1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Nursery  By  cover art

The Nursery

By: Sue Watson
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.35

Buy for $17.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Then: Morning light shines into the nursery, casting shadows across the pale pink walls and wooden cot in the middle of the room. She opens the door expecting to hear the soft coo of her daughter, Sofia, stretching herself awake. But the room is silent. The cot is empty. Her little girl has vanished....

Now: Twelve years have passed, but Emily will never forget the night her life changed forever, and she’s happy to have her daughter back beside her. A teenager now, Sofia, who was once a star student, is getting into trouble at school, and she’s started asking questions about when she was a baby, but Emily can’t tell her what really happened the night she went missing. Nobody would understand why Emily did what she did, and if anyone ever found out, she could lose her daughter forever.

But when Emily catches Sofia messaging a stranger online, and as she reads the last message received, her heart pounds in her chest.

Your mother isn’t who you think she is.

Days later, Emily returns home to find the house silent. She checks every room, but Sofia has vanished, again. She shudders as she remembers that night in the nursery. Has her past finally caught up with her? And is she already too late to save her precious daughter?

A completely gripping, utterly twisted thriller that will leave your jaw on the floor. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Wife Between Us, and The Woman in the Window.

©2022 Sue Watson (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Nursery

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • KW
  • 11-11-22

Predictable

Usually I like this author but I called the book very early on and was right. Kind of disappointed.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I usually gobble Sue Watson’s books up

I found the story quite arduous and found it difficult to like any of the characters. But I slogged through until the end

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Tedious and not at all 'gripping'

As I post this, early November 2022, it's noteworthy that, while the 'star' ratings run to '5's, there are no written reviews to support them. Watson's family and friends must have time on their hands...

In any case, I cannot even begin to get a handle on where to start with how pointless, tedious, boring this book is. Proof positive that one cannot continue going back to the well - aka Watson - without its running dry. Publishers squeeze good authors to crank out books like sausages, and the "good" takes a hit ... as does the author's reputation.

This particular novel rambled on and on. Until chapter 20, it was simply a commentary on raising teens in today's society - and a trite one at that. After chapter 20, it deteriorated into an extended, convoluted denouement - mind-numbingly tedious about characters for whom one has absolutely no interest. Oh! And - surprise, surprise! - a pinned-on donkey tale of a revelation to check the 'culturally relevant' box.

The only reason I stayed with it is because of Tamsin Kennard's performance. As always, she could read a phone directory and keep me entertained. But as far as the quality of Watson's work ... well, "quality" it is not.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rumbarbar
  • Rumbarbar
  • 01-07-23

Tale with a twist

Really enjoyed this, but it was a bit slow at times. Enjoyable ending with a twist.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pamela finlayson
  • pamela finlayson
  • 12-04-22

Oh dear!

Not the standard I am used to for this Author. Gave up at chapter 12..
Gutted as previously one of my absolute favourites.Rated 1 star but only because I had to.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Customer
  • Customer
  • 10-23-22

I love Sue Watson however

I love Sue Watson, I constantly check for updates on her next book. First Date, Our Little Lies, The Woman Next Door and The Resort are some of my favourite audiobooks.

However, this one falls rather flat unfortunately. Still a good enough audiobook and the narration as always with this narrator is fantastic.

Not a top hit for me unfortunately and probably won't listen again but do give her others a read because they are fantastic.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christine Curtis
  • Christine Curtis
  • 11-24-22

Wow!

Intriguing from start to finish with a real twist at the end. I didn't see that coming!!