Your audiobook is waiting…

The Third Wife

A Novel
Narrated by: Joe Jameson
Length: 9 hrs and 22 mins
4 out of 5 stars (1,228 ratings)
Regular price: $34.99
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide? At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wife's death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. 

The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge. 

Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by this riveting family drama with a dark mystery at its core.

©2015 Lisa Jewell (P)2018 Dreamscape Media, LLC

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    453
  • 4 Stars
    433
  • 3 Stars
    246
  • 2 Stars
    67
  • 1 Stars
    29

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    604
  • 4 Stars
    343
  • 3 Stars
    125
  • 2 Stars
    38
  • 1 Stars
    13

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    402
  • 4 Stars
    368
  • 3 Stars
    235
  • 2 Stars
    76
  • 1 Stars
    39
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Tedious at best

I started this book, with high hopes, however the further I got into it, the more I disliked it. I honestly finished it just to see how the story ends. The story dragged, and this was a very tedious listen. To make matters worse, it was all very anticlimactic at the end. I felt a little cheated.

71 of 74 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not a mystery

This is a heart-warming novel. Somehow I bought it thinking it was a mystery. For those who like to read about the ups and downs of parenting, love and relationships it is fine

145 of 153 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

anticlimactic

SPOILER ALERT

I don't know why people say this book was thrilling. It seemed to start out as one type of book and ended up completely anticlimactic and boring about a guy and all his bratty kids who turn a new page at the very end.

68 of 72 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Oficially giving up on Lisa Jewell

Jewell wrote two excellent books (The House We Grew Up In and The Making of Us), a couple of okay books, and some truly dreadful ones. Unfortunately, I read the really good ones first and it's been a disappointment ever since.This fell into the barely okay category.

Anytime Jewell tries to do the domestic suspense genre, IMHO it's a fail. The twists are either completely absurd or so minor that you've spent the whole book waiting for the answer (because that's about all you care about when a book is otherwise boring), which turns out to be nothing much. And this was the case with this book.

The premise was interesting, but there were too many characters (the main character has three ex-wives and five kids), none of whom I cared much about, none of whom were particularly interesting. And nothing very interesting actually happens in the book.

53 of 56 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Gretchen
  • Salinas, CA, United States
  • 07-05-18

The Third Wife

I loved the character development as always with Lisa Jewell's books. This is the story of a family who survives divorce and remarriage more than once and presents as well blended, but of course it's not without a cost. The writing was excellent but the book left me with a feeling of melancholy.

40 of 43 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Different but very very good!

I must say I was a little hesitant on trying this book after reading some of the reviews on it. I'm very particular in what I like and if something doesn't appeal to me right away I usually don't bother with it, figuring life is too short to put up with listening to drivel. However, I have read several of Lisa Jewel's books and really enjoyed them and as this was an Audible Daily Deal I figured I wouldn't be losing too much if it wasn't up to my standards. I am SO glad I gave it a try! The narrator captured my attention immediately, and I loved how the author took what to the outside world's eyes were "perfect" divorces from 2 previous women and showed how the breakups really affected the individuals. . I enjoyed the humor that was scattered throughout the book, it made it all the more enjoyable along with teaching the lesson that what we do with our lives can have a huge impact on our families and our children. I'm going to miss the characters in this book, they were people I enjoyed getting to know better!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Betsy Anne
  • New Salem, Massachusetts, US
  • 10-12-18

Another blockbuster audio book for Lisa Jewell<br />

"The Third Wife" is a look at how life ought to be. it's both impossibly real, in its dialogue, actions and reactions, and really impossible, in its incredibly hopeful ending. I loved it. I am a Lisa Jewell fan. l also loved Joe Jameson's reading. He really gives Helen Duff a run for the money.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Predictable

The “twist” in the plot was too easy to see coming. It made the story boring. The book went on and on way longer than it should’ve.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story of love, loss and forgiveness

Great story of love, loss and forgiveness.
Good mystery and good portrayal of personalities.

Read it you’ll love it.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love it...everything about it!

This is s great modern age book with suspense that grips the families ties and untangles at the perfect time! Great Male Narrative as well!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful