa Jewell (P)2018 Dreamscape Media, LLC

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not a mystery

This is a heart-warming novel. Somehow I bought it thinking it was a mystery. For those who like to read about the ups and downs of parenting, love and relationships it is fine

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Gretchen
  • Salinas, CA, United States
  • 07-05-18

The Third Wife

I loved the character development as always with Lisa Jewell's books. This is the story of a family who survives divorce and remarriage more than once and presents as well blended, but of course it's not without a cost. The writing was excellent but the book left me with a feeling of melancholy.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Oficially giving up on Lisa Jewell

Jewell wrote two excellent books (The House We Grew Up In and The Making of Us), a couple of okay books, and some truly dreadful ones. Unfortunately, I read the really good ones first and it's been a disappointment ever since.This fell into the barely okay category.

Anytime Jewell tries to do the domestic suspense genre, IMHO it's a fail. The twists are either completely absurd or so minor that you've spent the whole book waiting for the answer (because that's about all you care about when a book is otherwise boring), which turns out to be nothing much. And this was the case with this book.

The premise was interesting, but there were too many characters (the main character has three ex-wives and five kids), none of whom I cared much about, none of whom were particularly interesting. And nothing very interesting actually happens in the book.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love it...everything about it!

This is s great modern age book with suspense that grips the families ties and untangles at the perfect time! Great Male Narrative as well!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lisa Jewell

I’ve read all her books. I always enjoy them. I look forward to reading more from her.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful