Emily Barr
AUTHOR

Emily Barr

Emily Barr is a British author and former journalist. She started writing fiction after backpacking around the world, a trip that formed the background for her first, award-winning novel Backpack. She has now written 13 books, most recently The Sleeper, the story of two strangers meeting on an overnight train with dramatic consequences. She has also written Blackout, a novella in the Quick Reads series. Emily has three children, and lives in Cornwall in the UK.

Read more Read less

Best Sellers

    • The Sleeper

    • By: Emily Barr
    • Narrated by: Imogen Church
    • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,000
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,765
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 2,762

    A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Disappointing

    • By ilene on 09-15-15

    Regular price: $20.24

    • The One Memory of Flora Banks

    • By: Emily Barr
    • Narrated by: Nicola Barber
    • Length: 8 hrs and 37 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 35
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 30
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 30

    Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day and has since the age of 10....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Heart eyes emoji

    • By rachel on 12-09-17

    Regular price: $31.50

    • The Perfect Lie

    • By: Emily Barr
    • Narrated by: Jilly Bond, Penelope Rawlins, Julia Franklin
    • Length: 11 hrs and 20 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 50
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 45
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 46

    For Lucy Riddick, Venice has always been the dream destination, the ideal place to lose herself. And now she needs to do just that....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Fun and Absorbing

    • By Jen Griffin on 10-15-15

    Regular price: $17.96

    • Backpack

    • By: Emily Barr
    • Narrated by: Emma Fenney
    • Length: 11 hrs and 35 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 93
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 83
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 82

    The wonderful first novel from the critically acclaimed author of The Sleeper and The Sisterhood....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • LOved the Narration

    • By Amazon Customer on 09-27-14

    Regular price: $20.24

    • The Truth and Lies of Ella Black

    • By: Emily Barr
    • Narrated by: Kelby Keenan
    • Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 1

    Ella Black seems to live the life most other 17-year-olds would kill for.... Until one day, telling her nothing, her parents whisk her off to Rio de Janeiro....

    Regular price: $21.31

    • Stranded

    • By: Emily Barr
    • Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
    • Length: 11 hrs and 39 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2

    Bruised from the breakdown of her marriage, Esther Lomax needs to get away, and Malaysia seems the perfect place....

    Regular price: $17.96

    • Blackout

    • By: Emily Barr
    • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
    • Length: 2 hrs and 4 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      2.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      2.5 out of 5 stars 2

    You wake up in a strange room, with no idea how you got there. You are abroad, in a city you have never visited before. You have no money, no passport, no phone....

    Regular price: $12.92

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.